We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly hostand good value”
Review of Hotel Villa Chiara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Chiara
Ranked #58 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Arrived in Taormina and cancelled the hotel we had booked as it was just too far out of town and up the cliffs for us to find relaxing or convenient. Managed to get a refund and head back down to town.

After a beer in one of many of the charming squares we decided on Hotel Villa Chiara as its location was exceptional.Without a booking we turned up and the ever friendly and helpful "character" Joseph the proprietor gave us a room for five nights and it ended up saving us money.

The rooms were basic but very clean. Had air con and had a little balcony over looking the street. The in room mini bar was very reasonable too. Couldn't fault the breakfast. simple sweet and savory continental breakfast, varied a little each day and always fresh fruit and a good cappuccino.

Its best point as i mentioned earlier is its location, down one flight of stone steps and your'e in the heart of the town (this didnt get loud at night at all as its up the hill and all of the rooms are on the back of the Hotel facing away from the main street) and the steps are a good way to walk your dinner down at the end of the night. A shuttle service to two local beaches runs daily from the hotel. It was only 8 euro and that included sunbed on the beach, although we preferred the beach lido la Pigna which was accessed by the cable car.

Its location along with its charming and helpful staff make it a excellent value for money choice if you want to soak up the passion and style of Sicilian life, right in the heart of town. Highly recommend Joseph and his Hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garethjwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Chiara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Honestly i don't know what kind of places the other reviewers usually stay in to make them believe this was a good value and clean, but I very much disagree. This place was almost comically bad with the squeaking springs that you could feel digging into your back to the pillows that were like pieces of cardboard and the towels that felt like thick sandpaper. The shower was just slanted drain in the corner of the tiny bathroom with a shower curtain that was very plainly dirty and needed replacing.

Despite the fact that I often woke up to the maids vacuuming outside my room, I know for a fact that they did not vacuum my room. Also when I checked in there were other people's hairs in the sink. The whole place made me feel gross and dirty and uncomfortable. I was often woke up by people outside my room or outside the hotel being very loud-- I did not sleep well with that in combination with the terrible mattress and pillows. There's not really AC -- there was one in my room but no way to turn it on. The wifi rarely worked, and when it did, it was like the internet from 1999.

I don't know how much other places cost in Taormina but honestly I would have spent a bit more a night so I didn't have to stay in this place. I really do not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel is ideally located and all the attractions are all very close.
The rates are reasonable compared to other hotels in Taormina.
The hotel offers parking spaces. It's hard to find a parking spot in the city so this is just a great plus. It costs 15 euro per day. The breakfast is simple but enough to start the day.
The room is economic and well-maintained.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank KevinChen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I arrived in Taormina in mid-October without a hotel reservation and we were lucky enough to happen upon the Villa Chiara. It's up some stone steps from Corso Umberto (the main street in Taormina). The proprietor, Joseph, was absolutely delightful, and made us feel very much at home while we stayed at his hotel. We were lucky that he had a space for our car outside the hotel so we were able to park it there. Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. There was some noise from cars driving up the hill but at night we had the air-conditioning on and slept very soundly. Breakfast was very nice, too, and was brought to our table -- a nice assortment of pastries, cheese and meat, and yogurt, as well as orange juice and coffee. We were originally going to spend one night but decided to stay three nights since we enjoyed Taormina and our hotel so much. Villa Chiara was one of the nicest hotel experiences we had in Sicily.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gypsy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Just spent five nights in the Villa Chiara, its just lovely, the rooms are perfect and the location is great, not too high up and not too many steps. The rooms are spacious and clean, the breakfast was lovely, the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff was a huge added bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front would have a lot of street noise from Scooters, so maybe one in the back is bette...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ftrisholady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

we stayed her for 14 nights and the hotel suited very well. It is conveniently located just above the main street but suffers from no noise. The room was clean and comfortable with frequent changes to the linen etc.There is 24 hour/day staffing on the front desk and there are in room safes. We tool our own travel kettle and mugs as no facilities are provided in the room other than a fridge mini bar. Breakfasts were good. Its nice to sit on the roof area with a bottle (or two) of the local wine in the evening.
The staff are excellent being friendly and helpful.
Be aware that like the rest of Taormina the hotel is situated in a very narrow street. We had a hire car to allow us to see some of the island and parking in the town is expensive so we used a space outside of the hotel at a much more reasonable rate. Italians can park on a postage stamp but the staff helped us initially by parking our car for us and then to teach how to do it sufficiently well on our own. Driving in towns is certainly an experience .. but all part of the holiday.

Room Tip: Take a kettle/mugs for your afternoon cuppa.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We had booked another hotel with better views but as we wanted an extra night we ended up here. There is a roof terrace but not really worth sitting up there for the view. Hotel felt a bit tired with threadbare carpet & the bed was squeaky in room 208 but it was very clean & the owners were really helpful (the husband is quite loud but lovely). Myself & my daughter are coeliacs & they were very kind to provide some gluten free biscuits for breakfast for us - & insisted on us taking them with us. Free wifi. As with others, he v kindly let us park outside the hotel on the street. Fantastic central position.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CadnRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elios Hotel
Elios Hotel
#66 of 87 in Taormina
243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#18 of 87 in Taormina
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sole Castello
Sole Castello
#59 of 87 in Taormina
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#17 of 87 in Taormina
534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Grand Soleil
Le Grand Soleil
#51 of 87 in Taormina
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Chiara

Address: Via Don Giovanni Bosco 10, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £61 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Chiara 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Chiara is a little and comfortable hotel located in Taormina’s heart, on fashionable Corso Umberto.All its rooms with private bathroom, are provided with air conditioning, internet Wi-Fi for free, safe, central heating and direct telephone outside line.The Hotel offers also a small TV lounge, a sun terrace, a central bar at the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Chiara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiara Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Chiara Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing