We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Soleado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Soleado
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Very friendly and helpful proprietors (Roberto and Rossetta). On edge of town, but only 5 mins walk from town centre. Benefits from quiet surroundings and fabulous views from breakfast room. Roberto very happy to advise with trips and organise days on the beach. The hotel was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, with an attractive pool area. Bar prices were very favourable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccandrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    187
    32
    17
    5
See reviews for
82
285
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tolar,
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2011

A small but modern ,family owned and operated hotel on a quiet street just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The rooms and grounds are spotlessly kept. The service and help in finding our way around were perfect. Just enough english spoken to help, not enough to alter the beautiful character of this family and their treasure of a hotel. The family treats you like royalty.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miloTolar_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

The service provided by the owner, Roberto and his staff was excellent.. The room was basic but had everything we needed and was cleaned and tidied every day. A good buffet style breakfast was served every morning in the breakfast room.

The Hotel was located in a quiet cul de sac away from the town but only a 10 minute walk from the shops and restaurants of Taormina.

Roberto was very helpful and was pleased to help us with any of our holiday arrangements including information about Taormina and the surrounding area.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet and relaxing hotel, which provides basic but good accomodation at a competitive price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Roberto and his family are very friendly and helpful. Roberto speaks English. All rooms have a balcony with a view of the Mediterranian. Hotel is a short walk to the main shopping street of Taormina and the Greek Theatre. You have to get used to walking in the street with parked cars and auto traffic to come and go from the hotel. Drivers are amazingly patient. Hotel provides parking at 8 euros per day; DON"T DRIVE IN TAORMINA except to get there and to leave!!!

Great breakfast; worth at least 10 euros per person

Room Tip: ask for a corner room with a wrap around balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

I stayed here following a very intense period of work in Taormina, and needed a quiet place to unwind. I was not the most sociable of patrons just then, but the hotel was superb - peaceful and quiet. The staff is wonderfully welcoming and accomodating and will do anything they can to be of assistance. It's a rather good hike from the center of town up a narrow road [like all streets in Taormina] and you need to watch for traffic. If you have lots of luggage, a taxi would be a good idea. The view from the hotel is gorgeous, overlooking the bay. Breakfast is lovely in their sunny dining room -- wonderful coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice, plus pastries. Based on my knowledge of Taormina, I would rate it to be one of the best values in town. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomR4012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2011

My friends and I greatly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We had two rooms, one specifically a sea view, and one standard room where you could view the sea from the side of the balcony. Rooms are basic and decent. It is within 10 mins walk to the main part of town and is in a quiet location which was pleasant. The hotel manager was particularly helpful and friendly, suggesting our trip itinerary. There is a view of the sea from the breakfast room. Breakfast was fresh and sufficient.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhavani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

The staff at Soleado could not have been more friendly or helpful. We had a large room with a huge balcony overlooking the sea. It was a short walk to shopping and dining. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksb_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#24 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soleado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soleado

Property: Soleado
Address: Via Dietro Cappuccini 41/A, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Soleado 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soleado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleado Hotel Taormina
Soleado Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing