We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of Soleado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soleado
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Positive:
Very nicely decorated entrance and surrounding
nice pool
fresh croissant, nice freshly baked bread roll
Nice balcony
not noise apart from my noisy neighbour

Negative:
Same breakfast everyday. Only give you one croissant, make you feel you shouldn't have more?


Overall, I liked it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Transparent2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    196
    33
    17
    4
See reviews for
87
294
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
463 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We arrived very late but Roberto was there to greet us and take us to our room. Our first impression was slightly disappointing as the room was quite basic with a very small shower with a wrap-around curtain. We had a lateral terrace room - yet the photo on the web site actually shows a corner room with more window and terrace space.

However, we got to really like the place and the room was fine for all our needs during the 8 nights we stayed. Air conditioning was very effective.

The breakfast was simple, but fine, with fresh coffee on tap. It would have been better to have fruit and fresh orange jouce.

The pool was good, small, but under-utilised, so always quiet.

The location is very good - about 10 minutes to walk up and down the gentle street to the centre and the corso umberto. The views from our balcony were excellent.

We ate out for every meal and were not disappointed once.

The hotel provides an excellent facility for 7.50 euro per person for a return minibus trip to a private part of the beach at Lettojanni where you get a sunbed and umbrella. The beach club provides an onsite cafe with excellent food and drinks. The beach is stony, so bring rubber swimshoes to get the best from it. We took an excursion boat from the beach around part of the coast and saw some wonderful views and had a swim into one of the caves at Isola Bella.

We also visited Mazzarro beach and Isola Bella by taking the cable car for 3.50 euro each. Isola Bella is the better of the two. Tip - turn left at the bottom of the (long, steep) steps and take the sunbeds beside the little diving centre - they are only 7.50 each compared with 10 euro each on other parts of the beach. Bring or buy a snorkle (15 euro) as the fish are fantastic - plentiful and colourful.

We took a walk up very steep steps and a path to Castlemolla - which was worth the 40 minutes of sweat and breathlessness! We arrived to find the feast of St. George being celebrated, with Mount Etna on one side and Taormina on the other - along woth a great procession and fireworks display.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crocodile_Ddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Staying at soleado was a great experience. Very clean, enjoyable breakfast and relaxing atmosphere. Staff always pleasant and helpful. Great value for money and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The position is just right, away from the hustle and bustle but within 7 minutes walk of it. The hotel is so friendly and the breakfast was ideal - continental and excellent quality. Roberto and all the staff were relaxed and very helpful. We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevens054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Nice simple family-run hotel in a silent part of Taormina. 10-15 min walk to all the sites. Owner takes a good care of everything. Many plants/flowers in the hotel area. Clean room and bathroom with aircon and a tiny tv. Friendly stuff. Nice breakfast, no other food service available. There is a good size pool between the buildings but sunny most of the time, at least till 4pm. Not many hotels have a pool in this area, so this is a big plus. Room temperature is cool even in hot days which I liked very much, not used aircon at all during our late June/early July stay. Double bed is two singles put together with a 8cm gap between. Parking is possible at the site for 8eu/day fee.
No drying facilities for eg.pool towels/bathing suits in the bathroom or on the balcony.Due to the lush vegetation the balcony is always dusty, even though it is cleaned regularly. Be aware of mosquitoes, take electric repellent with you (or buy one in the supermarket) it solves the problem.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisztaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The owner is so nice and accommodating. They have a service for around 7 euro per person per day that takes you in a shuttle van down the mountain to the beach for the whole day complete with a chair and umbrella. The rooms are very clean and the free air conditioning works great! Any tour or quetion you have can be arranged and managed by the owner!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carlo678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I stayed here during my vacation in Taomina and would recommend it as an ideal base when visiting this beautiful town. Roberto, Rosetta and staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located within 5 minutes walk from the town centre. I look forward to my next holiday in Taormina and will definitely be staying at Hotel Soleado It is a two star premises offering five star service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#13 of 87 in Taormina
535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 87 in Taormina
812 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#20 of 87 in Taormina
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soleado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soleado

Property: Soleado
Address: Via Dietro Cappuccini 41/A, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Soleado 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Soleado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleado Hotel Taormina
Soleado Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing