We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a nice location...”
Review of Soleado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soleado
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Staying in Taormina for a family wedding we choose the Hotel Soleado for 5 nights in early September 2012. It’s a nice friendly 2*hotel in a quiet location about 10 mins stroll to the main street or the cable car. The hotel is family run with Roberto overseeing operations.
We booked 2 rooms, one a full seaview room which had a really spacious terrace with table, chairs and sunbeds, and one lateral seaview room which was next door.
The rooms are basic but spotless and have good aircon which was neither too hot nor too cold.
Most rooms have a furnished balcony and overlook the pool, and the ones near to one end of the building also have a side seaview. The balcony lights don’t appear to work, so if reading outside at night is your thing then pack some ‘Mighty Bright’ clip on reading lights such as they sell on Amazon and you’ll be fine. Another minor point, but the white plastic sunbeds are a bit hard and could do with a cushion, but I guess only 4* hotels run to that.
There is no fridge or tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, so we took our own supplies and travel kettle and some coffee whitener. Roberto sells very reasonably priced wine / cold beers which you can drink at the bar area or take back to your room. And they sell a few snacks such as toasted sandwiches.
They serve a nice continental breakfast with cereals, yoghurts, cheese, meats, bread rolls, croissants, cakes etc, and Roberto’s signature cappuccino or tea depending on your taste.
We liked it here a lot and thought the family went the extra mile to make their guests welcome and comfortable...
Taormina is lovely although it ain’t cheap! But the Corso Umberto with its many shops and lovely terrace overlooking Mt. Etna and the coast is fabulous. Take a stroll along here in the evening and the place is just magical.
The Greco-Roman theatre with its stunning views of Etna is off the Corso as is the lovely public gardens. Tip...There is a small mini-mart type shop very close to the public gardens entrance with a deli that does very reasonably priced filled rolls, the guy has a small menu and will make them up for you.
Roberto can organise a mini bus from the hotel to a local beach for around 8 Euros each and the price includes sunbeds. We took the cable car down to the beach near the Isola Bella. There are still quite a few steps to negotiate down to sea level after the cable car terminates. The beach is very stony so I would advise you to wear something suitable on your feet...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy_0749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

The hotel is in a quiet street about 5 minites walk from the main street in Taormina . It is spotlesslesly clean & very well run by Roberto & his family. Lovely large rooms & balcony . The shower was very powerful with a nice big bathroom. Aircon works well too. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice . The pool was great for a dip on a very hot day. Parking is 8 euros per day & Roberto will park the car for you . No complaints , I would recomend this hotel

Room Tip: The superior rooms are bigger & have a lateral sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sno125patrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Hotel Soleado provided us with the ideal base for a relaxing, enjoyable holiday break. Roberto and the staff at the hotel were brilliant throughout - friendly, efficient, polite and keen to make our stay pleasurable and memorable. Our time at the hotel passed all too quickly - our very pleasant memories will remain with us for a very long time. Thank you, Soleado!

Room Tip: Lateral sea view rooms opposite reception/breakfast room are beat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Hotel Soleado is situated about 5 minutes from the main street (umberto) up a little street. It offers a sea view and is a spotless well kept hotel. The family run hotel suited us perfectly for a quiet relaxing holiday. With its swimming pool to offer and continental breakfast served from 7.30 you really could not fault this hotel. The value for money here is excellent and offers probably some of the cheapest bar prices in Taormina. Their is a bus services including sun beds for 7 euro to Naxos beaches. All considered the hotel is simply perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CollieByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The hotel is very well placed in Taormina, so both monuments and the beach can be reached easily. Besides, the hotel offers a good quality-price relationship, with nice rooms and a welcoming staff. We had a very beautiful view from our room, with a big balcony. Excellent for families, the small swimming pool is a good option between one hike and another!
The only little thing: reaching the hotel by car (specially a big car) is very difficult due to the characteristics of Taormina's streets. This should be explained with the instructions to reach the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Very clean hotel,well located. Nice view and swimming pool for a "residential" hotel. We wanted to stay in Taormina for one night at a reasonable price and room. Soleado does this job well.The hotel is located at 5 minutes from the main street.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilconte024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Well, I must say that vititing Taormina was very pleasant for us not only because of the city, but mainly because we have stayed in such a great place like Hotel Soleado with it's hosts: Roberto and his family, Soleado is situated not in the center of the city, but it takes only 5 minutes to get to the center and the big plus is that there is no tourist crowds and noisy cars around. Perfect view from the balcony, pool (even though we have never used it, it is pleasant to know, you can always use it). For those who came to Taormina for beach rest, Roberto offers shuttle bus to his own beach, which is alsoc very convenient and cheaper than use funiculiare. Rooms are very big and very clean, also they have nice design, air conditioning works perfect. PS Prices on reception on wine and so on are cheaper from Taormina's ones! PPS The only thing which I lack in Soleado was fridge in the room, but it's OK since you always can buy cold wine from Roberto on reception.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpeipclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#14 of 87 in Taormina
851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 87 in Taormina
676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#16 of 87 in Taormina
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,893 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#40 of 87 in Taormina
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soleado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soleado

Address: Via Dietro Cappuccini 41/A, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range: £73 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Soleado 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Soleado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleado Hotel Taormina
Soleado Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing