We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soleado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Soleado
Ranked #19 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here for a week. Great budget hotel, rooms are to be expected. The breakfast was included and was quite satisfactory. The best part of the hotel was the owner Roberto, who was extremely helpful and gave us lots of good local advice

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishadventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    178
    32
    17
    5
See reviews for
77
278
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I wish I could write a better review for this hotel as we found the family really lovely. The pool was adequate and breakfast was of normal European standard (not amazing but ok)

However my biggest problem with this hotel is the lack of any sound proofing within the rooms. We could everything from rooms above and on our floor. This included chairs being dragged on tiled floors, children jumping on beds and doors slamming both during the day and late into the night, well after 2am. The other guests were by no means doing anything wrong but the complete lack of sound proofing made it impossible to sleep and is completely unacceptable.

We changed rooms (room 69) on our final night and this was an improvement as the room was somewhat isolated with no rooms either side, just above.

I'm afraid I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone unless you are an incredibly heavy sleeper, or visit outside of peak season when hotel is likely to not be full.

Room Tip: Room 69 does not have any rooms either side so is quieter but bathroom is a bit dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cass_Reece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have just returned from a great holiday in Taormina staying at Hotel Soleado. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious with a lovely balcony. A pleasant walk to restaurants, bars, shops, bus terminal, Open air theatre etc., The staff were great, very friendly and very very helpful, they made our stay very welcome. Breakfast was great and the drinks in the bar were very reasonable. We used the pool most days and it was very clean and peaceful. It was very busy and very popular with a lot of returning guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyAlanCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The hotel is in a very good location, 15 minutes walk from the main Corso umberto in Taormina. The room we stayed in was lovely with fantastic sea and pool views.
The pool was small but neverbusy and it was easy to obtain a couple of sunbeds.
The hotel is family run and they were all exceptionally friendly, helpful and always gave good advice.
The arrangement with the local Lido was great and very good value for money. Drinks at the hotel were very cheap and breakfast was always plentiful.
We would definetly recommend this hotel and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 62 has full sea and pool view with a wraparound balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel is clean and well equipped. Owners and staff are welcoming and pleasant as other reviews have already suggested. The hotel is located conveniently for this interesting, cosmopolitan place. You won't go far wrong!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Menai63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

After all the reviews I booked this hotel hoping it would offer a great stay. Quite the opposite. Rooms were dirty, soft furnishings smelling of smoke, noisy courtyard where any noise reverberated. Disappointing pool, only a few feet deep, and hadn't been cleaned.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Thank you so much lovely holiday in Soleado. Thank you Roberto and Rosetta and whole friendly family. Me an my husband stayed in hotel Soleado with our kids aged 11 and 9. Our room was very big with wonderful balcony( lateral sea view<3) . It was so nice to see hundreds of beautiful flowers. Rooms were always clean and bathroom huge. Breakfast was very tasty. Some morning we went to the Etna and Roberto makes breakfast that we get with us to the early Etna tour. Hotel situation was perfect. Our whole family absolutely recommed Soleado <3 Paulina & Petro & Erika & Emil.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 120pauliinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#23 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#16 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soleado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soleado

Property: Soleado
Address: Via Dietro Cappuccini 41/A, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Soleado 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Soleado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleado Hotel Taormina
Soleado Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing