We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and Hospitality Rule”
Review of Soleado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soleado
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charm and Hospitality Rule”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel s a little old, however it is very clean and well maintained. The family who own and run it make staying here a wonderful experience. Bathrooms are a little small. The room we stayed in was on the end send had a wrap-around, very large, balcony. Phenomenal views. Breakfast was included and was very delicious. While we were in Taormina, we did a full-day tour of Etna. We packed old trail shoes with the plan that we'd just throw them away after we got them dirty on the Etna tour. We threw them away in the hotel room the morning we left. The family actually called us to tell us we left our shoes! The owners are truly concerned for their guests. This hotel is affordable in high season, and it's definitely worth the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view suite. It has a phenomenal balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgcgcg19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    195
    33
    17
    5
See reviews for
87
293
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just returned from a one week stay at Soleado after much research on Trip Advisor - definitely the right choice. Roberto and Rosetta have been in the business for over thirty years (having started off with just four rooms) and have hospitality down to a fine art. The hotel is less than a ten minute amble from the hustle and bustle of the town centre and is set in amongst the locals on the outskirts which is great as the peace and quiet is priceless. The hotel has fantastic views all around, including up to the small town of Castelmola set above Taormina. The hotel is quite basic but to be fair most Italian hotels are (we have stayed in the full range from 2* to 5* and they all appear to be very similar) but you didn't notice that because it was very clean and tidy with towels changed on a daily basis. The pool was more than adequate and there were always ample sun lounges available at all times of the day (due to the lay out of the hotel you did loose the sun by about 1700 hrs though). As people have said, breakfast was the usual fayre of cereals, cakes, meats, yogurts etc but each day there was also strawberries and cherries which I found a pleasant extra. At lunchtime you could purchase a pre-made sandwich/toastie for approx. 4euro or pasta for a similar fee. A large beer was 3.50 euro and soft drinks were 2 euro. Bottles of wine started at around 6 euros - all of which I thought were very well priced for a hotel. We booked an trip to Palermo during our stay which we mentioned during conversation with Roberto ... straight away he told us to report to reception last thing the night before which we did and he presented us with flasks of tea and coffee, croissants etc so as we could have a mini breakfast before we set off at 0600 hrs. He is an absolute sweetie. The resort itself is fabulous - sit at any of the bars/restaurants and watch the locals in their finery as they strut up and down 'doing their thing'. Catch the local bus (again, Roberto will tell you where to get it from) for 1.90 euro up to Castelmola for some great views or you could do like my husband and sister and nearly kill yourself and force march up in half an hour!!! We went to Catania for the day but wouldn't recommend it - dirty, dusty and nothing really to see. Would recommend Palermo/Cefalu although its a long day you do get to see quite a lot and have a tour guide to explain a lot of the history to you. Having been to Sicily before I would say that Mount Etna and the Islands of Lipari/Stromboli/Vulcano are a definite 'must do' but appreciate its difficult if you are only there for a week as it can become a bit of an endurance test and not a holiday. Can highly recommend 'The Shelter' restaurant which is off the main Corsa Umberto - as you start to walk down the main street keep looking down the first two or three streets on the left hand side and you will see it there, excellent food/service and very reasonable price. The bus from the airport to Taormina is 7 euro or a taxi is 80 euro. Anyway back to Roberto - whilst we were there he received a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 2014 and deservedly so, he works long hours through long months of the year and the team around him (many of whom are his family) all pull together to make your holiday a memorable one. If you are looking at a hotel in Taormina I would highly recommend this one.

Room Tip: Rooms 60 and 61 have lateral sea view and swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caramac282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Ideally located less then 10 minutes from main street Corso Umberto lies Hotel Soleado. It has a nice charm to it and how it only has 2 stars beggars belief. Rooms and bathroom are both spacious and modern. Breakfast in the morning consists of a wide range of items including cereals breads, cheeses, yoghurts, meats and pastries. A family run business who's employees are only too happy to help and ensure everything is in order. The only down point I could speak of would be the hallways are quite echoey and can cause some noise. Other than that a top place to stay at a comparably modest price. Highly recommended

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue_City_Hopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great location. Less than 10 minutes to centre of town. Warm friendly welcome. Roberto and his lovely family made us feel right at home in this wonderful location. Clean old fashioned hotel. Good breakfast. Mixture of pastries, cooked meats, cheese, cereals and yogurts. You can arrange shuttle bus pick up, drop and collect for the beach, sun bed and parasol in private part for around 7euro each day.Beach is beautiful. Boat trips available on the beach. Pool in the hotel very clean. Overall a great stay. No complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just back from 2 weeks in Sicily. Wonderful if chaotic island. We had stayed in more fashionable but distinctly less hospitable hotels prior to our stay in Soleado. Big room (68); huge terrace with a sunbed and a view of the sea in the distance. Roberto and his family were warm, friendly and helpful in all their dealings with us. A true 'family-run' hotel in all the best ways. Good, quiet location, with birdsong instead of traffic as a backdrop. It took between 5 and 10 minutes stroll to get to the centre of Taormina. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just returned from a two night stay in the Hotel Soleado. Good location only a 10 minute walk to the centre of Taormina and the main shopping streets. Roberto is a star, helpful and informative as to the best Taormina sights. Room was basic but clean and with plenty of drawer and wardrobe space and a balcony overlooking the pool area. Bathroom was spacious but the shower area was a bit of a squeeze.
Breakfast was typical continental with a good of selection pastries, bread, cereals, fruit, cold meat and cheeses.
If ever back in the area would certainly want to stay in the Hotel Soleado!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keelie259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a great place. Old style hotel in a quiet part of town. We just loved it. Parking was available at the hotel which was a big plus for Taormina.
Our room was large but basic with a sea view and overlooked the pool. We had a lovely balcony too.
Breakfast was included and there was a good choice

The owner was very friendly and helpful and gave us lots of ideas

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quailsroost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 87 in Taormina
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 87 in Taormina
812 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#19 of 87 in Taormina
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
1.5 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
44 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 87 in Taormina
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soleado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soleado

Property: Soleado
Address: Via Dietro Cappuccini 41/A, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Soleado 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Soleado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleado Hotel Taormina
Soleado Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing