We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday”
Review of Soleado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Soleado
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Holiday”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Lovely holiday in sunny Taormina. Hotel was superb, good location for the town. Breakfast was very good, cereals, fresh rolls, fruit juices cakes, cheeses, meat and eggs. Prices at hotel for drinks were very reasonable, hotel exceptionally clean.

Roberto and team very helpful and if you want a trip to the beach he has one where a mini bus takes you and brings you back and includes parasol.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    200
    33
    18
    4
See reviews for
89
299
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, , Malta
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel had everything we could ask for,breakfast was really decent,the staff go out of the way to make you welcome and comfortable.the rooms impeccable,always clean and overlooking the pool all with balconies,large bathroom.Thanks so much for making my husband's 29th birthday break the most relaxing he could have imagined.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have just returned from Taormina, having stayed 4 nights in family run Soleado Hotel, with a small group of women. A friend made the booking on line way back in April, and in June I decided to join them. I had stayed in 4* hotels on previous visits to Taormina so initially I was dubious about staying in a 2* hotel. I was very pleasantly surprised. I booked directly with the hotel by telephone and spoke to the owner Mr Roberto. I would recommend Soleado to anyone wanting a relaxed and friendly stay in pretty Taormina. I woke early each morning and opened the door to my big terrace to listen to the bird song and watch the sunlight spilling into the room. The neighbourhood is full of plants and trees and the hotel has distant sea views. The room decor is very basic, but room 135 was very clean, air conditioned and spacious with a good sized bathroom, a bidet and comfortable sized shower. The decor didn't concern me, the breakfast more than compensated, cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit bowl, cherries and apricots, salamis, cheeses and delicious home grown aubergines with olive oil drizzled on top. a good selection of croisants and carbs for sweet toothed guests. Good coffee too. The easy walk between the centre with its delightful restaurants was just enough to work the food down before sleeping and far enough from the noise of people and traffic. Mr Roberto, his wife, nephew and niece were so attentive and present to help their guests feel welcome.

Room Tip: to avoid steps ask for rooms higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penelope b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in room 46 for 2 nights in late June. It was very clean and quiet. We heard our upstairs neighbors one night for 15 minutes, but generally all the guests were respectfully quiet. Our room was 3 flights down from the street (no lift), fronting the swimming pool (hours: 10am-7pm). Most people were sunbathing, relaxing, or swimming quietly. The room was of a comfortable size, with a wardrobe, desk, 2 chairs, and adequate floor space for our suitcases beside the beds. The bathroom was large with a double size shower. Very modern fixtures. The breakfast was ample and provided juice, breads, cereal, yogurt, cheese and meats. The first morning we saw hard boiled eggs; the second provided scrambled eggs with herbs. There were also tomatoes, mozzarella, cooked eggplant slices and squash slices. The sweets included donuts, custard-filled cornets, cookies, and cake (fresh baked marble cake the first morning and a light mild-flavored cake the second morning). The staff was very attentive and helpful. Roberto provided a lot of info when we arrived. Unfortunately, we were tired and it was a lot to absorb. He gave us a map and drew appropriate clues on it, including costs. We would definitely stay here again. We wifi was good in the public areas.

It was not difficult to find, once you got started correctly. From the train station, take the bus up to the town (10 min). Then walk up to Corso Umberto (a long pedestrian mall). Face the arch for the entrance to Corso Umberto and take the street going up to the right. Go about 1 block until you see another arch on the right and a pastry shop (d’Amore) on the left. Go thru this arch and stay on the main street that winds up to the left after about 2 blocks distance. Continue to number 39, the entrance for the office. Along the way are at least 3 white signs with an arrow indicating you are going correctly.

Room Tip: Interior, poolside worked well for us. Quiet - no street noise (3 stories below the street!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadrunner5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights on our trip to Sicily. It really is a family run hotel. All the family were lovely and so helpful,
We had booked a room with a sea view and we were delighted with what we got. From the view of our balcony we had a perfect view of the sea and also from the other side of out balcony was a full view of the pool. Will definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndseybrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvador, BA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Hotel Soleado is a cozy hotel, very well located. Mr. Roberto is a helpful and friendly host. Excellent breakfast. Big bedroom and bathroom. Balcony. Taormina is a beautiful place. It's easy to get around just walking. Lovely view of the bay. Besides there is a lot of history, with a striking greek theater

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeraSpinola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel s a little old, however it is very clean and well maintained. The family who own and run it make staying here a wonderful experience. Bathrooms are a little small. The room we stayed in was on the end send had a wrap-around, very large, balcony. Phenomenal views. Breakfast was included and was very delicious. While we were in Taormina, we did a full-day tour of Etna. We packed old trail shoes with the plan that we'd just throw them away after we got them dirty on the Etna tour. We threw them away in the hotel room the morning we left. The family actually called us to tell us we left our shoes! The owners are truly concerned for their guests. This hotel is affordable in high season, and it's definitely worth the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view suite. It has a phenomenal balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgcgcg19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#13 of 87 in Taormina
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#17 of 87 in Taormina
825 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#23 of 87 in Taormina
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#21 of 87 in Taormina
1,000 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soleado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soleado

Property: Soleado
Address: Via Dietro Cappuccini 41/A, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Soleado 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soleado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleado Hotel Taormina
Soleado Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing