We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”
Review of Sole Castello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sole Castello
Ranked #64 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The hotel offers a very good view of the location including mountain Etna.
You will not get that view if you take economical class room which still means a sea view but to another part of the town (nice but without Etna). Our economical rate room was very spacious but a bit dark (one comparatively small window is not enough) and, respectively, a bit cold due to the lack of sun.
The hotel has a nice pool facing the spectacular view with Mt. Etna
It takes 20-30 min to get up to the hotel on foot from Taormina main street. So you might get tired.
The staff is very friendly, gives good advises.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    57
    46
    32
    26
See reviews for
28
109
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hotel is situated at the top of Taormina in Sicily and the view is breath taking, the surrounding area has little cafe's and shops where you can browse around. Just 50 meters from the hotel are steps on the other side of the mountain which take you down to the center of town if you can make the hike down. The hotel room was very clean and tidy but a bit small - has a swimming pool, and offers a nice continental breakfast in a large room with ocean view.
The staff was very friendly and some of the decor was modern with a touch of ancient history. You can walk, take a taxi or bus down to the main area of town [ the walk will be about 15-20min down the other side of the mountain] but about a good 45 min walk if you take the road down, the view is well worth the trip, I made it walking coming back up the mountain but with a good sweat.
The cost of the hotel was $90 euros/day in mid September 2013. Taormina has the view and numerous shops to visit and a lot of restaraunts with really good food, is a very nice place to visit but a bit pricey since you pay with Euros. If you plan to go it is well worth the trip to see this place when you visit Europe this year.

Room Tip: The room on top and in front of the swimming pool which they provided had a really good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

As a Fsmily, we spent a week last summer in Sole Castelle Hotel, the service was very good, has a good sceneries and the food was fantastic, . it very close to many attractions. I highly recommend this place for everybody

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atef e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We've stayed at Hotel Sole Castello a number of times over the last few years, always at March. Located on a hilltop position in the historic city of Taormina, Hotel Sole Castello offers the best panoramic views of Mount Etna and the Mediterranean Sea from most of its rooms and from its outdoor pool. This hotel is conveniently located to several shopping markets, good nightlife and dining options, the city centre is only 2 km away and can be reached with a local bus or on foot in 15 minutes.. If you're like me don't want to spend your entire vacation budget on one luxury hotel room and would like to stay at one of these affordable hotels which offer safe, clean accommodations with a variety of amenities then Sole Castello is a perfect choice, The room we had accommodates up to four guests for under $125/ night (continental breakfast included), . While there are hotels within the city itself, either we weren't keen on them or else they cost that bit extra, so you make your choices based on what you want from your stay I guess.Our room was well equipped, but above all, spacious, warm and cozy, and clean with a deep soaking jacuzzi tub . Our room service was always on hand, and the small touches the hotel provided were lovely, leading to even more extra special memories for us.

The property’s restaurant specializes in Sicilian dishes and desserts, along with international dishes and Italian cuisine. Meals are served in an elegant dining room overlooking the sea.
After a day out shopping/sightseeing, it's a good place to come back to, to unwind.
As for the hotel staff, the only way to describe them is with words such as Friendly, Professional, Attentive, Efficient to name a few. It was impossible to find a member of staff that did not have a smile on their face at all times. Can't give them less than 4.5/5 as they've been good to us through the years.
I cannot wait to visit again soon, and look forward to the amazing standard of treatment we receive when we are there.

Stayed there March 2013, traveled as a couple

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bassett I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinbane, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

From the balcony of my room the best view up Taormina and the Etna volcano
ever seen. The hotel is located on the hill top of the town near the ancient castle and the curch of Madonna Rocca. There you find a small terrace with a wonderful view up the Teatro Greco and the sea.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 888Thomas_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The staff is not only arrogant but aggressive and threatening. I would never stay here again for that reason alone. The overall condition of the hotel is that of a low-grade 2 star hotel in need of a serious renovation. Getting to and from the center of town is at best a nightmare (from the hotel you have to first walk down several hundred steps) to impossible (back up a steep hill using those same stairs). Every "extra," from breakfast to wifi access to taxi services (20 euros for a less than 10 minute ride to the center!) is a price gouge. Any other option in Taormina has to be better than this!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2012

No carpets, doors opening and closing all night and morning, the staff starts cleaning at 7a.m., cigarette burns in the bed spread, virtually no hot water, surly staff morning, noon and night. Go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Vello D'Oro Hotel
Vello D'Oro Hotel
#75 of 87 in Taormina
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
President Hotel Splendid
President Hotel Splendid
#61 of 87 in Taormina
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#16 of 87 in Taormina
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andromaco Palace Hotel
Andromaco Palace Hotel
#55 of 87 in Taormina
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#52 of 87 in Taormina
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole Castello

Property: Sole Castello
Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 83, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sole Castello 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sole Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole Castello Taormina, Sicily
Sole Castello Hotel Taormina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing