We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view !”
Review of Sole Castello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sole Castello
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Breath taking is the only word to describe the view from this Hotel, day or night ! Set hundreds of feet above Taormina which is itself hundreds of feet above the Med. From our balcony and indeed the swimming pool we has a clear view of Mount Etna. You can use either of two local bus services to get into town but the evening service finishes early at about 19.30. A taxi is about €15.00. The bus less than €2 ! Alternatively you can walk down several hundred steps which is easy enough if you are reasonably fit. There is a great restaurant, Al Saraceno, just along the street with fantastic night time views. The mountain top village of Castle Mola is also very adjacent and well worth a visit . Rooms are pretty standard but all in all , at the price, great value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKennedySheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

Myself and my boyfriend went on holiday to Taormina last summer and it was our best holiday ever. Taormina is very expensive and when researching for hotels Hotel Sole Castello was one of the cheapest and that's why we went for it. We had low expectations but we were very pleasantly surprised. For what we paid it was worth it. They view is breathtaking!! From our room we could see a panoramic view of the town and mount etna very clearly. Most amazing view I have ever seen. The only downside to having that spectacular view was how high up we were and how far away the town was. But we grew to love the walk up and down as the views along the way are gorgeous. There are steps you can take that lead you right into the town, They are very tiring but got easier and enjoyable. I had a huge amount of food on€ this holiday and actually managed to loose a couple of pounds coming home from all of the walking. If you don't want to walk then there is a little bus that can take you up and down. If you time them right they're very handy and cheap. When the bus finishes in the evening and if your out late a taxi is about 15euro. We used to try and bargain with them to make it cheaper but they all say 15euro. The hotel itself is very basic, the outiside looks lovely, gorgeous pool, reception but the rooms are very old fashioned and basic. But we were hardly in the room it was just to shower and eat so it didnt bother us the views made up for that. Further up than hotel sole castello is a small village castlemola. This is worth visiting its stunning! There are lots of windy streets with lots of character. We walked up and I was all dressed up and sweating by the time we got there I recommend getting the bus! We have a beautiful meal there enjoying the views and popped into the little church which is lovely. If you don't mind a bit of walking I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Not a bad place. Nice staff but I hate getting nickel and dimed for everything. 10 E for terrible Internet access and you have to sit in the lobby. Passwords issued for 24 hours at a time. No in room safe; 2 E a day fee for safe storage at the front desk. Some silly rule about bringing in outside food including bottled water (Strictly enforced ) for "health and sanitary" reasons. 10 E a day for parking. (Rent a very small car like a Fiat 500). Beautiful view and great breakfast.

TV service is Sky TV. Hundreds of channels, almost none in English. Fox News is the only news station; 2 minutes of that and I want to kill myself. Excellent restaurant an easy walk up the hill (toward the church). The staff won't tell you about it because they promote the restaurant in the hotel.

Make sure you know the location before driving there; there are 2 Madonna Rocha streets.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMBLAGBCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The hotel offers a very good view of the location including mountain Etna.
You will not get that view if you take economical class room which still means a sea view but to another part of the town (nice but without Etna). Our economical rate room was very spacious but a bit dark (one comparatively small window is not enough) and, respectively, a bit cold due to the lack of sun.
The hotel has a nice pool facing the spectacular view with Mt. Etna
It takes 20-30 min to get up to the hotel on foot from Taormina main street. So you might get tired.
The staff is very friendly, gives good advises.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hotel is situated at the top of Taormina in Sicily and the view is breath taking, the surrounding area has little cafe's and shops where you can browse around. Just 50 meters from the hotel are steps on the other side of the mountain which take you down to the center of town if you can make the hike down. The hotel room was very clean and tidy but a bit small - has a swimming pool, and offers a nice continental breakfast in a large room with ocean view.
The staff was very friendly and some of the decor was modern with a touch of ancient history. You can walk, take a taxi or bus down to the main area of town [ the walk will be about 15-20min down the other side of the mountain] but about a good 45 min walk if you take the road down, the view is well worth the trip, I made it walking coming back up the mountain but with a good sweat.
The cost of the hotel was $90 euros/day in mid September 2013. Taormina has the view and numerous shops to visit and a lot of restaraunts with really good food, is a very nice place to visit but a bit pricey since you pay with Euros. If you plan to go it is well worth the trip to see this place when you visit Europe this year.

Room Tip: The room on top and in front of the swimming pool which they provided had a really good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

As a Fsmily, we spent a week last summer in Sole Castelle Hotel, the service was very good, has a good sceneries and the food was fantastic, . it very close to many attractions. I highly recommend this place for everybody

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atef e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We've stayed at Hotel Sole Castello a number of times over the last few years, always at March. Located on a hilltop position in the historic city of Taormina, Hotel Sole Castello offers the best panoramic views of Mount Etna and the Mediterranean Sea from most of its rooms and from its outdoor pool. This hotel is conveniently located to several shopping markets, good nightlife and dining options, the city centre is only 2 km away and can be reached with a local bus or on foot in 15 minutes.. If you're like me don't want to spend your entire vacation budget on one luxury hotel room and would like to stay at one of these affordable hotels which offer safe, clean accommodations with a variety of amenities then Sole Castello is a perfect choice, The room we had accommodates up to four guests for under $125/ night (continental breakfast included), . While there are hotels within the city itself, either we weren't keen on them or else they cost that bit extra, so you make your choices based on what you want from your stay I guess.Our room was well equipped, but above all, spacious, warm and cozy, and clean with a deep soaking jacuzzi tub . Our room service was always on hand, and the small touches the hotel provided were lovely, leading to even more extra special memories for us.

The property’s restaurant specializes in Sicilian dishes and desserts, along with international dishes and Italian cuisine. Meals are served in an elegant dining room overlooking the sea.
After a day out shopping/sightseeing, it's a good place to come back to, to unwind.
As for the hotel staff, the only way to describe them is with words such as Friendly, Professional, Attentive, Efficient to name a few. It was impossible to find a member of staff that did not have a smile on their face at all times. Can't give them less than 4.5/5 as they've been good to us through the years.
I cannot wait to visit again soon, and look forward to the amazing standard of treatment we receive when we are there.

Stayed there March 2013, traveled as a couple

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bassett I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#49 of 87 in Taormina
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#17 of 87 in Taormina
543 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
President Hotel Splendid
President Hotel Splendid
#64 of 87 in Taormina
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vello D'Oro Hotel
Vello D'Oro Hotel
#74 of 87 in Taormina
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#16 of 87 in Taormina
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole Castello

Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 83, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range: £52 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sole Castello 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sole Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole Castello Taormina, Sicily
Sole Castello Hotel Taormina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing