We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Panoramic Views with Parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sole Castello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sole Castello
Ranked #60 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Panoramic Views with Parking”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sole Castello for a week in mid June and we were not disappointed. We chose this hotel mainly because of its fantastic views, reasonable rates, proximity to the centre of Taormina and the fact it offered parking. It was hard to find a hotel within our budget in Taormina that offered all of the above so we were very lucky to find the Sole Castello. Added to this every member of staff was polite, friendly and helpful.

The hotel is on a peninsular so every room has a fantastic view of the sea and mountains, but if you want a view of Mount Etna and the bay of Taormina then request a room at the front. The rooms appear to differ greatly in size and decor and not all of them have balconies. The "budget" rooms are small and basic and are at the back of the hotel without a balcony. Perfectly fine if you are just looking for a base to explore the surrounding area. We like to sit on the balcony in the evenings and early mornings so we upgraded (€15 per night) to a corner room at the front of the hotel. This had a large balcony with what can only be described as PANORAMIC views of Mount Etna and Taormina, as well as the quaint village of Castelmola which is perched up on top of an even steeper mountain and lit up at night. The room itself was fairly spacious, had a comfortable double bed and a good sized shower room and toilet, also overlooking Mount Etna. A loo with a view! The shower wasn't great, a bit temperamental, and water took ages to drain away, but this didn't bother us. The view and the balcony were worth every extra penny to us.

There is a secure car park which costs €8 per day (I think) but we never had to use it as there was always plenty of free parking on the road. A few yards up the road there is an ancient castle and a church, this is where the steps into Taormina begin. The walk was steep but easier than I expected (we are in our 40's and not particularly fit) and well worth it for the breath taking views again, including the Teatro Greco (Greek Amphitheatre). It took approximately 10 minutes on the way down and 20 - 30 minutes on the way up. The climb in the evening when it is cooler was actually very pleasant and the path is lit. There is a blue bus which stops out side the hotel if you don't fancy walking in heat of the day. This is the Castelmola bus and it runs from the central bus station in Taormina. It costs €1.90 each way and the last bus back is at about 2145, I think. We were told a taxi would be €15 - €20 one way but it was never necessary to use one.

Driving in Sicily was easy and nothing like as chaotic as mainland Italy (we have driven in Naples and the surrounding area which was crazy). We explored the surrounding area including Alcantara Gorge, Castiglione and Castelmola, highly recommended. We also spent a night in Palermo (see separate review) which was very interesting and only took 2.5 hours from Taormina on the main road.

Our room rate included a basic, continental style breakfast which wasn't anything to write home about but perfectly acceptable none the less. There are a huge number of lovely places to eat in Taormina and we certainly tried our fair share of them, so we needed breakfast to be basic to make up for it!

I nearly forgot to mention there is a lovely pool at the front of the hotel, great for cooling off in if you've just walked up that hill! There are a few sun beds and tables and chairs where you can have a drink and enjoy the view (half a litre of wine was about €6, can't remember exactly, but it seemed reasonable for a hotel) and the local beers weren't too expensive either. Getting a sun bed was never a problem as I think most people were out and about exploring rather than sat by the pool.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a balcony at the front of the hotel for panoramic views. Corner rooms have la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wydcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Responsabile reception at Sole Castello, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Good morning from Hotel Sole Castello.

Thank you for the compliments to our hotel.

Waiting to receive you again, we send our

Kind regards

Roberto & Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    54
    41
    31
    24
See reviews for
27
98
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a nice week in Taormina staying at Sole Castello Hotel. The location is very good, rooms with sea/Etna vies are clean and comfortable, although bathrooms are small. The staff is kind and helpful - Carmen and Celeste, Emanuele and Nuccio, who is the best.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms with balcony and sea/Etna view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svetla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Responsabile reception at Sole Castello, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear customer ,
I want to thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.
Waiting to receive you again in Taormina , I remain at your disposal
Roberto & Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Absolutely beautiful views from the front facing balconies, overlooking Taormina and Etna. We paid a little extra for a room facing this view and it was definitely worth it, the views are the main selling point of the hotel.

Our room was a reasonable size, but the balcony was absolutely tiny - we are not big people (I am 5ft tall!) but had to remove the small table from the balcony in order for us to both sit outside at once without having our feet tucked up on the table. Furniture was in pretty bad condition - our bed was comfortable but the only chair in the room was covered in ripped baby blue damask material covered in off-putting brown stains and yellowed at the corners. The room was itself reasonably clean but the wardrobe was dusty and damp smelling inside and we had to dust down the drawers before using. Bathroom contained a rather antiquated toilet with cracked and chipped wooden seat - all in working order but again a bit off-putting.

Staff were very friendly and helpful - we were allowed to buy wine in the bar to drink on our balcony whilst enjoying the view, and also to bring in our own. We were also given a map of Taormina and instructions on how best to walk in to the main part of town.

The walk in to town itself was not a problem to us - there are a lot of stairs it takes around 15 minutes to get down. The stairs back up would not be a problem for anyone of reasonable fitness - we are 30ish and had no problem walking back at night after dinner and drinks. A cab costs 15 euro, but we only used one once after a particularly late night.

Lovely little restaurant (Al Saraceno) a couple of minutes walk up the road - great views of Taormina and decent pizza, we went several times.

Great views on the pool, and overall a reasonable hotel. Would be great if a little effort was put in to the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Responsabile reception at Sole Castello, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear customer ,

I want to thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.
Waiting to receive you again I remain at your disposal and send my best regards.-
Roberto & Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Sole Castello is located up hill from Taormina near the Castello, so most rooms have breathtaking views of the town, Etna, and the coastline. Room was very basic and could use some up dating, but clean. Didn't plan on spending a lot of time in the room so it was perfect for what I needed. Staff were very helpful. There is parking which was super helpful since I arrived in a rental car and parking in Taormina is hard to come by.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank crubegonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Responsabile reception at Sole Castello, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you, first of all for taking your time to review our beautiful facility.We are glad to know that your stay in our hotel was very good. We remain at your disposal and send our Best regards. Roberto & Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsaskala, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Breath taking is the only word to describe the view from this Hotel, day or night ! Set hundreds of feet above Taormina which is itself hundreds of feet above the Med. Sea. From our balcony and indeed the swimming pool we has a clear view of Mount Etna, but not even an egg for breakfast. You can use either of two local bus services to get into town but the evening service finishes early at about 19.30. A taxi is about €15.00. The bus less than €2 ! Alternatively you can walk down several hundred steps (543 to be exact!) which is easy enough if you are reasonably fit. There is a great restaurant, Al Saraceno, just up the street with fantastic night time views, but it is closed on Mondays. The mountain top village of Castle Mola is also very adjacent and well worth a visit . Rooms are pretty standard but all in all , at the price, great value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Riosammut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

very frindly staff.
Nice view from the pool area,and the more expensive rooms.
Breakfirst not worth eating. Bread served a week old.
We had one of the cheaper rooms, there was definatly a reason it was cheap. Some would say it could need a makeover, some would say it could need some additional cleaning.

Room Tip: Make sure you pay a little extra for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gumledyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

if you have a sea view room it will compensate a little,otherwise i don't see why to stay there!the hotel looks like an exhospital,the rooms the same!the staff was acceptable,but they make sure that you obey the rules of the hotel such as:leave the room key at reception whenever out,do not dive in the pool....the breakfast was almost inexistent and i was very glad that i booked only for one night!no wifi,only at the reception if you pay for it,the parking had to be payed too!over all i would not return there even if i was payed...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
President Hotel Splendid
President Hotel Splendid
#59 of 88 in Taormina
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andromaco Palace Hotel
Andromaco Palace Hotel
#48 of 88 in Taormina
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vello D'Oro Hotel
Vello D'Oro Hotel
#75 of 88 in Taormina
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sylesia
Hotel Sylesia
#35 of 88 in Taormina
136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Isola Bella
Hotel Isola Bella
#46 of 88 in Taormina
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#61 of 88 in Taormina
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole Castello

Property: Sole Castello
Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 83, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sole Castello 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sole Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole Castello Taormina, Sicily
Sole Castello Hotel Taormina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing