We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stay in this hell hole”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Kristina
Ranked #73 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 22 October 2010

DO NOT stay in this hell hole. It was absolutely terrible! First of all, you cannot lug you luggage here after getting of the ETNA bus from the airport. Next, you get there and they check you in-are not very friendly or personable, and you get the idea they hate working there. By looking at the hallway, you see the worn out and filthy carpet and walls. The room we got for our honeymoon was so disgusting. I tried to suck it up, we got in, couldn't fit our two weeks of luggage for two in the room, and got to the bathroom......are you kidding me??? The floor was filthy, the shower curtain touched your knees when you sat on the toilet, and it was filthy too. There was no actual shower, just a drain in the floor. We changed rooms, and it was barely better with two inches of black mold on the shower door. The balcony had garbage blowing from everyone else to our door. In the middle of the night we had to close our door because people were screaming and kids were smoking until 4am. The room smelled like sewage the entire time, and we didn't know what was worse, sewage, or the smoke constantly blowing in from our balcony that was connected to the others. When we complained, the front desk yelled at us. They were so rude and terrible and I would never send my worst enemy here. They pretend not to speak english when you have a problem and speak it perfectly every other time. We asked for directions to our next destination in Italy and didn't do it. We asked for a taxi and they did it for the wrong time. They were not only part of the problem, but made our disgusting room even worse since we felt uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorigirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2010

This Hotel was the only terrible experience we had on our 12 night holiday in Italy. We decided to spend the last four days of our holiday in Taormina. We booked this hotel online and it seemed reasonably priced and in a good location with a pool. How wrong were we!!

When we arrived after driving all the way from Tropea on the mainland we were greeted by an unbelievably ignorant deskman who literally just pointed us in the general direction of our "room". The room was fairly basic but i could live with that. What i couldnt live with was the fact that there was no air conditioning and even in september it is a must in Sicily.(The hotel indicated that it had air conditioning on its website)

When we enquired about the air conditioning, we where told that it was broken and it was unknown when it would be fixed. We decided to see if there was another hotel nearby and found the Hotel Méditerranée (more expensive, but highly recommended).

We returned to the Hotel Kristina to inform the manager that we could not stay in the room without air con and we would not be staying. At this stage he got quite nasty and aggressive, he said we would still have to pay for our stay. We stated that we were not paying for a room without air conditioning and left.

In the end the hotel charged our credit card for the first night which is disgrace. I can not stress how much you should avoid this hotel. I've stayed in many hotels all over the place and this is the worst i've seen by a long shot. Please beware if your contemplating booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harmonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

For the amount we paid for this hotel we expected better, the hotel was in need of modernisation, the bathroom was very old and as a result had a constant musty smell. The hotel is on a busy road so was quite noisy and the air conditioning didn't work. There was no bar to get a drink or anything outside of breakfast time. The staff were friendly enough and it was in a relatively good location although all up hill on the way back from town so would not be ideal for anyone with mobility issues. Overall it was just a bit disappointing, not a hotel you really want to spend more time in than you need to.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewer023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Luckily, we stayed only one night there!
What to say? The bedrooms are very small and very noisy so be ready to hear all your neighbours! Of course, both the lift and the air conditioner were out of service so we had to leave the window opened even if the road was very noisy (still 27degres in Sept!). We were told we would have a sea view… we had a small balcony next the road and only if you try hard, you will slightly see the sea. The bathroom is small and dirty… very old furniture and shower.

For sure, I will not recommend this hotel. Better to pay a few euros more to get a decent hotel. Closer to a 1-star hotel than 3 to be honest… such a pity when you stay in a Marvelous Town...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank London-Sirjona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

disgusting man at the reception, demanding - probably has an impression, that he is not there to serve other people. Unfortunately doesn't wear a name badge, therefore I can't provide you with his name. Definitively don't stay at this "hotel"

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

The hotel was clean, and most of the staff were quite nice. The weather during our stay was very hot, but the air conditioning only came on between certain hours. the rooms were quite small but suited us as we were only sleeping there, we were out sight seeing or swimming during the day. The bathroom was ...interesting, it had a sit down shower and no shower curtain. A few members of the group couldn't fathom this and complained about getting the floor wet all the time.
The pool and loungers were perfect, the area was kept clean at all times and you could get food and drinks in this area too. The hotel is located up hill from the town so was in a quiet location. The food at the hotel was not fantastic. Breakfast was included in the price and was great, a good selection to chose from and plenty of it! I had lunch in the small room beside the pool on one of the days and was really disappointed, I ordered a pasta dish, and when I finally got it, (it took almost an hour), it seemed to be straight from a packet, just like the ones I get at home, but cost 5 times the price! I gave them the benefit of the doubt and had lunch again another day with friends, opting for pizza this time, and again found it over priced and disappointing.
The hotel was very clean and, although not the cheapest in the area, was good value. If I were going back, I'd look for something closer to the town as trekking up hill everyday to get back to the hotel was really tiring.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nouse4aname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

honest key points:
rooms : were very clean but very dated
Bathroom: very poor, a broken showerhead, no shower curtain.
Breakfast: average,get up early to grab the eggs, but coffee was good.
Staff: a greeting in the morning, apart from that nothing else, i do speak some Italian
so i thought that would break the ice....No.
Location: Great,3 mins down hill to the main Corse umbreto, but 10 mins up hill at the end of the evening.Noise yes, really it was'nt that bad.
eating out: please shop around, it average €50 euros for two, but there is cheaper.
Finally........
Toarmina is stunning, but very pricy,just have plenty of money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkypud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#18 of 87 in Taormina
688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#7 of 87 in Taormina
1,907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Piccolo Giardino
Il Piccolo Giardino
#36 of 87 in Taormina
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taormina Palace Hotel
Taormina Palace Hotel
#54 of 87 in Taormina
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Isabella
Hotel Isabella
#53 of 87 in Taormina
362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#15 of 87 in Taormina
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Kristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Kristina

Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 23, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range: £53 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Kristina 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This three-floor family-run hotel was built in the early sixties on the hillside at Taormina and enjoys superb views across the Bay of Naxos and Mount Etna. Hotel Villa Kristina features an outdoor pool on a sunny terrace with a poolside bar, sun loungers and parasols, all open seasonally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Villa Kristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kristina Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Kristina Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing