We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel San Pietro
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Chester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Five star rating is for the full sea view rooms. Worth the extra investment.
From your balcony ,watching the sun, or rain come over in the morning, is a joy.
The bedrooms and the public rooms are well finished. Breakfasting outside, under the shades is great. The pool area is ideal for sun worship, a drink, or a snack.
The hotel is idealy situated a healthy 15 min walk from the town.
Everything is not perfect. Drink and food are overpriced, but you are close enough to the town to spend your hard earned currency.
Staff are helpfull in all areas.
Wi fi is free but patchy, but good in the main reception area and library.
Pamper yourself, but make sure of the seaview rooms.

Room Tip: A seaview room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayjayChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    91
    35
    18
    6
See reviews for
50
196
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We recently stayed 7 nights on the Relais Chateau Grand Hotel San Pietro. When we arrived we were extremely tired after a long plane ride, moving into a new house the day before leaving for Italy and the strain of air travel. What a pleasure to check into this delightful hotel where we instantly felt a sense of tranquility with the smells of all the flowers and breath taking views of Sicily. The staff on check in immediately escorted us to lunch on the outdoors terrace overlooking the pool and sea. Between the exquisite setting, excellent food and wonderful Rose' Sicilian wine, we could feel all our stress and exhaustion melt away!

The food at the hotel was excellent along with the service of the staff. We treated ourselves to the "Special Dinner on the Rontunda Sul Mar" to celebrate my husband's successful heart transplant and it was a magical evening for us. The staff made the evening truly special and we will always remember this night in Sicily.

The beauty of this hotel is that it is away from the crowds of Taormina but only a short taxi ride into the center of town where there are hundreds of restaurants, shops and great people watching along with spectacular views. We had no problems driving our rented car for day excursions to Siracusa and Mt. Edna but also took taxis for short distances when we didn't want to drive or walk into town and have an evening of great Sicilian food and wines in town.

Treat yourself to the Grand Hotel San Pietro and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was our second stay at the San Pietro having enjoyed it last year. It is very hard to fault the whole package. The staff are friendly and helpful. The (superior) rooms with balconies over the impressive bay are first class and the setting on the terrace for lunch and dinner is quite beautiful. Food and service are first rate. The hotel is a brief walk from the centre of Taormina and all the better for being away from the noisy tourist hubbub. Quiet elegance in a perfect setting!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust2254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a truly wonderful hotel. I chose this Hotel to celebrate my husband's 50th Birthday - specifically a special dinner on the Rotunda Sul Mare. The meal was superb and our 5 day stay an absolute joy. The staff were wonderful - recommending fabulous restaurants and were super helpful as I had two family members struck down with a virus during our stay.
I have often read about people being upgraded whether it be flights or accommodation and could not believe our good fortune when we were shown to our Suite - simply the best hotel accommodation and service I have ever experienced!

Room Tip: Corner suites or water facing rooms are ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonMBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel as the start of our honeymoon, unfortunately BA lost our luggage for the first 3 days, but the hotel were great and very helpful giving us toiletries we needed, calling the airport for us, charging our phone. They upgraded our room to a sea view, and it was stunning (certainly made it a little easier without our bags!) The restaurant is quite expensive, but it is a 5 star, and it is was really nice. The hotel is a short 10 minute walk away from the town centre, a lot of people were getting taxis there, but really the walk is nothing so just try it if you're able to walk a few steps. We never once got a taxi to town, walked everytime. The pool was nice a quiet, and refreshments were always available (although the beer was quite expensive for the size you got!) The breakfast was amazing, a selection of continental meat, hot dishes, cheese, cereal and fruits. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: One with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsB1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Hotel San Pietro must have been the most fashionable hotel many years ago.
It still holds its air of quality and sophistication though rooms are old looking and furniture out of fashion to bear its previous standard.
There is a beautiful porche to have breakfasts in summer with a wonderful sea view.
Swimming pool is also superb.
The hotel is at walking distance from Taormina, though I would not recommend it for older people, as the road leading to the hotel asecends through the hill.
The hotel provides a shuttle service with specified time table to the village and beach.
Taxis are affordable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexR05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for two nights a long time in advance. The rooms were approximately 300 euro per night for a standard room without a view or balcony. The rooms were very very nice. The bed and sheets so comfortable. Breakfast was the best I've had in Sicily. The reception was quite helpful. The pool was big and very nice. If I had to put a negative on one thing, the shuttle from the beach was about 30 minutes late. Apart from that, no complaints. Not sure it's the best value, but it was a very enjoyable romantic stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
817 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#15 of 88 in Taormina
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#41 of 88 in Taormina
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#28 of 88 in Taormina
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel San Pietro

Property: Grand Hotel San Pietro
Address: Via Pirandello 50, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel San Pietro 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel San Pietro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing