We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel San Pietro
Ranked #39 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The best thing about the San Pietro Hotel is the astonishing view from the balcony of the room and from the breakfast area. Nice staff, good food, but the views are something! However, no air conditioning from October to May. It was a hot night, and when we complained about only having hot air in the room, we were told to sleep with the windows open, but no one told us that uninvited mosquitos would join us during the whole night, as well as that the rooms are too noisy. We did not sleep well during any of the three nights we stayed in the Hotel. I would certainly not stay there again during any of these months.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NathalieSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel was lovely with very comfortable rooms and an accommodating staff. It was a bit of a walk into town up a lot of steps and a steep hill so if you have issues with walking, this would not be the right hotel. While the hotel was very pretty with a nice view of the sea, it was not typical of a Relais en Chateau which are usually more luxurious. The breakfast was excellent with a large variety of food, all very fresh.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

we arrived quite late, so never really had chance to see the views or the hotel as it was dark but when we woke up the views are spectacular.
the food is unbelievable, albeit the hotel restaurant was cold at night, because it was an open area and doors all open even inside but they do have covers for you if you want.I think its because it was april, as in the summer I'm sure its too hot.
Many restaurants within 5 minutes walk and a beautiful village with coffee shops and stores.
breakfast was served in the room every morning and also was superb and included in the cost.
i would go again and next time will go to mount Etna which is very close by.
book a room with a balcony facing the sea.also great spa and good gym with all new equipment.
enjoy
david cave from HKong.

Room Tip: with a balcony and view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lordcave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We arrived Taormina on a Train, inside a Ferry! What?
Yes, quite excuisite! But it was a nice trip, from Salerno to Taormina, more or less 6 hours.
The Hotel was quite close from the station, 5 min Cab.
The Hotel, its an experience, the beach and the pool are acessable, trought an elevator scarved on the rock, and the acess is made trought a grout. The kids loved it. So did we. The accomodations very nice, the restaurante top. Most excuisite expirience. This was in 2012.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedroparracho7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed this week we were 3 adults and a kid, 2 rooms. Upgraded to a sea view with a balcony without even asking for! Didn't spend much time in the rooms though, seems if you are looking for a resort spa etc, this is not the place.... This is a great place to come to rest at the end of a long day, meet the welcoming staff at the desk, including the Assistant Manager who was available to give us best suggestions for the next day's trip or a place to dine. The hotel offers a free shuttle car to the center of Taormina driven by the great driver who is always smiling and ready to go.

Breakfast is very rich and the selection very wide. Offered outside on the balcony or inside if the weather not so nice. Again, the dining room staff is so nice managed by the manager who is personally welcome the guests and offer hot drinks!

Walking to town is one km walking up the stairs 10 minutes pleasant walk. Day or night very very quiet and safe. Bottom line - I wish we could have stayed longer, and no question, we'll come again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank hananir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It was a very special family occasion and the staff of this hotel made it memorable. They were all so helpful with nothing being too much trouble, every whim was catered for from our demands on the kitchen to the the attentiveness of the front of house, the concierge, the bar staff , every little detail was perfection. It was a feeling of being in your own private villa only larger....with your own staff ! Certainly would return, and look forward to doing so, in fact we booked while we were there!

Room Tip: They all looked excellent , we had junior suites on the second floor which were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Beautiful views and elegant sitting areas within the hotel. Lots of lovely places to sit in the well kept terraces, staff extremely helpful, shuttle bus service to the pretty and vibrant town of Taormina very much appreciated. Our second visit to this hotel and may well not be our last.

Room Tip: Ask for superior sea view, it's worth the extra money. The junior suite is good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,866 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#26 of 87 in Taormina
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 87 in Taormina
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel San Pietro

Address: Via Pirandello 50, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £198 - £943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel San Pietro 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel San Pietro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing