We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OH DEAR.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel San Pietro
Ranked #43 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
nottingham england
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“OH DEAR.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Oh deary deary me - I'd expected a lot more from a five star ( L ) hotel with Relais and Chateau classification but was sadly disappointed.
Breakfast presentation lacked so much in terms of wow factors and was the same every day and smacked of someone not bothering in the kitchen. However one day we decided to be adventurous and ordered two poached eggs on toast and guess what that's an extra 16 Euro.
Then one lunchtime I asked the waiter if he could ask the chef to create me a tropical salad. He'd lost his creative hat that day because what came out of the kitchen was sent straight back.
Housekeeping was satisfactory but reception lacked the helpfulness required for front of house.
Hygiene seemed lacking in public areas around the pool and didn't receive the daily wash down usually given. The staff did not overly enthuse in their duties and were not fully trained.
Oh dear I could go on but suffice to say I wouldn't go back and Relais and Chateau need readjust this classification.

Disappointedly yours

Peter Groves

Room Tip: Why pay 420 euro extra for a balcony for one week - that didn't stack up for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter2280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    91
    35
    18
    6
See reviews for
50
196
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Lovely location on the hill ascending Taormina, well kept property, breath-taking views across the sea and up and down the coastline, great swimming pool, helpful courteous staff who gave us good tips on restaurants, vineyards to visit, sites to see.

Room Tip: We did not have a sea view as we booked last minute and it was fine but could see through open doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisywynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
804 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Returned after 4 years and immediately thought the outside needed painting. Rooms are good size with usual fittings - nothing outstanding but does the job and again could do with a repaint to cover scuff marks etc. Views from the balcony are spectacular.

Star points for me were the friendly staff, the pool area (& Dario), and the restaurant which was situated on a pleasant patio overlooking pool & sea. Food is of a high standard, well presented and professionally served. In particular the veal was outstanding and my wife loved the Norma dish.

On the negative side there are areas that the hotel management should look at. The WIFI is a joke - it maybe free but it doesn't work. Breakfast was the usual limited choice and identical everyday - oh for a bit of variation. Coffee was also poor. Finally the pool bar menu is very limited - a couple of salads or toasted sandwiches. Surely they could do better?

Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay and will return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a full view of the sea from our room complete with a lovely balcony to relax on. This hotel room was spacious and very quiet. The city centre is located up the hill and there are a lot of steps, ten minutes if you are in reasonable shape. They also have a shuttle bus for those who can't make the walk. The town has a funicular that takes you down to the sea. There is a very well preserved Greek Theatre as well. Many good restaurants to chose from. We only had breakfasts at the hotel and it was the usual European spread with plenty of choices.

Room Tip: I would definitely try to get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusyBis09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have just returned from Sicily having spent 10 days there with my husband, From the outset, we received the best of attention, from the Assistant Director ( a Roma supporter ) to all the reception staff. The hotel is in a perfect location and has a shuttle bus to take guests to and from the centre of Taormina. The rooms was perfect and the very clean. The best however, is the pool area which is managed by Dario who was marvellous each day and had a smile and cheery demeanour all the time. If I could make one small suggestion, the pool sunbeds do need to be updated!!! A wonderful hotel and a wonderful experience in Taormina. Views breathtaking from the hotel and very much appreciated.

Room Tip: We stayed in a classic room and would recommend room 626!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMS1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

For a spectacular location like Taormina this is a run-of-the-mill hotel. Great location on the hillside with a panoramic view from the terrace where breakfast is served. Nothing out of the ordinary to the rooms, standard in size and amenities and in need of a do-over.
We enjoyed the pool which shares the great view of the ocean, is full-sized and well kept up. Breakfast buffet is very generous and included two flavors of granita that changed every day with a delicious brioche bun on the side.
The hotel provides a shuttle to the main street in Taormina, Corso Umberto, which otherwise is fifteen minutes straight up the hill. Town is worth the hike, picturesque, well-stocked with boutiques and eateries.
Have to wonder whether the San Pietro is clinging to that Relais & Chateaux designation by its fingertips. Of other places we saw the San Domenico seems to have all the charm and the quaintness, a Michelin-starred restaurant and is right in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We are staying at the Gran Hotel San Pietro in Taormina. It is part of the Relais and Chateau group so we thought it was a good choice and it is. It is the quietest hotel I have ever stayed in. It is elegantly beautiful and so calm. The rooms...ours in on the 6th floor overlooking the sea is lovely and worth the extra money as the rooms at the back overlook the road and do not have a balcony. The breakfast is great. Fresh fruits and cereals, ham and cheese, granita, cooked bacon and eggs and great coffee. We had dinner in the hotel and it was very good. I had seafood and pasta and it was well done. The restaurant was busy but the service excellent just the same. It is a 10/15 minute walk up to Taormina shops and restaurants which is a bonus. We ate wonderful seafood in 2 restaurants here. There is a huge car park which is also a bonus here as parking is difficult in the centre. The pool is lovely too and very well managed with drinks and snacks served all day.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room with a sea view. Then you get a quiet room and a balcony and beautiful views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
820 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#15 of 88 in Taormina
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#41 of 88 in Taormina
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#27 of 88 in Taormina
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel San Pietro

Property: Grand Hotel San Pietro
Address: Via Pirandello 50, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel San Pietro 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel San Pietro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing