We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gorgeous place with a lovely view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel San Pietro
Ranked #39 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel and I have many positive things as well as a few negatives to say about my stay here.

I travelled with a family of 11.

Let's start with the good things first:
The view is AMAZING and all of us had sea view rooms so therefore was such a nice way to wake up every morning looking at the never ending ocean.

The staff were always polite and helpful.

The pool area was really beautiful and on 6 days, we managed to get 11 beds for all of us. The service by the pool was really great. We also ventured to the sister hotel to visit the beach one day and we only stayed for less than half a day before deciding to return back to the hotel and pool. The beach was very busy and I am not the biggest fan of stony beaches. The sea was fun to go into as it was quite wavy and they also had a floating dock going out into the sea which was good to have some fun on.

Saying all this, I think that the hotel could not be classified as a 5*. Rooms are small and dark. They were comfortable enough but lacking in flair. The lighting in the rooms is very limited. The hotel still uses keys as opposed to swipe cards, and i feel the latter is much easier to carry around rather than full on bulky keys (I know this is a small matter but these are the small touches that do matter).

The bathroom was a nice size with a step in bath/shower. The only problem i found with the bathroom was the lack of power in the shower. Trying to also get the right temperature was a struggle as if you turned it a tiny bit left, the water was scolding hot, and if you turned it the tiny bit right again - the water turned cold. So rather wanted to spend a decent amount of time in the shower as i usually do on holidays - i felt myself just wishing to wash and get out as soon as possible.

Breakfast at the hotel was good but lacking. There was not many options but it was ok for me as i'm not really a big breakfast person. Some coffee and croissants/fruit did me well.
We had lunch at the hotel twice (once on our arrival into the hotel as we arrived at about 1pm so decided to just eat straight away then go to our hotel rooms - and then again a few days later when we felt like we didn't want to venture into town and wanted to stay by the pool). The service for lunch was disastrous and i would not recommend you eating in the hotel. We ate our in the city for the rest of the days and had such great food, wine and service. Taormina as a whole is a quite an expensive resort and restaurants outside were no more reasonably prices at the hotel.

Moving onto the WIFI - which was patchy and most of the time didn't work. They really need to sort this problem out quickly as you would expect a "5*" hotel to be able to provide working free WIFI everywhere.

The town is a 10 minute walk uphill, but it is a satisfying walk with great views in every direction. The hotel also provides a timed shuttle bus which drops you off at either the sister hotel where the beach is - or at the city. We most often grabbed the shuttle bus into town in the evenings for dinner and then would walk it back to the hotel.

We were a family of 11 - 5 adults and 6 girls and us 6 girls ranging from 17-23 would venture out in the evenings. The hotel were great on recommending some great clubs/bar lounges and coming back to the hotel at 5am was ok although taxi's were quite expensive - $15 for a 5 minute journey back from the city to the hotel.

Overall, a pleasant hotel and the criticisms mentioned above were only minor and would not stop me from returning to stay at this hotel if I were to visit Taormina again. It would be nice if these negatives could be fixed and I feel that if these were adhered to, then the Grand Hotel San Pietro would definitely be a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank leglobetrotter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHG_Taormina, Direttore at Grand Hotel San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014
Google Translation

Gentile Signora Fatticcio,
siamo orgogliosi dei complimenti ricevuti e la aspettiamo in occasione della sua prossima vacanza.
Grazie e arrivederci,
La Direzione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

This Hotel was amazing!!! Staff were fantastic always ready to help you….and views from our patio were simply breathe taking….looking out to the pool and ocean!!! My room was great and food was amazing too….I would definitely recommend this Hotel….thank you to all at the Grand Hotel San Pietro for my very memorable stay!! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mel62tri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I've just returned from a week's stay at the San Pietro and it was the restful tonic I needed.

The good things first: the staff were always exceptionally polite and helpful: the heel came off my shoe on the outward journey and, after umming and ahhing a little, the concierge managed to have it reheeled in the space of a morning.

I came back at 5am one morning, exhausted after a 12 hour driving odyssey (don't ask) and just left my hire car at the car park barrier and staff were happy to sort it out for me without even being asked.

I had a pedicure at the spa with the lovely German beautician, and that was a good experience.

The restaurant staff asked me with utmost courtesy if their amuse-bouche, that contained pork, would be OK for me.

Generally the staff were very gracious.

But the hotel could not, I think, be classified as a 5*L. Rooms are small and dark. Comfortable enough but slightly lacking in finesse, despite the very high thread count bedlinen. The minibar never worked in our room and the air conditioning was sporadic. I never use either of these so we discovered the malfunctions quite late in our stay but they should have been checked out before our arrival. We were offered another room to sleep in with functioning air conditioning but then the A/C came on of its own accord. Offering one free bottle of mineral water for a whole week's stay in such a hot climate is really not sufficient, I'd say.

The bathroom was vast but inadequate. I was given the room with the disability-friendly bathroom, but it's a pity that the handrails and other fittings for people with disabilities were of such a poor quality, white plastic finish. The shower was adequate, but only barely so in terms of water flow. I judge hotels on the quality of their showers so this has to be a thumbs down for me.

Free included wifi was sporadic. It was OK, if extremely slow, most of the time in the room, but did not work anywhere outside it. Again, surely this can be fixed. It is not right that it compares unfavourably with hotels in India, say.

I did use the gym, but the treadmill was only barely adequate and its placement on the floor meant that it rattled noisily as I ran. The video screen did not work.

The pool and the view from the pool were lovely and the attendants keep it very neat and tidy. Bar snacks were hugely expensive: Euros 10 for four small baguette pieces spread with chopped artichokes is extortionate, I'd say. Generally the quality of the food in the restaurant was adequate. Some dishes were far better than others: the sea bass was beautifully cooked, for example, but one just cannot make guacamole with unripe avocados. I found it quite expensive but actually Taormina is an expensive resort and restaurants outside are no more reasonably priced. There were very good wines available and restaurant service was always gracious and helpful.

Yes, it is a 10 minute walk uphill into town, but it is a pleasant walk and Taormina is a beautiful place. Although I have some reservations about the quality of the hotel offering, it is not really overpriced for what it is and compares favourably on price with many other similar places. I'd probably say it was a very good 4* hotel. All in all, I really enjoyed my trip and I'd be happy to return to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. Rooms facing the road might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MsAlliance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel San Pietro for eight days in july based on Tripadvisor reviews and were so happy we chose this resort.
The rooms were comfortable and we had a wonderful view of the ocean from our patio. The pool area was beautiful - we could have sat by the pool for hours on end. The breakfast was limited in selection but we didn't mind because everything was fresh and delicious. We had lunch and dinner at the restaurant in the hotel which we enjoyed very much. The beach is at their sister hotel a few minutes away by shuttle but it was very rocky and difficult to get into the ocean.
They offered a free shuttle service to take us to town and they accommodated us whenever possible. We didn't use the gym as it was very small.
Taormina town is very quaint and pretty with many shops and restaurants .
We took a walking tour of the town one morning which we enjoyed very much. I would suggest you take a boat tour of the bays in the area as the coastline is quite beautiful.
We didn't mind that the wifi was sporadic-- we needed a little downtime from our phones anyway.


I would have to say that the best asset to this property was the staff. They couldn't do enough for us.
They arranged our tours, suggested wonderful restaurants, and gave us directions over and over again with pleasure. I must say a special grazie to Vera and Paulo who made our vacation so enjoyable.
I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing vacation at a luxury hotel in Sicily.

Room Tip: stay in an ocean view room with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saulsgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just returned from 8 days in Taormina at the Grand Hotel San Pietro.
Starting with the resort and surrounding area. Taormina is a great resort. It's set on a hill with the town at the top and a cable car to take you down to the beach. The views are stunning.
The nearby towns on the coastline are a bit hit and miss though. Giardini Naxos is also worth a visit but that's about it.
The hotel has several good points. It's classically Italian, nicely decorated, friendly staff, superb views and a good swimming pool area. Rooms are OK but as stated in other reviews in need of a bit of a make over. Another good point is that room rates are a bit less than some of the other 5 star options in town.
The downsides are...
Hopeless wifi. It works intermittently and even then at a snails pace.
Breakfasts are boring unless you pay for a la carte extras. Location isn't great. Its a 10 minute, uphill walk into town although there is an hourly shuttle bus. Other 5 star hotels seem to be better located.
Probably wouldn't book there again if I went back to the area.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just returned from a 12 day stay and would commend the Hotel on its friendly helpful staff and overall cleanliness throughout .
However on our second evening we returned to the Hotel at 10.30 entered the Bar outside area ( which separated from the restaurant area ) only to be refused service due to the fact that I was wearing shorts. I could understand if the shorts were beach or sports wear but they were tailored chino shorts and smart looking obviously we left and never returned .to have to wear trousers ( ironically jeans are ok !) when the temperature is still 20 degrees is outdated and ridiculous especially as a paying guest. At the end of the day it was to the cost of the Hotel as we had our evening nightcap else where.
I did take this up with the Hotel reception and asked them why there were no signs in the Bar or in the Hotel literature and they agreed that it was a rather an old fashioned rule and that they should at least make guests aware to save the embarrassment of being refused service. The pool bar was also very limited on its selection of snacks and overly expensive, again very few guests used it. Perhaps the Hotel will take note- hope so as they have many things correct

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 970rob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have returned from a 10 day holiday in Taormina and enjoyed the Hotel.
We paid quite a bit extra for a superior room with a sea view. Whilst we were glad we did as the view was excellent and a very spacious room and balcony we felt it was a lot extra.
However if you can afford to do this I would reccomend as you will not get a view otherwise.
We had clean sheets daily and towels twice daily.
The staff on the Reception were quite helpful and the shuttle bus was there if required.
We felt breakfast was the same daily and expensive if you required a cooked breakfast.
We had dinner for our anniversary and it was delightful and the staff very attentive.
We always stay in a 5 star hotel and I would not say that this standard is better that any others we have been in and this is certainly a lot more expensive.
All in all I will not return to Sicily in the near future as I have lots of other places to visit.
If you can afford it and you want quiet and a spectacular view I would certainly reccomend.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are the best if you can afford it. High rooms for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonne_sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,899 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#45 of 87 in Taormina
608 reviews
0.5 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.8 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#20 of 87 in Taormina
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel San Pietro

Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 50, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £225 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel San Pietro 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel San Pietro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing