We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can I just say WOW?!”
Review of Caparena Sushi & Wine - CLOSED

Caparena Sushi & Wine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$79
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The only Sushi & Wine restaurant in town, a fine dining experience in the heart of the historical center, located just inside the Hotel Isabella member of the Gais Hotels Group. It's open every day, except on Mondays, for dinner.Opened in December 2013.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“can I just say WOW?!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I just had a sushi, but what kind of sushi!!! very tasty! I also loved the concept of making sushi using mostly Mediterranean products
Ever happen to be there check out the place, drink a glass of wine and enjoy simple but well thought design.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhakosik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caparena Sushi ... T, Direttore at Caparena Sushi & Wine, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Mr Zhakosik,

we are grateful for your positive review.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again, we send you our best regards.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    34
    7
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“From a well traveled Sushi fanatic”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I write this coming from experience and a lot of money dropped on Sushi in my life.

I would not slander or say this restaurant is horrible. However, considering the fresh fish options in the area, and the cost of each dish at this restaurant there is nothing spectacular here to get excited about.

The "Fusion" - NO, it's not there. I expected a nice Mediterranean twist to their Sushi.
They barely squeezed out basic Maki rolls, ridiculously priced ones at that.

Any specialty roll came at a steep 18 Euro per, barely worthy of 10 euro and could hardly qualify as specialty rolls in anywhere else.

Their is a cost of eating non-typical food and they take advantage of that.

Like another review, we had problems with our order as well.

Ordered Scallop Nigiri, was brought Shrimp instead,
0 effort to correct that when brought to waiters attention.

Ordered 4 Maki rolls, was brought out 3,
0 effort to correct that mistake either.

When 2 people drop close to 150 Euro in a restaurant, make an effort to see they are treated accordingly.

Sushi has no future in Sicily if this is the forefront.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennie_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caparena Sushi ... T, Direttore at Caparena Sushi & Wine, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Mr Pennie,

thank you for your detailed review about our Restaurant.
We accept your suggestions referred to the "nice mediterranean twist" to be added to the traditional japanese menu.
We already offer as fusion specialties our Caparena Tartare with a mix of red tuna and orange cubes or our Meat Titbits on a fried aubergine.
We will of course improve the above suggestion as a strong point of this new food experience in town.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Overrated & pretentious!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Went there due to the good reviews but it was extremely disappointing! We ended up getting the wrong order twice. Apart from that the waiter was very rude and argued with us and made us feel very unwelcome. We ended up spending a lot of money and had to go eat something else from another place because it was barely a starter!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank silentcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caparena Sushi ... T, Direttore at Caparena Sushi & Wine, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Mr Silentcro,

we apologize if your Sushi experience with us has not been equal to your expectations and we hope to welcome you again in the next future in order to have a second chance and show you the quality of service and the excellence of our food experience.

With our best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caparena Sushi & Wine also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Messina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing