We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat dated, poor food but still a good choice!”
Review of Mediterranee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mediterranee Hotel
Ranked #62 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Somewhat dated, poor food but still a good choice!”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

First the negatives:
1) As reported by others, this hotel is rather dated, with signs of wear on stair carpets, dated room furniture and dated bathroom fittings and air conditioning which we considered just about acceptable (others may think it isn’t!)
2) It is above the town, separated by 40 steps and additional slopes as well as a further 20 steps or slope from the hotel to the street it is on.
3) The breakfast was well below par with stodgy rolls, croissants, only one fresh fruit which alternated between melon and peaches, watery juice, sawdust dry cake, choice of two cereals, hard boiled eggs, and tomato salad. On two occasions we asked for bread and were told there was none. We only had dinner on our first night and two of our party had fish – a tiny portion with hardly any flesh. A rip off. The management need to take action to improve the food.
So why stay here? Well....
1) Get a room at the front and you will enjoy a great view over Taormina and Mount Etna – you’ll marvel at it every morning and every evening and all the time in between.
2) In Taormina you can’t drive to many hotels and have to park in one of the town car parks. You can drive to the front door of the Mediteranee which offers free parking albeit there is very limited space so the staff need the keys so they can move the cars around. Our car was always accessible when we needed it.
3) Without exception every member of staff was friendly and helpful
4) The gardens and the pool – accessible via more steps – are lovely and offer still more wonderful views. Free use of the private beach at the sister hotel is also a bonus which we made use of although we drove there rather than be restricted by the shuttle bus times and cost.
So provided you know what to expect, this is a good option. Apart from the food we were not disappointed as the reviews here on TripAdvisor had prepared us. Hotels in Taormina are expensive and the Mediteranee offers reasonable value.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a view and a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    86
    58
    30
    31
See reviews for
36
124
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The hotel is adorable from the outside, a white wedding cake of a building surrounded by balconies. Inside it’s been furbished in what was probably the height of chic – back in 1972. Right down to the avocado bathroom suite. And it’s not retro charm – just old and in need of attention. It feels like Del Boy’s flat and is about as enticing.

Our rooms were poky, with tiny, lumpy elderly single beds, tiny lumpy elderly nylon pillows and pre-historic air conditioning that failed to noticeably reduce the room temperature. Also, in a nearly empty hotel, they had chosen to give us one of the few rooms with no view or balcony, but a window opening over a bit of, well, rock. Breakfast was rubbish, of the orange squash and luncheon meat variety. It’s also a hike uphill from anywhere in the centre of Taormina. My friend and I are young (ish) and fit, but you need to be pretty mobile and very fond of stairs to stay here.

I want to be fair, though, because the roof-top pool area and garden is huge and amazing, with stunning views. The breakfast balcony, similarly, has one of the finest views in Sicily. And the staff were very helpful and attentive when we checked in. And it was very cheap with free parking… but now you know why.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daenelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Had a lovely stay here. Staff were very nice and extremely helpful. Parking was free. We arrived before check in time but when we said we'd go to the beach, they said to go up the pool which they said was beautiful. And it was, absolutely lovely with fantastic views. We were told when our room was ready and it was great, very clean. Yes, I agree with some of the reviews that its slightly dated, but the whole place has a slightly shabby charm. The room was spotless. We had a massive balcony with sea view which was just fabulous. Town was a lovely walk into, lovely back way into Corso Umberto. Brilliant value for money as well, would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tribesmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Great location with amazing views. Air conditioning worked well and the shutters mean total darkness and hence a great nights sleep. Very clean and ... quiet, had a drink a few evenings in the bar but we were the only customers. Whilst the climb from Corso Umberto might be off putting for some it provided much needed exercise after all the glorious food. We walked here from the bus station without too much exertion. Taormina is a wonderful holiday choice and I would highly recommend the Meditterannee as a base. Free entrance to a private beach at their sister holiday is an added bonus.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Should have realised the price was so good for a reason ... this hotel is very old fashioned and out of date, reminiscent of the 70s. the rooms and public areas are dowdy and like an old people's home, the bathrooms are like something out of the 1950's. however there are fantastic views from the balconies and the pool area is lovely. Breakfast is pretty basic too, and the coffee is awful. WiFi only in main hotel sittingroom (why?). it's a backbreaking climb up hundreds of steps from the main street of Taormina which while very picturesque is very definitely a rich person's hangout. be warned!

Room Tip: make sure you get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T00shka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Madison, WI
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My family and I stayed at this hotel for one night last month. This hotel has an old world charm that's hard to beat. The furniture and bedding appears dated but everything is clean and it adds to the charm of the hotel. It has a small parking area which in this little town is very valuable. Great breakfast, pool and beautiful views of Etna and the sea. Our favorite part of the hotel was the very large terrace outside of our triple room which allowed us to have panoramic views of the village, the sea and mount Etna. It is located within a short walk to the town. Coming back up to the hotel is a little tougher as it's uphill but then again, that's why you have the spectacular views. We would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Spent 5 days there. Everything was positive. They were very helpful with us. Pool is beautiful and very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
#65 of 87 in Taormina
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Riis
Hotel Villa Riis
#77 of 87 in Taormina
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Sirina
Hotel Villa Sirina
#28 of 87 in Taormina
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 87 in Taormina
534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.5 mi away
Taormina Park Hotel
Taormina Park Hotel
#58 of 87 in Taormina
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranee Hotel

Property: Mediterranee Hotel
Address: Via Circonvallazione 61, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterranee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Mediterranee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing