We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Mediterranee”
Review of Mediterranee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mediterranee Hotel
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel Mediterranee”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This hotel was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Aircon VERY Poor, staff seemed to know it! I told reception and they sent a guy with a fan up which just circulated hot air:( when I complained to him he said ' you fussy Americans' and laughed to which I relied ' actually I'm British and I don't find that funny!'

Wifi only works on the 1st Floor /patio and terrrace below which led to lots of people hanging around in same area trying to pick up a faint signal. Beds VERY uncomfortable my daughter in her 20's came away with back ache as well as myself! We were bitten to death by bugs at night and did not have the window open in the morning we saw ants all over the room.

Hotel very drab and OLD. The bath was digusting and the shower hardly had any power to it.
The stair carpets were VERY dirty and looked like they needed a GOOD clean. Furniture in the room was old and drab. There was no guide to the hotel in the room, staff took ages to answer phone. Car park and entrance to hotel on a VERY steep incline (not for the feint hearted). The receptionist took our car keys to play musical cars as space VERY limited. Windows banged at night. Breakfast food was awful - dry rolls, awful tasting cucumber. Orange was made up from concentrate. Hotel reminded me of Fawlty Towers! Lady on reception could hardly muster a smile NOT a good welcome..

First review I have written in my life but felt so ripped off staying here. I have NO idea how they can rate it a **** star!!!! Give this a WIDE BERTH.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 9th floor which was awful.... I suggest you don't stay in this Hotel at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boadicea22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    86
    59
    30
    31
See reviews for
36
125
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Good location, ok pool and free parking, but that's all. The hotel is old and the our room has not been renovated for a while (15 years mabye?). POOR A/C, which means a lot during the summer when the sun heats up the rooms during the day. The beds was also not very comfortable. Not worth the money!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nor1979000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

We only had one night here but thought it was very drab, decor was dated and are sickened that we payed €140 for a night here!! Location is quite good as it is about a 5 minute walk to the main street and parking is included in the price which is unusual for Taormina (some places charge €20 per night!!!) We also liked the views from the large balcony!! It would be great if they put some sunloungers on the balcony. It's massive but all they have is 2 plastic chairs and a little table!! There's loads of room - no excuse for not having the loungers as well!!! Would not return to this hotel - you will find nicer!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetteriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just back from a week in Taormina (7th - 14th July 2012) staying at the Mediterranee. Having read the comments before departure, made the decision to upgrade the room to one with a terrace and views before we went - to say that was a good move was an understatement, the views are stunning and we were lucky enough to get an end room, so had double the views. If you don't go for this option, then your room will be at the back where there are no balconies. Re the décor, can't see what all the fuss is about, it seemed fine to us and exceptionally clean. Was also not expecting much of breakfast, based on previous comments but have to say it was much better than anticipated and more than adequate to set you up for the day and being a buffet, you can eat as little or as much as you want. Plus it was very pleasant to sit outside on the terrace in the shade. In terms of location, from what we could see of the other hotels, this was probably the best; high up with outstanding views, quiet and peaceful and a short walk to the town. The walk into town will only take you 5/10 mins, yes there are a few steps and it is steep but if you are able bodied, you should not find it a problem (had 73 year old mum with us and she went up and down, sometimes twice in a day no problem). Taormina itself is wonderful, with more shops, bars and restaurants than you can shake a stick at and not a burger bar in sight! The pool area is lovely and it too has the outstanding views. If you're hiring a car, then the hotel has free parking and they park it for you, a bonus considering the terrain. If you do hire a car, then check out the toll system on the motorways before you set off! A trip in the car to Etna is a good trip and much cheaper than booking a coach tour. There were a few niggles but so minor, not worth mentioning on this review and certainly did not impact the enjoyment of our holiday. We are all widely travelled and as hotels go, we would all give the Mediterranee the thumbs up and definitely recommend it if you are travelling to Sicily.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This hotel has definitely seen better days - probably in the 1950's. The decor is very dated and in need of a face-lift. However, the rooms are large and clean (though the plumbing and electrics are in need of updating) and the views over the bay are stunning. We had a lrget terrace from which to enjoy the view but very little shade and only furnished with 2 plastic chairs and a small coffee table. Loungers and an umbrella would have enabled us to make the most of the terrace. The gardens and pool are lovely but probably the best thing about the hotel is the staff who were unfailingly polite, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The room are large and clean but very dated. The staff where helpful and went out of thier way to help. Nice pool and gardens with many steps. Taormina is a nice place but so over priced it is untrue. A small beer can be anything from £4.50 To £7.50 in the hotel £5.00. A meal for two £60 plus is just not worth it. After 5 days we moved to Palermo as planed and the prices were half. The other hotel in the group is well worth a trip down to if you want a day at the beach. Again it is like going back to the 60 s

Room Tip: any room at the front all have great views of Etna and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petbri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Myself, my wife and our 10 month old son spent 10 nights at the Mediterranee hotel in May. First of all the positives, the view from the hotel is outstanding, especially from the pool area which is very well maintained. The hotel interior and bedrooms, while old fashioned and dated are comfortable and clean. The breakfast is ok and the use of the private beach at the sister hotel was also a positive. A special mention also for the wait staff who were incredibly helpful and friendly, they were always willing to give us whatever help we needed with our baby for example washing bottles etc. On the negative side the lift in the hotel is tiny and is not suitable for a baby buggy, therefore we had to carry the buggy up four flights of stairs to our room. Secondly the hotel is advertised as an air conditioned hotel, however the manager refuses to turn on the air conditioning until the temperature reaches 30 degrees celsius, which is pretty hot in my book. The room got stuffy an especially for a young baby, we had to open the window a good few nights resulting in insects flying in and biting us. Finally and this is my real sore point, when I booked the hotel I specifically requested a baby cot and the week before I arrived I rang to confirm this. There was never any mention of an additional charge for this. When we arrived at the hotel the manager told us there would be an extra charge of 200 Euro for this. There was no flexibility on this, despite the fact that this was never mentioned in either the hotel information or when I reconfirmed the booking before. Also there was no other babies in the hotel. We felt we had paid enough for the room and if we had of known of this in advance we could have brought a travel cot. The manager dismissed the above points and would not budge on the fee so our son spent the week with us in the bed - not ideal.

Would we stay here again, probably not for the reasons.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philipq1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Riis
Hotel Villa Riis
#77 of 87 in Taormina
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
#65 of 87 in Taormina
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 87 in Taormina
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Sirina
Hotel Villa Sirina
#29 of 87 in Taormina
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranee Hotel

Property: Mediterranee Hotel
Address: Via Circonvallazione 61, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterranee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Mediterranee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing