We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Broken pool, shabby hotel”
Review of Mediterranee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mediterranee Hotel
Ranked #61 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Broken pool, shabby hotel”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We had exactly the same experience - the pool was broken and the room was extrememly basic - not what I would expect from a 4 star hotel! The bathroom in particular was very old and there was a big stain in the bath. Although the hotel tried to convince us to stay and take a shuttle to the beach rather than relax by the pool (which did look like a nice area), we checked out soon after our arrival and were fully refunded. This hotel needs refurbishment!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    85
    54
    29
    30
See reviews for
36
119
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Witham United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Arrived at hotel to be told the pool was closed due to an explosion. Show to our room in a lift made of corrugated iron. Opened the door and took one look and checked out. What a hole! The man on reception said we were the only guest to complain the pool was not working. It was 90 degrees! Booked into the Monte Tauro then the Villa Angela. These are fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avril B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I must admit that I was a little apprehensive about our stay having read some of the more recent reviews about this hotel. I needent have worried. Yes, the much mentioned stair carpet is worn in places and the decor is dated, but having spent two weeks there I found it just about perfect for our holiday. Our " garden view" room was bright and airy and surprisingly did offer us stunning views over the sea. ( However as others have reported the views from the more expensive " sea view" rooms must be superlative, as they share these with the terrace, which doubles as an open air bar in the evenings. ) EverywhThe staff were universally attentative and friendly, and the free wifi was a great advantage. Our half board option was ideal for us and our budget. Breakfast was everything you could expect from an Italian hotel, while the food at dinner was generally as good as anything else we ate during our stay : it was classically Italian / Sicilian and freshly prepared to order and delicious. The drink prices were on a par with the rest of town's bars and restaurants. The pool is located within attractive gardens, is a good size and offers yet more stunning views.

In summary, there are obviously more luxurious hotels in Taormina. They are not hard to spot. However, they would have been either have been way out with our budget, or are so far out of town as to have all kinds of other disadvantages. I would be surprised if any are such good value for money or offer such wonderful views.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewan1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Mediterranee Hotel for a week in September. Upon arrival our room was not ready but the receptionist for very helpful, gave us a map of the main street and told us how to get there. We were asked to wait on the terrace and oh my, what a view! We could have waited there all day if needed, however, our room was ready within 20 mins. The receptionist came and got us and took us to our room and our bags were already there. Our room was on the 5th floor and had a view of the sea and over the bay. The hotel is a little run down but the rooms were clean. The rooms are smaller than we normally have and the bed was comfortable. Whenever I booked this hotel my priorities were the view and convenience to the main throughfare and this hotel scores full marks for both. It was only a short (less than 5 mins) walk to the main street. This street has a host of shops, pubs, restaurants etc. We ate there every night and its worth going down the side streets as more choice is available for restaurants there. The breakfast was fine, limited choice but always had enough and of course this is served on the terrace with the amazing view. We went on a trip to Mount Etna, booked through SAT located on the main throughfare, and they were excellent. We booked the day tour but one of our party felt unwell so they took us off the bus and brought us back to our hotel on a minibus. We were then able to do the sunset tour the next day and this was amazing! Well worth the 80 euros each. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool also has the amazing view over the bay and it was quiet and relaxing with no children until the last 2 days. There are plenty of loungers and pads and parasols for everyone. I felt the hotel fulfilled our needs. I wouldn't say this hotel is 4 star according to our standards, it would be more like 2-3 star but it was suffice and if I was going back again I would have no problem in staying here again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the sea fronted rooms - they are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-JoKesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Stunning views from balcony and breakfast terrace. However, hotel is in need of updating and air conditioning was very loud. Entry and hallways look worn, almost dirty but it is generally the fact that it needs updates. Breakfast was very good as was service and hotel staff polite. Very reasonably priced considering location which is within 5 minutes from Corso Umberto I - the centre of town. No need to drive once at this hotel as everything is closeby.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank susan198708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This hotel was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Aircon VERY Poor, staff seemed to know it! I told reception and they sent a guy with a fan up which just circulated hot air:( when I complained to him he said ' you fussy Americans' and laughed to which I relied ' actually I'm British and I don't find that funny!'

Wifi only works on the 1st Floor /patio and terrrace below which led to lots of people hanging around in same area trying to pick up a faint signal. Beds VERY uncomfortable my daughter in her 20's came away with back ache as well as myself! We were bitten to death by bugs at night and did not have the window open in the morning we saw ants all over the room.

Hotel very drab and OLD. The bath was digusting and the shower hardly had any power to it.
The stair carpets were VERY dirty and looked like they needed a GOOD clean. Furniture in the room was old and drab. There was no guide to the hotel in the room, staff took ages to answer phone. Car park and entrance to hotel on a VERY steep incline (not for the feint hearted). The receptionist took our car keys to play musical cars as space VERY limited. Windows banged at night. Breakfast food was awful - dry rolls, awful tasting cucumber. Orange was made up from concentrate. Hotel reminded me of Fawlty Towers! Lady on reception could hardly muster a smile NOT a good welcome..

First review I have written in my life but felt so ripped off staying here. I have NO idea how they can rate it a **** star!!!! Give this a WIDE BERTH.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 9th floor which was awful.... I suggest you don't stay in this Hotel at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boadicea22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Good location, ok pool and free parking, but that's all. The hotel is old and the our room has not been renovated for a while (15 years mabye?). POOR A/C, which means a lot during the summer when the sun heats up the rooms during the day. The beds was also not very comfortable. Not worth the money!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nor1979000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Riis
Hotel Villa Riis
#76 of 88 in Taormina
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
#59 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#20 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#19 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranee Hotel

Property: Mediterranee Hotel
Address: Via Circonvallazione 61, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterranee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediterranee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranee Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing