We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, well located small hotel in center of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Taormina
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well located small hotel in center of town”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

If you like small scale, antique, and individual, this is your place. About 12 rooms, all different; beautiful paintings on the wall. Antique vases, paintings and sculptures in the hallway. Right in the middle of Taormina with shops and restaurants around the corner. The back yard has a small whirlpool. The only room that offers a view of mount Etna is actually the breakfast area. Btw, the breakfast is very, very good. Quality products in abundance. This is NOT your typical hotel-breakfast with some cereals and the odd roll with some cheese and ham. Free wifi throughout the hotel. Would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarOhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    48
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
143
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

This is a "nice" hotel/villa but the write-up in travel books is misleading. It does not have what you would call an ocean view from any room. The breakfast room has a view, but mostly of the roofs of other nearby houses and the ocean in the far far distance.

Perhaps the biggest problem is parking. There are very very few spots and if you don't get one of them, you must drive to a parking structure in town to park...which is a dicey proposition. There are several sections of the street coming to the hotel and leaving it that are too narrow for many cars to get through. It is virtually impossible to back up, so many people we saw (ourselves included) damaged their cars. There is no warning either.

Compared to the stunning ocean view we had at the Albergo Domus Mariae in Siracusa for half the price, the Villa Taormina was a big disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OCTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Charming elegant villa well positioned. Lux rooms and outstanding breakfasts. Staff very helpful and gracious. Tres chic.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacethroughtravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

From the moment you step foot into th is beautiful family run hotel, you are surrounded by beautiful Italian furnishing. The staff is gracious, and the hotel is spotlessly clean. The breakfast, which is served in a beautiful room overlooking Taormina and Mt. Etna, is sumptious... the best we had in Sicily. We enjoyed our three day stay... wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Fantastic bespoke hotel finished to the highest standard. All areas were spotlessly clean, the rooms were large and the breakfast terrace had superb views across the city.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338GDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Lovely hotel with only 8 rooms. Breakfast terrace has excellent views, and there is a private jacuzzi / patio area that is very nice for a relaxing afternoon. The staff are very friendly, and had great suggestions for restaurants both times we asked.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

A beautiful oasis of tranquility and fabulous service. The staff will do all they can to help in any way possible. If you are going to Taormina then the reviews speak for themselves. The entrance and communal areas are out of this world and your room will be perfect. Go and see for yourself. The jacuzzi and relaxation area outside offer great views and a peaceful haven from the bustling streets

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrigalarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#20 of 88 in Taormina
708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#24 of 88 in Taormina
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#26 of 88 in Taormina
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Taormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Taormina

Property: Hotel Villa Taormina
Address: Via Fazzello 39, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Taormina 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charm hotel designed with an intimate approach integrating our love for antiques and traditional Sicilian interiors. The villa is an antique residence located in the historic center of Taormina just a staircase above the Piazza Duomo. Breakfast is served on our sun-filled terrace with outstanding views of Mt. Etna, the Mediterranean Sea, and the Old Abbey (Badia Vecchia). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Taormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Taormina Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing