We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“like in a comedy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Natalina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Natalina
Ranked #54 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“like in a comedy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

It is an awful place with a ridiculous owner.The first day I left my key in the room.Once you shut the door you can`t open it without it.So I told to the lady in the reception what happened. (I was talking in English) The owner didn`t know my boyfriend can speak,understand Italian. The owner had a comment: Ahh,again another stupid guest!That what we need! The room what we got was very noisy as the main pipe is running next to it. Every time somebody uses the water, strong bzzzz noise can be heard by the water pump.You can`t sleep at night.We asked a new room.The owner was laughing at us: what do you expect?The birds are singing for you. Then we called the booking.com to tell our problem.Then they called him.After that phone call.He gave us a new room.And he was so kind with us(fake).In our new ensuite bathroom the shower head was blocked.We reported it to him.He sent my boyfriend to our previous room to change it.He didn`t want to by a new one even if it is cheap.Furthermore to think about the next guest can have the same problem in that room. It seems like if we were so fussy people.I think we were just unlucky this time.We have traveled a lot but never met anybody like the owner of Natalina.We felt ourselves like in a comedy. Apart from all these problems, the hotel is very dark,and it is next to the main rood(noisy) and a petrol station, but the rooms are not too bad, good sized.I would say average hotel. The place is almost the cheapest among the other hotels in Taormina. (We know the town is not a low budget place) Considering this you can`t expect too much from the hotel. We would never go back there.No way! Even if we found the worst hotel we had lovely time in Taormina.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zsuzsi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    62
    44
    15
    8
See reviews for
34
81
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenmont, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Although you have to go downhill a little way to get to the hotel and then uphill to get to the center of town, this is a nice place to stay. The staff is great and very helpful and accommodating, and the hotel is clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eternity45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I just spent 3 nights in Hotel Natalina.First of all I would like to praise the very friendly staff.As soon as we arrived we were greeted by a kind girl who sat with us and offered us drinks, and she explained the main attractions & the map.Even the other staff members were friendly too, they made me feel at home.The breakfast was very good too it satisfied my sweet tooth quite well.The rooms are well spaced and is very clean with a pleasent smell.
Wifi connection was weak in the room and that was a bit of a drawback personally and it is also quite a distance from the heart of taormina so if you want to avoid walking, I won't suggest this hotel.
Over all for a 2 star hotel I recommend it.It is worth the price as you will not regret visiting this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Anastasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Very comfortable, very clean family-run hotel in a good location for all the sights of Taormina.

I was made very welcome by all the staff, who gave all the info, re sights ,restaurants etc.
(Be aware; the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, only a breakfast room, despite what the adverts say).
The funivia (cablecar) is only 150m away, BUT, it's a 100m uphill walk and then 98 steps up to the station.
The beach is a good 10 min walk away; all downhill, but you can get the cablecar back.(3€ e/w).

That said, I would definitely recommend Natalina; it's central, cheap (for Taormina), very clean, and the staff are very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skwid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

After arriving in Taormina (by bus from Catania) you have to walk on roads with no pavements for a while to get to the hotel which is down the hillside from the main centre. This may be quite an experience as the buses and cars veer dangerously close and don't seem keen to slow down for your benefit! Is seems like Taormina caters very much to the tour bus / cruise line crowd who maybe don't walk that much but for a new arrival the impression was you were taking a risk just trying to get into town!

The hotel is pink and has that dated but charming look that you find a lot in Italy. The interior is dark and a bit cluttered but could be homely depending on your mood. We were met by one of the owners but didn't get the welcome drink that others have mentioned. Maybe tripadvisor reviews have left a bitter taste with them. Not sure. Didn't feel I got a warm welcome but there was certainly no rudeness. The male owner does appear a bit gruff and disinterested but is happy to give advice if asked.

The room was big and had a great view of the sea and mountains. Ok décor was a tad gloomy and tired but everything was clean and the bathroom was a fair size. This is definitely not luxe and that is reflected in the price which is fair for what you get.

Best bit for me was breakfast which was a table buffet with some lovely cheeses, breads cakes etc, cereals and juices and well made fresh coffee. Was a great start to the day.

I would stay here again as you a walking distance from the old town and its well priced - especially if you get a sea view room and spend time on the balcony.

Taormina is lovely but 3 days are probably enough to sample its charms (Greek theatre, Trevelyan gardens - are both essential while you are here). The main town is clearly aimed at rich cruise ship types with designer shops, jewellers, expensive bars and dubious art galleries. The beautiful natural setting and some lovely old churches make t worth a trip but its clearly milking its tourist value as much as humanly possible

Some of the hotels in town with infinity pools etc. look very nice but are ridiculously expensive. I would stay at the Natalina as you are getting good value and perhaps a truer taste of Sicily...

Room Tip: definitely go for one of the sea view rooms - it makes a real difference as the view is just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zahzahzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We took a chance with this hotel and found the owners ready to greet us on arrival. They made sure that we were comfortable and pointed out all the best places to visit, walks etc. The room was very clean. The breakfast was more than adequate. Just a caution though that since the hotel is located half way down the slope overlooking the sea, it is quite a climb to get to the centre which is close, approximately 15 minutes walk - but certainly good exercise!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunakeszi, Pest, Hungary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed 3 days in July. Very nice hotel with good location: close to main street Corso Umberto and also to the beach (15 min by walk) or 3 min to the cable car. Very hospitable staff, gave us excellent tips how to explore the town. We were also offered a fresh orange juice on our arrival and they kindly offered us to leave our bags at the reception when we decided to stay at the beach after check-out on our last day. The room was basic, but nice and clean with a balcony, towels were changed every day. Very tasty breakfast with good coffee. Taormina is expensive town, but this hotel is excellent value for the money. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Soleil
Le Grand Soleil
#55 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.2 mi away
President Hotel Splendid
President Hotel Splendid
#60 of 88 in Taormina
3.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Greta
Hotel Villa Greta
#46 of 88 in Taormina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Chiara
Hotel Villa Chiara
#50 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andromaco Palace Hotel
Andromaco Palace Hotel
#49 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elios Hotel
Elios Hotel
#69 of 88 in Taormina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natalina

Property: Natalina
Address: Via Porta Pasquale 2, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Natalina 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Natalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natalina Hotel Taormina
Natalina Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing