We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Taodomus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Taodomus
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrific Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We styayed at this delightful hotel in September 2013 for 7 nights and it was our last port of call for our Euopean vacation and what a way to finish!! It was gorgeous, great location,an aray of wonderful restuarants to choose from, not to mention the little shop down the road that makes the best arancini. The staff at Taodomus are brilliant they never get tired of recommending places to visit or just tell you about their wonderful town. The view from the terrace where the scrumptous breakfast is served is amazing, the bay and the view of Mt Etna is spectacular. The ladies who cook breakfast are so warm, welcoming and friendly and I might add make the best omelettes and pancakes you have ever tasted. The breakfast bar has freshly made cakes, pastries, fruit, cheeses and more.The only tiny negative is that the rooms are a little small, howerver they are kept spotless and what more could you ask for when visiting this gorgeous place. We can't wait to go back and recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mimma222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    136
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
90
550
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

A small but beautiful hotel with excellent and friendly staff located in Taormina's main street.We stayed in the Uva Spina room,lovely decorated furniture,and a romantic balcony...the best way to start the day with a breathtaking view of the sea.Excellent breakfast served by two lovely ladies.
Highly recommended,great location,the place to be!We have very fond memories.

Room Tip: Uva Spina wit superb balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hetty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at Taodomus in early September as a couple and we enjoyed it a ton. The room itself was very clean and nicely decorated, especially given the price. We loved the bed, really comfy and nice!

The rooftop terrace is just fabulous! Breakfast was freshly made there each day and we very much liked their pastries and pancakes. It's very inspiring to sit there in the mornings and just take a bit of time to enjoy the fantastic view of the sea and the Etna.

The location was also great for us because you're in the hustle and bustle of the main shopping street but only 15-20 mins from a few beaches (although beach goers beware: beaches are generally pebble-y and not sandy!). For us the main focus of the trip was just relaxation and enjoying the good food and I have to say, the staff was extremely helpful in providing recommendations for dinner every night. We couldn't go wrong with their tips.

The only downside: next time I would book a seaview room and probably at a lower floor. We stayed at the floor right below the terrace and unfortunately in the mornings we could hear the ladies there prepare breakfast quite early - not so awesome for lazy tourists like ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lovely Hotel Taodomus. The hotel is in a great location, and serves as a good departure point for exploring Taormina. The staff was extremely helpful, friendly and courteous and patiently answered our many questions about restaurants, sights and activities. Our room was small, but very smartly decorated and very comfortable. But the best part of the hotel is the rooftop terrace and the breakfast! We loved the terrace so much that we had an impromptu dinner there (there is a small supermarket nearby the hotel) and enjoyed the magnificent night views from the roof. We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage or large bags, ask the staff to store your empty bags during your stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Redjack63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Spent four nights here. The staff was helpful and wonderful at breakfast. Nothing was too much for them to do. Speaking of breakfast, it was delicious and served on the beautiful rooftop. The views were outstanding including the Bay and Mt. Etna. The evening view is lovely. We never tired of exclaiming at how wonderful it was. The room was spotless as was the whole hotel. We had a small terrace fronting Corso Umberto so could watch the peole but when we closed the doors, it was quiet. One day we even got to watch the town marching band all in gorgeous uniform!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was our second visit to Taormina and to "Hotel Taodomus" in 2 years and we enjoyed 11 fanastic days in Taormina from an exceptional boutique hotel with excellent facilities and outstanding staff service.
From our first arrival to the day of departure, everything was perfect to ensure that we enjoy our stay in Taormina.
Why choice a 5 star hotel ? when "Hotel Taodomus" offers a hotel that is located in the centre of Taormina whereby you can walk to anything.The staff have been long term at the hotel and provide exceptional service that we have never experienced in any hotel that we have stayed in worldwide.
A special mention must be made of Maria who was a great help in accomodating all our requests.She went over and beyond to make us feel welcome, she truly is a credit to the hotel.

The hotel roof terrace is amazing it provides outstanding views of Taormina, Mt Etna and the Mediterranean sea below. The breakfests on the roof top terrace, are the best we have experienced anywhere in the world. The variety and quality of the food would meet everybody's requirements.The room was excellent, comfortiable and with all of the modern facilities.

When comparing "Taodomus" to two other,so called 5 star hotels we have stayed in at Taormina over the years."Taodomus" makes those hotels appear to be overrated and overpriced.

We have high expectations and "Hotel Taodomus", has similar qualities and forfilled all of our requirements and more.
Everything was perfect. So perfect that we are returning next year with other family members for an extended stay at "Hotel Taodmus".
I highly recommend Hotel Taodomus".

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giovanni6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Taodomus’ strengths lie in its location, service, and cleanliness. The hotel is well situating near Porta Catania at the more quiet end of Corso Umberto. Close by you will find a grocery store, excellent gelato (O'Sciality), several restaurants, and access to a walking trail leading to Castelmola. Be warned that Corso Umberto tends to be overwrought with tourists from 10 am to 6pm. However, we found that the section where the hotel lies was not as bad as the Porta Messina section near the Teatro Greco. Also included in the price is a copious and savory breakfast, which you can enjoy on the roof top terrace that reveals amazing views of Etna and the sea. The staff is extremely friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable.

Some of the less attractive aspects of this hotel include very small rooms, poor sound proofing (not a problem in the hot months when the AC is on), and uncomfortable bedding. The views from the different rooms are extremely varied. While ours had a partial view of the water from the bathroom and a wonderful view of the Palazzo Saint-Stefano from the bedroom, other rooms appear to have no views at all. You might want to inquire before booking.

Overall a reliable no-nonsense hotel perfect for those wishing to take advantage of hotel amenities within this price point.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taodomus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Taodomus, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Isabelle B,

Thank you very much for the very positive comments about the location, service and cleanliness of our hotel. We are happy to know that you had appreciated our breakfast, the views from the rooftop terrace and the convenient location in the heart of Taormina.

Regarding the sound proofing, as you underlined in your review, it is efficient if you close the Windows, since they are double-glazed, but of course, leaving the windows open it is quite unlikely that no external sounds will be sensed.

Honestly, we do not understand how it could happened that you found our brand new pure satin cotton bedding to be uncomfortable, while most of our guests have emphasized the softness and high standard of comfort.

Finally,we would like to point out that eight of the ten rooms have a balcony with a view, and that the only two rooms without balcony have a quieter privileged position and therefore are also appreciated by our guests who require it explicity.

Thanks again for your opinion. We hope to welcome you back here at Taodomus Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Maria Destro
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
1.0 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taodomus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taodomus

Property: Hotel Taodomus
Address: Corso Umberto 224, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taodomus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taodomus Hotel is the ideal residence for those seeking relaxation in a refined, cosy and welcoming ambience. Located in the historical centre of Taormina and housed in an elegant refurbished residence, the Taodomus Hotel with its exclusive rooms creates a fine reminder of the warm welcoming tradition, typical of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Taodomus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taodomus Hotel Taormina
Hotel Taodomus Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing