We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in Taormina”
Review of Hotel Taodomus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Taodomus
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value in Taormina”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a small hotel right on the Corso Umberto, the main, pedestrianized street in Taormina. The rooms are small and plainly decorated, but confortable. There is no parking, but the hotel has the right to two parking spaces in a street nearby. You can use them if you book them in advance. The staff is small, but very attentive, friendly and helpful. There is a great view from the roof terrace, where there is an honour bar and breakfast is served. There are grander, more beautiful hotels in Taormina, but I would stay there again, it is great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTravelMan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    140
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
94
574
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
625 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Taodomus in Taormina Sicily

Breakfast on roof top hotel & location both highlights

We had a lovely 5 days here...Pros/Cons...

Pros: v friendly, helpful staff; clean & pleasant room with good balcony- table & chairs plus partial old town/sea view (see photo); loved tea/coffee making facilities in room - had been missing that in Italy; beautiful roof top terrace (see photo) with stunning views of sea/Mt Etna; fantastic breakfast; 1 day the staff offered to set terrace table for our takeaway lunch of pizza etc & then came up & made a pot of tea!; good location - many restaurants & cafes on doorstep...actually right below the balcony with cheerful music/singing & laughter into the evening; Ancient Greek theatre a 10 min walk (see review) as well as a shady public garden (see review); also not far to other attractions eg. Etna, Isola Is, vineyards for lunch etc; room is v small but staff offered to store a suitcase plus there was a large wardrobe with drawers in our room. A 5 night stay gave us a chance to unpack, do some laundry at a nearby place as we had been travelling for a few weeks. It was like a home away from home & we used the terrace a lot!

Cons: Costly for such a small room but considering the service/breakfast/lovely balcony, seemed comparatively ok in a v pricey town??; not sure about the lift - it seemed to take ages on the few occasions we called it - mostly climbed the stairs instead; some reviews complained about the restaurant noise etc coming from the street below - that didn't bother us as it didn't go late into the night & there are heavy shutters on the windows/air-con if you prefer.

So, perhaps if you have mobility issues ask for a room on one of the lower floors. This is a great hotel with lots of character and personalised service. Many thanks to all the staff - a holiday to remember!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NotMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taodomus, Direttore at Hotel Taodomus, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear NotMolly,

We would like to thank you for the great review on our hotel and for all your positive comments about the service and our room's amenities.

In order to improve the hotel's facilities, we are pleased to inform you that from the upcoming season our lift will be replaced with a new generation model which was not available on the market until now. The new lift will be bigger and faster than the current one.

We hope to see you here at Taodomus Hotel soon!

Kindest regards

The Staff of Taodomus Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice location, we stayed on a room with balcony on the street very nice arranged, breakfast excelent (pancakes best off) and staff extremly friendly and helpfull, definetly i will like to return there sometime. To the beach we reached by hotel bus.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Serban_sn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

If you are visiting Taormina, this hotel is perfetto! It's right on the main street where all the shops and restaurants are located. It's steps from Piazza Duomo and everything else is within walking distance. The staff is wonderful, helpful and friendly, and all speak English quite well. Our room was very clean, cozy and comfortable with an English TV channel, a great bed and thick, fluffy towels in the bathroom (which had beautiful tiles in the shower). Right outside of our room there was a computer and printer to use free of charge if you didn't want to use the complimentary wi-fi.
And now for the breakfast...this was our seventh trip to Italy, each to a different area of the country, and we have never had a better breakfast. The buffet extended the entire length of the room. After feasting on the fresh fruit, cereals, cakes and other temptations, they brought out the menus for the made to order offerings! It was also a view that you could hardly tear yourself away from in order to start your touring for the day. I tried to come up with something helpful for their suggestion questionnaire but all I could think of was a box of tissues for the room since my husband had a cold. Otherwise, the Hotel Taodomus is amazing and I missed it the minute we walked out the door. I promise you will not regret booking this hotel!

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony on the street, and it wasn't too noisy for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank EJClem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Location, location, location! Impeccable service, great view, quaint upscale hotel. Taormina is a beautiful small city on a bluff overlooking the ocean and Mount Etna. The breakfast room and patio has a spectacular view.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jagdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Hotel Taodomus is a beautiful place to stay. The location is perfect. The food is amazingly delicious and the assortment and choices are plentiful. The staff is not only friendly, but caring. I have to especially commend Maria, who went far out of her way to make our stay so wonderful. I do not hesitate to give the Hotel Taodomus an excellent review.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scanyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Small and friendly hotel. Very knowledgable and helpful staff. We had room 3 which had a 'partial' sea view - through the alley and past the bell tower off into the distance. Not a problem though as if you want a good view just spend time on the terrace. What a place to have breakfast - snow capped Etna in the background sloping down to the Med! Morning coffee at Costa or Cafe Nero will never be the same again. Taormina itself is a great place to spend a few days - try the walk up to Castel Mola via the castle and Santuario Madonna della Rocca, but maybe not on a very hot day. Would highly recommend Hotel Taodomus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMCI22A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
1,996 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#7 of 88 in Taormina
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taodomus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taodomus

Property: Hotel Taodomus
Address: Corso Umberto 224, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taodomus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taodomus Hotel is the ideal residence for those seeking relaxation in a refined, cosy and welcoming ambience. Located in the historical centre of Taormina and housed in an elegant refurbished residence, the Taodomus Hotel with its exclusive rooms creates a fine reminder of the warm welcoming tradition, typical of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Taodomus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taodomus Hotel Taormina
Hotel Taodomus Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing