We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Hotel Taodomus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Taodomus
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Cannot rate this hotel highly enough - small in size but huge in hospitality. Location, accommodation and best breakfast ever - all tremendous. The staff go out of their way to help whether returning rented car, suggestions for restaurants (take their advice) getting to airport or just general advice - nothing too much trouble. Only wish we had stayed longer (4 days) and used Taormina as a base from which to tour rather than hire car for first half of week.

Room Tip: Room small, no balcony but very quiet and good air conditioning. Could see Mount Etna from bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DDESP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here 3 years ago, revisited every year since, totally recommend this place. It's a small boutique hotel, lovely roof terrace with great breakfasts including cooked to order. Rooms extremely clean, good decor, free wifi, friendly staff. mini bar etc

No restaurant/bar, but you don't need that - the location is brilliant, everywhere is walkable, and it's so great to be out in the centre and then be able to walk back in a few minutes.

Good restaurants nearby (Don Ciccio in the square e.g.), mutliple nice bars near, a short walk to the main square, pharmacies and shops nearby.

It's like a Malmaison in the UK, but cleaner, better, more chic.

Our friends stayed at a far far more expensive hotel up the hill - we were so glad we didn't have to wait for shuttle down to town like they did or get a taxi back.

Rates are very reasonable - check out the reviews of this place, which are well deserved.

Tip: wifi is good, strong (we worked) and allows multiple devices connected, there's also an apply PC for anyone to use

Room Tip: First floor rooms overlooking the street are good (not noisy), we've tried both the sea view roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Taodomus hotel, and I am missing it already!! It is situated on the main street Corso Umberto, Taormina, which makes it perfect for shopping, restaurants, people watching etc. it is not far from the bus terminal and the cable car, if you want to get to the beach or travel a bit further. We were welcomed by Simona who helped us up to our room which was lovely and bright and fresh and clean, with a balcony overlooking the Corso Umberto. The bathroom had lovely soft towels and a rain shower. Breakfast was served on the terrace with lovely views over the bay and Mount Etna. There was a great selection of crepes, scrambled eggs bread etc. all freshly made every morning. All the staff were exceptional, from the receptionists, to the ladies who made breakfast to the cleaning ladies. They were so helpful, suggesting trips, booking restaurants, coming in early to make breakfast, even making packed breakfast to take on very early morning trips. They made you feel so much at home, and went out of their way to ensure you had a good time. If you are planning a visit to Sicily, I would certainly recommend this hotel. A huge 'thank you' to all the staff for making our stay a delightful experience.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, then choose a room at the back of the hotel where it is quieter. Our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here in October 2013 for 11 nights. Absolutely the best in terms of location, accomodations, breakfast and teh way the staff bent totally over backwards. They took care of all of our needs including arranging rental cars, private tours, restaurant reservations and suggestion. We could not have stayed at better place they met and exceeded all of our needs. Our room was on the street side and it was not an issue. We slept like babies. We would not consider anyplace else when we visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartK199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a small hotel right on the Corso Umberto, the main, pedestrianized street in Taormina. The rooms are small and plainly decorated, but confortable. There is no parking, but the hotel has the right to two parking spaces in a street nearby. You can use them if you book them in advance. The staff is small, but very attentive, friendly and helpful. There is a great view from the roof terrace, where there is an honour bar and breakfast is served. There are grander, more beautiful hotels in Taormina, but I would stay there again, it is great value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalTravelMan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Taodomus in Taormina Sicily

Breakfast on roof top hotel & location both highlights

We had a lovely 5 days here...Pros/Cons...

Pros: v friendly, helpful staff; clean & pleasant room with good balcony- table & chairs plus partial old town/sea view (see photo); loved tea/coffee making facilities in room - had been missing that in Italy; beautiful roof top terrace (see photo) with stunning views of sea/Mt Etna; fantastic breakfast; 1 day the staff offered to set terrace table for our takeaway lunch of pizza etc & then came up & made a pot of tea!; good location - many restaurants & cafes on doorstep...actually right below the balcony with cheerful music/singing & laughter into the evening; Ancient Greek theatre a 10 min walk (see review) as well as a shady public garden (see review); also not far to other attractions eg. Etna, Isola Is, vineyards for lunch etc; room is v small but staff offered to store a suitcase plus there was a large wardrobe with drawers in our room. A 5 night stay gave us a chance to unpack, do some laundry at a nearby place as we had been travelling for a few weeks. It was like a home away from home & we used the terrace a lot!

Cons: Costly for such a small room but considering the service/breakfast/lovely balcony, seemed comparatively ok in a v pricey town??; not sure about the lift - it seemed to take ages on the few occasions we called it - mostly climbed the stairs instead; some reviews complained about the restaurant noise etc coming from the street below - that didn't bother us as it didn't go late into the night & there are heavy shutters on the windows/air-con if you prefer.

So, perhaps if you have mobility issues ask for a room on one of the lower floors. This is a great hotel with lots of character and personalised service. Many thanks to all the staff - a holiday to remember!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NotMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taodomus, Direttore at Hotel Taodomus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear NotMolly,

We would like to thank you for the great review on our hotel and for all your positive comments about the service and our room's amenities.

In order to improve the hotel's facilities, we are pleased to inform you that from the upcoming season our lift will be replaced with a new generation model which was not available on the market until now. The new lift will be bigger and faster than the current one.

We hope to see you here at Taodomus Hotel soon!

Kindest regards

The Staff of Taodomus Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice location, we stayed on a room with balcony on the street very nice arranged, breakfast excelent (pancakes best off) and staff extremly friendly and helpfull, definetly i will like to return there sometime. To the beach we reached by hotel bus.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Serban_sn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#33 of 87 in Taormina
489 reviews
1.1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taodomus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taodomus

Address: Corso Umberto 224, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range: £86 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taodomus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taodomus Hotel is the ideal residence for those seeking relaxation in a refined, cosy and welcoming ambience. Located in the historical centre of Taormina and housed in an elegant refurbished residence, the Taodomus Hotel with its exclusive rooms creates a fine reminder of the warm welcoming tradition, typical of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Taodomus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taodomus Hotel Taormina
Hotel Taodomus Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing