We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”
Review of Hotel Taodomus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Taodomus
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2009

My Fiance and I have just come back from Taodomus, we went to Sicily for an Irish Wedding, my Fiance's brother was getting married. We chose Taodomus from a selection on Tripadvisor because of the rave reviews that accompanied it, They offered two types of 'superior sea view rooms', different colour schemes being the difference, but in all honesty, all we could see was in inch of sea, you could cover it with your thumb if you close one eye, peeking between two buildings, the actual superior view was from the breakfast terrace on the roof....we felt we were a little mislead, agreeing amongst ourselves to pay that bit extra for a nice view...I would actually go for a street view in future as there is a very noisy al fresco restaurant at the back too..all you can hear in the morning is bottles clanging and at night people eating and laughing as they do on a night out-naturally. This is the only thing I wanted to stress before writing my review.

The Staff welcome upon arrival was so so friendly, check in was as quick as taking one breath and our bags were swiftly taken upstairs by the receptionist himself in a jiffy and we were shown around our room. It was very humid and muggy that night and the air-con unit was so delightful I could have cried! Lovely cool air to sleep soundly, the light hum of the machine acted as white noise to block out the restaurant noise below. We had robes, slippers, a minibar which surprisingly was very reasonable considering you pay through the nose for minerals in Italy/Sicily, be prepared to pay up to €4 for a Coke in some places. The bathroom is perfect, toiletteries resembled L'Occitane, high quality. lots and lots of fluffy towels, option of a clothing line in the shower that you pull out and latch onto the other side, bedae and lots of storage.. the shower was a little small, but meh... it was a good shower! Our Bed was superking, nice and firm, I have a bad back and I found it to be one of the most comfortable beds ever! I loved the wardrobe, it was all hand hainted and had an armoire look, wooden and antique looking there was a sadfe and a cloth box to hold your delicates be it socks, panties or even jewellery (bangles and evening bags, which was my choice). In the evenings, we loved to open the balcony doors and sit out and drink wine with peanuts and soak in the warm air and atmosphere.....trying not to notice the noisy restaurant, which by the way do great Pizzas :)
I loved Breakfast, you go up to the top floor, and greeted by a lovely Italian Mama type lady who makes great Cappuccinos or Caffe con latte's, you have a buffet with lovely juice, youghurt, fresh fruit (uncut as is) choice of teas from a tea box, Cereal, Melba Toast, Salami, Peppered cheese, pesto's, bruschettas, sun dried tomatoes and olives, bread rolls, croissants with Nutella or marmalade, cakes, and sometimes little coconut Macaroons with cherries in them, delightful, they even have a panini maker so you can assemble it and toast it yourself, how you like it. After breakfast you can walk a few feet over to the balcony, sit down and savour your latte while you take in the views of Mount Etna, or the beautiful bay....stunning view.
Security is always great because the reception is tiny, to the staff get to know everyone personally and the dooor is always locked so you have to buzz yourself in.

If you have a wheelchair they have a small service lift but its not altogether a wheelchair friendly hotel not child friendly, lovely for a romantic break as they had wonderful evenings where there was a tea party on the roof free of charge and we were offered complimentary prosecco...on departure we were even given a jar of Sicilian Marmalade, I couldn't help but hug her, it weas like saying goodbye to a family member...I have to go back!!!


Taormino in General is quite expensive, being Irish I almost danced a jog in the local supermarket 'Punto' which used to be a Standa when I sawe a large bottle of Bacardi for around €10, being €25 in Ireland! Wine is also dirt cheap! If you want to eat out DO NOT go to Cafe Wunderbar unless you want to pay € 6 for a coke...stay away. Dont eat at restaurants on the main street, we found the best places were down the side streets, they have to struggle to be noticed so the food is often cheaper and BETTER! We loved Mamma Rosa's love;y seafood and Risottos, offering a complimentary bruschetta and breadsticks while you eat, they open at 6 for dinner so we went to Osteria da Rita to have a glass of wine first-down the lane further and with a €3 glass of delicious wine we were given a bowl of crisps AND a little slice of pizza which was to die for because we were starving, the chef is amusing, looks like Benicio Del Toro in 'Fear & Loathing in Las Vegas' and looks a tad drunk too but he was lovely, we actually drooled at him eating a piece of pizza on the steps in the sun, I smiled and laughed with my thumb up ande said ' molto bene si?' (very good yeah?), next minute we were given a portion each FREE! :) I love Sicilians, another couple of eateries were Casa Nova where they had a € menu, lovely Pasta....

Opposite Taodomus is a wonderful Gelataria and their lemon Gelato is the best we found!

A great tip is to go to Punto Supermarket (exit hotel, take a left through the arch and take the second street on the left op the hill) Get some sourdough bread, some brie, some ham or Mozzarella and Pommadaro (tomatoes) a good bottle of wine, some chocolate and head down to the beach on a cable car , get a sun chair on the beach for €8 for the day and have a nice day on the beach :)

Either way you'll LOVE Taormina, the people are so friendly, you get to know all the restaurant staff and got o TIME OUT bar in the Evenings, ask Tony to make you a 'Sarah Special' (prosecco and strawberry crush) or try their Mojitos, yum. The best. Time Out is an Irish bar with a Beer garden (where I became engaged :) )it's so romanti, orange trees with lights in them, great service, great food, the Pasta, Bruschettas, Tiramisu and Onion Rings are gorgeous, they make them fresh, no frozen food and Tony uses mint fresh from his own garden for your Mojitos...he's even a wedding planner!!!!

Next Holiday you make...definately go to Taormina!!! If you want to get Married there, definately go to Tony!!

I do hope you found this helpful!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sarah-shadylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taodomus, Owner at Hotel Taodomus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2009

This is the first time we are replying to a comment on tripadvisor and we would like to use this opportunity to thank you all for supporting us, encouraging us to grow and improve our services through the various feedbacks we have received on this site.
We found it important to respond to some comments in order to give some clear information about our hotel to any interested user. Dear Sarah-shadylady and Ryan176, thank you for your positive feedback even if we did not understand why you wrote two different reviews with a similar title, giving the same exact feedback. Regarding the question of the sea view: contrary to what you said, we would like to clarify that it is possible to have a sea view from this room. However, as the room faces one of the most central parts of Taormina (the old Jewish quarter) from which it is possible to see balconies, church towers and other buildings, thus not allowing a full panoramic view of the sea from the room’s private balcony, (from which a complimentary breakfast can be served, if requested). Such a view on the other hand adds a touch of magic to an already romantic atmosphere. We will be happy to send recent photos of the room and the view seen from it, upon request. We would also like to say that we are working rigorously in order to render our rooms, located in centre of Taormina, as soundproof as possible, for the benefit of our guests.
Some people wrote to us enquiring about how well you can hear the sounds coming from the outside. We actually find it difficult to respond to this question, as every person has a different sensibility to sounds and noise; the “ noise” not being constant, but variable during the day and the seasons and therefore unpredictable.We can also add that many of our guests have stayed and relaxed in that same room, without complaining about external sounds bothering them. A hotel situated in the historical centre of any major Italian touristic village will never be completely unaffected by external sounds.
Finally, we would have certainly appreciated if you would have told us your complaints during your stay in our hotel; we would have done everything possible, in order to solve any problem you might have had, just to make sure your stay with us could have been even more pleasant. We are really sorry that the small led light of the fire alarm system gave you trouble sleeping, but the system is functional and efficient and follows the national legislation on smoke detectors. Rest assure however, that if you would have mentioned it, we would have found a solution for that problem too.
Last but not least, you wrote you found Taormina and our hotel pricy. Regarding our hotel’s prices, I would like to remind you that for this room you received a discount of 30 Euros as you booked early and took advantage of a special offer, so basically you paid the price of a standard doubleand got a nicer room.
As you have well described in your list, the hotel offers quality services which are clearly visible, also in the small details: from the abundant and genuine breakfast to the friendly minibar, toiletteries set, along with the bath robes and the slipper found in the sea view rooms.
Taodomus is a small and refined three star hotel, that has been created for a limited number of guests which look for an elegant and informal hotel that offers a quality service at a reasonable price for those who choose to stay right in the centre, of one of the most exclusive and beautiful historical towns in Italy.
As many have emphasized during the years in their reviews on our hotel, what makes it special is the devoted attention of our staff to every single guest, for we work passionately with a strong emphasis on hospitality, a quality which can not be valued in terms of stars or prices.

Your faithfully,
Mrs A.O. Sturiale (owner) & the Hotel Taodomus staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 544 of 923 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2009

We had a really good time staying at the Taodomus, this is a small but charming family run hotel located right in the heart of Taormina. I found it fairly expensive for a three star hotel but given its location and the time of year we stayed I don't feel it was too unreasonable.
The Hotel staff are what make this place shine they made us feel really welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them.
The Interior of the hotel and the rooms are elegant and well finished and all areas immaculately clean and tidy.
I did have a few minor niggles with this otherwise fine establishment.

1: I was disappointed with the sea view I paid extra for. I don't consider being able see a patch of sea no wider than your extended thumb to be a "superior sea view".
2: The shower cubicle is far too small.
3: The smoke detector above the bed has two flashing amber lights that are extremely irritating in the dark when you are trying to get to sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryan176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

When you think Taormina it's all about the view. It's simply fantastic. But when you can put together in one picture the beautiful sea, the golf of Giardini Naxos and mount Etna then you fell the real spirit of this city. Taodomus is the best decision: excelent accommodation, good service, nice view. Enjoy !

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voaleta_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

If you do not need to get to the beaches, this location is superb. We parked in the big parking deck and quickly made our way (just a couple of hundred feet) to the Taodomus. The staff was very polite and helpful. When we came in late in the evening, we asked about going up to the breakfast terrace. The young woman at the desk quickly went up and opened the area for us and turned on the music.

The town was great fun...it felt like a celebration that never stopped.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachdeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Wonderful, friendly staff really made our stay perfect. Olga, Maria and Fabio were great! Beautiful rooms, with a real feeling of being at home.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tabmac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

I had such a great stay in this hotel! The sea view was incredible, and all the staff were really helpful in telling us where to go and what to see. The fact that the hotel is so central to Taormina is one of its best features. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the hotel is very secure. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJBuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

This small hotel right in the centre of Taormina was nice but there were positives and negatives to our stay here!

The positives were its great location, the staff were friendly, and their terrace was lovely for breakfast. Price wise, its not particularly cheap but then accomodation in Taormina is pricey so it is probably good enough value considering its location.

On the negatives, the rooms are quite basic with very tiny bathrooms and showers. In our room (a sea view room) we could hear very clearly any slamming doors and footsteps etc from fellow guests within the hotel as well as clearly being able to hear all of the street noise outside - a proper nights sleep was difficult and we are very heavy sleepers!!

Taormina is a really beautiful and atmospheric town but I probably would look at some other hotel options if we were to return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Troubadour1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#32 of 87 in Taormina
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taodomus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taodomus

Address: Corso Umberto 224, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range: £85 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Taodomus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taodomus Hotel is the ideal residence for those seeking relaxation in a refined, cosy and welcoming ambience. Located in the historical centre of Taormina and housed in an elegant refurbished residence, the Taodomus Hotel with its exclusive rooms creates a fine reminder of the warm welcoming tradition, typical of Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Taodomus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taodomus Hotel Taormina
Hotel Taodomus Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing