We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SAT excursion to Panarea & Stromboli”
Review of SAT Group Tours

SAT Group Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$36.51*
and up
Mount Etna Day Trip from Taormina
Ranked #2 of 15 Shopping in Taormina
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sat Group is the only one in Sicily acting as transportation company, as well as Destination Management Company and travel agency IATA member, specialized in supporting the incoming tourist flow. With over 30000 passengers per year, Sat Group offers the most important multilingual excursions program towards the major Sicilian destinations with guaranteed departure from Taormina area. The excursion's quality is guaranteed by the use of a team of tour leaders and local guides directly trained by the company for every single site.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SAT excursion to Panarea & Stromboli”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Giovanna from SAT helped me choose this tour as a surprise or my partners birthday. Her communication with me was brilliant from the outset. She kept in touch by mail to confirm that the trip to the islands were still going ahead. She did say the weather was uncertain so if we were worried about the sea state we could change our tour on the day. You couldn't ask for more than that. The bus and large boat was comfortable and our guide was lovely. Fantastic commentary throughout the whole trip. The weather was mixed and unfortunately the captain made a final decision due to low cloud we couldn't see the explosions in the evening. It didn't spoil our day. The guide even took us on a lovely walk around Stromboli which was great., I must make one point. Anyone who misses the boat when leaving either island, it's their own doing. The message from the captain and guide is very clear and they repeat several times the time the boat departs. SAT really looked after us and the driver even took a call from our taxi driver on our way back to Taormina to check what time we would get back. The driver gave him the time expected and our driver was waiting to take us back to the hotel. A long day but great interesting tour. Would definitely use SAT next time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freetraveller39, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at SAT Group Tours, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Customer, we would like to thank you very much for your useful review regarding the tour to Panarea & Stromboli you have done with SAT Group. With great satisfaction we read your feedback with all useful information for us and other clients. . Regarding the tour you have chosen, we are proud to affirm that our company represents the ideal way to visit the Aeolian Islands so difficult to reach and visit two of them in one day. When travelling on our buses everything becomes smooth and organized and one can relax being carried around with all specific explanations. It was a pleasure to take care of you and your partner! Thanking you again for your kind support and hoping to having you onboard again soon, Giovanna and staff send you the warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    43
    27
    19
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Full Etna tour- mixed feelings.”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We took the full 90 euro Etna tour from Taormina, which included the drive up to Silvestri craters, 20 minute break there, and then the cable car and jeeps up the mountain for more craters. Afterwards you are taken down back to Silvestri craters and have about an hour of free time there. While overall I did enjoy the tour and found it interesting, I was not necessarily overwhelmed, and I am not sure it was worth all that money. IMPORTANT DISCLAIMER- it was a cloudy day, and so there were no views to speak of once you get to the top. You still see the craters and the nearby mountains, but that's about it.

Therefore, if I was doing this again and it was cloudy, I would opt for the cheaper version of the tour (30-35 euros?) that does not include the cable car and jeeps. The Silvestri craters that you are taken to before the ascent are not much different from the ones higher up, and it seemed like there were certainly plenty of areas to explore nearby. On a sunny day it is probably worth it to do the full tour and go up.

Our guide in the bus was knowledgable and entertaining, and he shared a lot of information about Etna while we were driving there in Italian, German and English. Our guide at the top of the mountain, not affiliated with SAT, was far less enthusiastic and probably contributed to me not being crazy about that portion of the tour.

If you did not bring proper footwear and clothes for the tour, you can rent it at the cable car station, so don't stress about packing hiking boots and windbreakers if the only hiking you'll be doing while in Sicily is on this tour. Having said that you probably should bring a sweater, as my friend was still cold even after renting a jacket. It could be EXTREMELY windy at the top, so if you tend to get cold easily, take that into consideration.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Alenchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freetraveller39, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at SAT Group Tours, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hello Alenchik, your review contains important advises and suggestions for other travellers and we thank you very much for having posted it. Although we have the feeling that you have rated the meteorological conditions which have the priority in this kind of a tour all in the nature. The excursion to Etna is obviously so much related and affected by the meteorological side that, we do think, that represents half of the success of the tour itself. We are sorry that you could not have been overwhelmed by the incredible beauty at the top of the highest volcano in Europe, could not enjoy the boundless panorama 360° that embraces Catania and the Aeolian Islands at the same time and could not look into the valley of the Bove to see where all the flows of lava end after coming out of the craters. That would have been for sure overwhelming! This is a good reason to come back on Mount Etna with a better weather. Regarding the Alpine guides on top, not affiliated with SAT as you say, they have the duty, following the official rules, of supervising and protecting the tourists from the danger of the volcano and, of course, are not supposed to entertain. We are glad that your judgement on SAT Group is overall positive and we hope to have you soon onboard again. Warm regards from Taormina. Giovanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ourense, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great excursion at reasonable price”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We made the full etna tour. All was as expected. Great staff and free time enough. Good advices for eating and more. Better doing the full experience ( funivia and jeep cars to higher craters cause you save money instead on doing by yourself). Special thanks to Massimo at Corso Umberto. He was very kind and helpfull with another issue that did not have to do with the excursion itself.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CARLOSOurense_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freetraveller39, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at SAT Group Tours, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Customer, it is really a great satisfaction and an incredible reward to read your appreciation towards the service our company has provided.
That's the best advertising for our company and our tourist destinations!
Thank you for all the tips you give with your review, they are very useful for our potential customers.
Besides that, we wish to thank you for rewarding our staff who try always to give the best.
In this occasion, we have already passed your review to Massimo who appreciates and is very grateful to you.
Hoping to have you on board again and soon welcoming you back in Taormina, we take the opportunity to send you our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SAT Etna Sunset Tour”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I loved this tour. We booked when we were in Taomina and the gentleman we booked with was very helpful. Once on the tour the guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. We were given some time to explore some of the lower craters before heading up to 3000 ft. The guides that took us up were again friendly and full of interesting information. I wonderful experience with the ground steaming and smouldering underneath you. I want to do it again! I had researched this trip so I knew to take warm clothing and sturdy boots but lots of people weren't prepared and despite being advised to hire clothing they shivered on the trip and just wanted to go back down so do take a warm coat and boots, the ground is pretty tricky to walk on.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Xjumeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freetraveller39, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at SAT Group Tours, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Customer, your review really rewards our constant effort in doing our job as best as we can.
It was in fact a real pleasure to receiving your feedback on the excursion Etna Sunset.
Thank you for giving precious tips to other potential clients and for doing a great advertising to us!
It is in fact very important to know that going to Mount Etna, especially during the evening you absolutely need warm clothes since it can reach very low temperatures.
So, thank you for the tips to other interested customers.
We are happy to send you our warmest regards, hoping to having you onboard again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had trouble booking online so could not make the most of an advertised discount. It was an enquiry form and we received no reply. As we weren't completely sure which tour we wanted we waited till we arrived in Taormina to book. In the little shop on Corso Umberto the staff were friendly and we booked our trip with no problems whatsoever.
We took the Etna trip. We stopped on the way to a roadside stall out of someone's car to 'try some honey' - this seemed strange as it was not advertised, no-one requested it and it only made our journey take longer. I don't think anyone bought any.
Once we arrived at the first level of Etna we had some time to buy some lunch, although none of the places there seemed very nice - sort of service-station style. Plenty of tacky souvenirs too!
We then met back up with the SAT tour guide who led us to the cable cars and handed us each a ticket which lets you onto the cable cars. When you get to the top we followed the flow of people onto the jeeps and were taken to the top of Etna. Although SAT says that there are no tour guides, we followed round a very knowledgeable employee who did give us a tour with lots of information and pointed out all the interesting features.
After a route around the craters we got back on the jeep and back down the cable car. We still had some time before meeting back with the coach so we walked to another crater which is lower down (I believe this is all you see if you don't pay for the extra bit up to the top).

A good trip if you don't have your own car to get to the area, but if you do I think it would work out much cheaper to drive there and buy a cable car ticket once arrived, as the SAT tour doesn't offer anything other than the drive up there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freetraveller39, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at SAT Group Tours, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Eleanor, first of all we would like to thank you very much for your precious feedback that is very useful for improving our organization, at the same time we are glad to have the possibility to reply with our comments back. Regarding the first point related to the online booking, we are about to finalise the system that will allow to directly enter the booking step without sending the form. Regarding your form, we are profusely sorry if you did not receive an answer as your request has probably been filtered by the anti spam system. We receive an average of 30/50 requests everyday that we try to despatch within 24 hours. Considering that your booking was made in a peak period we can explain that the missed form was due to an accumulation of requests. We will try to better control this. Regarding your comment on the honey vendor, it is, in fact, something that we do not advertise on our brochures, it was just a idea of the tour leader, when seeing the typical way of selling local products, thought that it could have been interesting and a “plus” for the guests to try and stop for few minutes, just to show a bit of folk. Regarding your consideration about the cost of the tour if made individually, we do believe that getting to the top of mount Etna it is more convenient with SAT Group. If you decide to hire a car, the cost for a day of rental is about Euro 60,00 total then you will pay the ticket for cable car and the jeeps Euro 65,00 per person because you are individual and not belonging to a group. So if you are two people in the car each person will pay Euro 30+65 for a total of Euro 95,00. If you travel with SAT you pay Euro 85,00 to the top of mount Etna, because we have a special fare for groups and you also have an interesting explanation by the tour leader onboard in your language and you do not have to be stressed in driving in very curvy routes. This matter has been analysed in many occasions and still we want to underline the importance and the economical convenience of travelling with us instead than individually.
We wish to send you our warmest regards, hoping to welcoming you back in Taormina.
Giovanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SAT Group Tours also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to SAT Group Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing