We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Terra Rossa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Terra Rossa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Terra Rossa
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Terra Rossa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Having just got back from a 10 day holiday staying at Residence Terra Rossa, I have to say it was a really lovely and beautiful experience. We were staying in an apartment (no. 16) which had the most incredible views of Isola Bella, and the sea itself more generally, along with a little covered patio area outside our door. Our room was a fantastic size, with a cute/quaint little kitchen, the perfect size for the two of us.
Yes, people will always complain about the stairs up to down or down to Isola Bella, but the fact is that Taormina is situated on the side of a big hill, so regardless of where you stay, unless you just spend the whole time either at the bottom or at the top, you will have to climb stairs at some point during your stay. We came prepared and brought trainers with us, which made the climb up and down to town much easier - the walk only takes about 10-15 minutes, and always has fantastic views.
The pool area was lovely, again with incredible views, lovely plants, and a nice little shady area in case it gets too hot in the summer sun. My only slight niggle would be the loungers by the pool, they're not made for lying on your front - but you can lie on the ledges around the side on your front so this really isn't an issue.
The plants, trees and shrubbery on the grounds of Terra Rossa are truly gorgeous, and whoever maintains it does the most fantastic job! There's always lots to see and discover, from lizards to bees and little birds, and little seating areas dotted around so you can enjoy a nice glass of wine or your dinner with some views.
Everyone that worked at Terra Rossa was super friendly and accommodating, always willing to give recommendations and advice on what to do and see. In particular, Costanza was so helpful, friendly and always went the extra mile. She gave fantastic tips on some beach clubs to visit and trips to take, and always remembered what we'd been doing in the day and asked how our day had been.
I would absolutely recommend this beautiful place to anyone, and hope one day we will visit again.

Room Tip: Room no.16!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hb1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    51
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
43
80
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The best thing about the apartments are the view along the coastline. Otherwise there is a number of things one should be aware of or that could be improved. The nice view comes with a cost: STAIRS! About 250 down to the road to the cabelcar and an extra 100 to the beach.
A few things to be aware of if you come in a car: The road down the the apartments is very narrow. We had asked for a parking lot in advance, but there were not room for the car inside - park at the parking lot 100 meters up the road instead.
Breakfast doesn't start before 8:30 - fine for my brother but my kids are up and hungry at 7 o.clock.
There is no aircon and our house got very hot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed here for the second time last month and loved it. Our studio apartment had a lovely view of Isola Bella which we enjoyed with breakfast every morning. Having a pool to relax by on the 'easy' days was great. Atmosphere was nice and quiet with the hustle and bustle of the town centre a 10 min walk if you wanted to join in the fun.

Rooms were nice and clean and well equipped (although our friends who stayed next door to us needed to borrow some bits and pieces from us). For this price what you get is well worth the money. There was no aircon in our room but there was a big ceiling fan over the bed. We used the fan every night while we were there (mid-September) and it was fine, but it would be pretty warm at night in July/August.

The beach is close by with a quick walk down the steps to reach it. Of course the return journey is a bit harder on the way back up! Toarmina is situated right on the side of a hill so pretty much everything is above or below you - so bring comfy walking shoes wherever you decide to stay!

To the owners - add a dustpan and brush to the equipment list for the rooms - would be great to be able to sweep up regularly instead of just when the cleaning girls call around. :-)

Bottom line - if you want a nice, clean quiet place to stay while enjoying Taormina and Sicily, this is a great place to stay. So nice that we came back a second time!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Isola Bella when booking - the view every morning is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hatcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Had a lovely time staying in the apartment with the most fantastic views. The apartment is very basic but reasonably priced, convenient for the town and beach and has all you need. I would visit again. The appartments could however do with some improvements - a satellite Tv and DVD for rainy days, wifi in the rooms, and more utensils in the kitchen. Finally the bathroom needed updating, the shower was a bit off a dribble. The booking agent was a little unresponsive and didn't provide enough information or support. I would not use Italian rentals 4U again and would instead book directly via info@residenceterrarossa.com.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I am from Sydney, Australia and was recently staying at these beautiful apartments in Taormina over Easter with my family and it is the best family vacation we have had in a long time. The views were breath taking to wake up to every day and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

The location is great - half way between beaches/bays and the beautiful city of Taormina.

Weather was pleasant and allowed us to enjoy a really relaxing Easter together. I would definitely go back again and highly recommend this Residence to other families that enjoy great quality for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: For a larger family request room 39.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

This is a beautiful collection of apartments and villas (one bedroom and two bedroom) set in a stunning sub-tropical landscaped estate. The view from the two bedroom apartments is breath taking.Each one has a large private balcony/terrace with garden furniture provided. The rooms do not have air conditioning but all rooms enjoy a roof fan. In April with temperatures around 24to 26C it was no problem. The bedrooms are not luxurious and the kitchen is fairly basic but certainly more than adequate for week/fortnight stay.
The pool is 6m x 12m and has a large terraced area with reclining seats provided.
When we stayed (in April) the complex was really quiet with perhaps 3 or 4 other parties staying. Could do with a brush and shovel to sweep the apartment out during your stay.
I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Apartments 2 & 3 have the most spectacular views from their private terrace over the beaches and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Terra Rossa is a complex of about 15 cottages built on a hill side. It is run by a friendly family, which gives it a cosy, non-corporate feel. The hill itself has magnificent views over the bay below Taormina. Point your camera outside your window, and you will have a postcard without any further effort. The plants in the garden are lush and mediterranean.

Interiors are basic; the cheaper kind of fittings and utensils (e.g. TV of some unknown Chinese brand with only 3 Italian channels on it). You can hear the people in rooms below you.

Location: a 5-minute drive to Taormina. Beware though that this is via a narrow, and at times steep, back road with sharp bends. This means that you may have to back up a few times with some heavy manoeuvering. Local drivers are not aggressive, but it can be a bit stressful.

You can also walk down to the beach, which takes quite a few stairs. I did it with a baby up and down, which was just about manageable.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view. While the gardens are beautiful, it would be a shame to miss the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeBelgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Terra Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Terra Rossa

Property: Residence Terra Rossa
Address: Via Bongiovanni 12, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Terra Rossa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Terra Rossa's studio apartments are situated in a typical mediterranean garden. The pool with solarium has a wonderful sea-view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Residence Terra Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Terra Rossa Hotel Taormina
Residence Terra Rossa Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing