We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forgettable experience”
Review of Hotel Gallodoro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taormina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Gallodoro
Ranked #63 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Forgettable experience”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked here for 5 x nights, but found the room depressing, due to failure to have any brightness or indeed life in the rooms. The rooms are "tired" and small, I would suggest 2 stars is being very kind. The internet was a problem, and the view to the sea is cut off ; due to the hotel in front, which precludes seeing the shore etc.
The breakfast is very simple, with orange juice, coffee, 1 x boiled egg and bread with jam
The staff are all friendly and we must say that was the high spot, as they cannot assist enough…
While the hotel is conveniently placed, close to the beach and the cable car, we book out and moved to another hotel which had fabulous views and bright sunny modern rooms where we are happily ensconced

Room Tip: Try another hotel with great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

What a treat this was. Simple rooms, but with everything you need: air-conditioning, ensuite bathroom, view of the sea. Small, but has what you need. Very reasonable room rates. Staff that can't do enough for you - whether it's fetch you a drink, or help you find your way. Breakfast that you can take whenever you like.
It's relaxed and laidback and friendly.
Only a cabecar trip up to Taormina town, and a few steps from the beach, but quiet and peaceful.
We stayed for four nights and loved it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fluffalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manson, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We just spent a week at the Gallo Doro on a combination business/pleasure trip. The hotel is conveniently located close to the cable car that goes up to Taormina and the beach is just steps away. We got a discount on the beach chairs at Il Dolfino when we mentioned we were staying at Gallo Doro. The rooms are small, but adequate, and the air conditioner worked perfectly to keep our room comfortable for sleeping. The terrace and breakfast patio more than make up for the small rooms. Staff was very friendly and helpful. A couple of tips: take mosquito repellent, aqua shoes for the rocky beaches, and pack an umbrella for the late afternoon/evening rains. There are several nice restaurants close by so it is not a necessity to go up to Taormina for dinner. Also - we used Sicily Limousine Service for a tour of Mt. Etna and transport to the airport in Catania. Claudio was the best guide and driver. Very knowledgeable and his english is excellent. On caveat - there is no internet service at the hotel. We used a cyber cafe in Taormina for access.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mansongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

I stayed here last year for about 6 days on my honeymoon. My husband suggested it as he is from Palermo and knew the area well.

Yes the place is no frills, its not 5 stars and the room are ok, but the service is fantastic, the staff are great and the location is to die for. I would stay here in a heartbeat compared to some the 5 star hotels near by where service is "typically" no included. Who wants to spend all their money on a fancy room when you only stay there 10% of the time.. Taormina is amazing..

Breakfast every morning was wonderful, overlooking the sea, eating my egg and drinking my blood orange juice. Just magic. Isola bella is 5 mins walk, upper Taormina is easily accessable by the cable car, restaurant, quick eats, whatever you want.

Would recommend this place no issues.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tangent74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

We stayed at this B&B for three nights in August while we attended a friend's wedding right there in Taormina. We can't say enough nice things about it. The staff is very friendly and helpful and provide an adequate breakfast in the morning (bread, biscotti, hard-boiled egg and coffee/cappuccino). When other guests had their luggage lost (from Alitalia), the staff was very concerned and helpful in getting it back for them.

The room doesn't have any frills but is exactly what you need. The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is that the mattress was VERY hard... like cardboard. And while I would have slept a little easier with a better mattress, I can easily excuse this because of all the other great things.

Breakfast was outside on the patio with a lovely view of the Ionian Sea. The cable car (to get you to the main drag of town) is just a few steps way. When you head back to the airport, ask them to help you with a cab... they negotiated the price for us and got us 70 Euros... a bargain compared to what we had heard others had gotten.

We fell in love with Taormina and we know that part of it is because we had such a lovely stay at this property. We highly recommend!

  • Liked — Friendly staff, excellent location, excellent views, amazing cappuccinos!
  • Disliked — The bed was very hard
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AztecsU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.0 mi away
Taormina Garden Hotel
Taormina Garden Hotel
#36 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro
#3 of 4 in Mazzaro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ipanema Hotel
Ipanema Hotel
#55 of 88 in Taormina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Arianna
Villa Arianna
#33 of 116 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gallodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gallodoro

Property: Hotel Gallodoro
Address: Via Nazionale 147/151 | Taormina Mare, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gallodoro 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Hotel Gallodoro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing