We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A treat in Taormina!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Relax on the terrace and enjoy the uninterrupted sea views
A spacious, light and airy bedroom with beautiful period Sicilian furniture
Relax on the terrace and enjoy the uninterrupted sea views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Taormina, Province of Messina, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Clare H
County Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A treat in Taormina!”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Francesca's Apartment for a week in July 2015. It was exactly as described and certainly lived up to the photographs posted by the owner. We can only reiterate what other reviewers have said. It is spacious and beautifully furnished, really well equipped with basic provisions supplied. For us, the wonderful outdoor terrace was the real attraction. Normally, we travel out a lot when we visit an area but here we enjoyed a relaxed Sicilian holiday, with breakfasts and lazy lunches in the shade of the cypress tree, taking in the lovely views. Staying in an apartment like this, visiting the local market and restaurants, far surpasses any hotel, no matter how many stars it might have!
We received a warm welcome from Luisa, Francesca's sister and Nino, her father and, while we were quite independent while there, it was reassuring to know that help was nearby if needed.
Taormina and the immediate locality are very accessible and offer lots to see and do.
We will definitely return, perhaps when the weather is a little cooler!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The outdoor terrace
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in Taormina and we would love to welcome you again in the future! With very best wishes from us all, Francesca, Nino and Luisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinadam...
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific Taormina”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I had a fantastic stay for 11 nights at Francescas apartment in Taormina. It is much larger than it appears in the photographs, tastefully decorated with period furniture and lovely and cool when the sun is blazing outside. The outside area is quite superb and we spent an equal number of evenings having meals on the veranda and eating out in Taormina. Best restaurants we visited were Malvasia (right opposite the only real supermarket and the other end of town to the apartment) Trattoria Don Ciccio and Il Baccanale. Best beach by far was Mazzeo . Take the grey beachbus from piazza San Pancrazio outside the Interbus office and get off the first stop when it reaches the seafront in 5 mins. 1 Euro per person each way. Another great bus service is the little orange one that does a circular route around Taormina every 45mins and once again is 1 euro. The great thing about this one is that it stops right outside the supermarket and will also drop you off right outside the apartment. Best place to buy fresh fish, meat and vegetables is the indoor communal market between 7.a.m. and 1 p.m. on via Cappuccini. Nino next door is delightful and will offer help or advice if you need any. All in all a great place to stay and really experience what it is like to live like a local (albeit in a fabulous apartment) in Taormina. I can wholeheartedly recommend this apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing on the veranda
Liked least: The flights
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! So great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Taormina. We hope to welcome you again in the future to Francesca's Apartment! With very best wishes, Francesca and Nino
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding the property! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Taormina and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future! Tanti cari saluti from us all, Francesca and Nino
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wilber201...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Authentic Sicilian home within the invaluable bonus of owners charming father living next door”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

After an extremely early morning flight and weary journey by bus from the airport we arrived in Taormina and called Nino who is Fracesca's father and lives in the next house. Nino flagged down our taxi as we approached our destination and helped with our bags. The villa is very spacious and well equipped with every home comfort you could need. Outside is a sun terrace with a fabulous view over the town and sea. The neighbourhood is very typical of a safe, friendly Sicilian district, including barking dogs! A 10 minute stroll gets you to the first of many wonderful restaurants but be sure to wear flat shoes as there are many undulations. We had a great short stay and had no complaints whatsoever about our accommodation and would highly recommend it. One final point - Nino was absolutely delightful and his help was invaluable. Nothing was too much trouble for him to sort out for us and he recommended we try the best resturant in town. Nino booked our table and we had a meal as 'Nino's guests' - needless to say we were treated like VIPs - thank you

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your great feedback! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay in Taormina and we hope to welcome you again to Francesca's Apartment in the future! With very best wishes Francesca and Nino
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaS...
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Seasoned travelers will appreciate this special apartment in the heart of town, yet out of the principal tourist area.”
Reviewed 12 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We can say this is one of our fave vacation spots in the world. An authentic slice of Sicilian life is served immediately by the hostess and her father with tips on places to visit, shop and walk to scenic overlooks or local beaches. Villa Francesca boasts one of the premier terraces in Taormina, rivaling the infamous Hotel Timeo (Mt. Etna from that location hard to beat). on a slope overlooking the sea. Magnificent sunrises and a well-tended patio garden welcomes songbirds of all varieties to rouse you each morning. We prefer to choose our tourist time sparingly, and loved that we can have easy access with only a short walk to town if we desire. Elegantly appointed, yet comfortable, we thoroughly enjoyed our "home away from home" for two weeks this Spring and hope to come back for even longer next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to the best local markets
Liked least: Walking distance to Naxos.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memmajane
2 reviews
“A perfect retreat, all we needed and more, incredible service from the owner.”
Reviewed 10 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

A beautiful apartment in an idel location with stunning sea views. Louisa was so welcoming and ensured we had all we could need. Taormina is a perfect holiday location, beautiful setting, plenty to explore and soak up the Sicilian culture and sun. I will most definitely be returning.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn727
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“gorgeous view from a pretty terraced garden - a memorable setting”
Reviewed 3 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Our week in Taormina could not have been better. The weather was stunning, the scenery magnificent and the apartment was everything we could have wished for and more. Nino (Luisa the manager's father) showed us through the apartment when we first arrived and then gave us many helpful suggestions about where to eat/drink in Taormina. He also had recommendations about where to go beyond Taormina. The apartment was comfortable with every room facing onto to the lovely terrace. We spent many hours outside enjoying the view. On our last night we joined the Villa Britannia guests with Nino and Luisa for drinks on their terrace. A lovely experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was barely 7 minutes walk to the main street of Taormina.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing