We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Galante

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taormina
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Galante
Ranked #87 of 114 Taormina B&B and Inns
Bracknell
Level Contributor
379 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

We spent first night in the Terrace Room which we found a little small but were then able to stay in the Sea View Room which was much better. Mike and Rose are very friendly and full of local information, The view from the terrace to the sea was stunning and being able to park safely outside a real bonus as the car park would have been expensive.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    5
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Villa Galante is beautiful, a small bed and breakfast that is run superbly by the warmest hosts: Mike and Rose.

We ummed and ahhed about where to stay and looked on Tripadvisor and i'm very glad we stayed where we did. It is a walk into town but after a big meal the walk back was probably just what we needed and in August it was great to get away from all the crowds.
It also meant we had the most spectacular view of the sea and the bay - see photos! We had the 'sea view terrace room' and it was incredibly spacious. We were only there a few days but we could have stayed so much longer!

It was the only place we stayed with a bath which was fantastic! And we had a fridge, microwave and espresso maker which were very handy.

The 'sea view terrace' I worried might resemble a little shelf, but oh no, it has a table and chairs so you can sit for hours just admiring the view. It was just what I had hoped for.

Breakfast was served on our private terrace each morning and it was just an experience i'll never forget looking at the sun shimmering on the water... (i want to be back there!!!)

Mike was so helpful and gave us some excellent recommendations which we took him up on - a restaurant at Randazzo which was a v swanky way to admire Etna and Granducca - mmm best seafood and views ever. When Rose returned from her travels we enjoyed some digestifs with the best hosts in town, really really welcoming, so sad we missed on dinner the next night!

Like I said I could live here forever...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ee-Pops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

It was good fortune that took me to Villa Galante! After climbing the steps from the street I turned to see one of the most beautiful panormas in all my experience on 5 continents. My hosts were engaging, informative, gracious and hospitable. The room was well-appointed and clean. The other guests were friendly but not intrusive. I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeyman05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

Wonderful stay at Villa Galante in Taormina. Great view with a knowedgable host. Mike's recomendations for dining, wine and travels- including bike rides- were always right on. We would love to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDB_Yakima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

Villa Galante is located a bit outside of the main tourist area of Taormina which allows for a perfect feeling of tranquility the minute you arrive! The views from the patios are amazing! The house is very well maintained by the owner, Mike and his wife. They have done such a great job making the entire area an escape with flowers everywhere – it’s really wonderful – my husband and I didn’t want to leave! And Mike is extremely knowledgeable about the area and is very helpful with recommendations for restaurants and local beaches. I highly recommend staying at Villa Galante!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdsdelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

The minute we got to our rooms, we decided to extend our stay at Villa Galante from 3 nights to 6 nights. Our room has a balcony, gives us one of the best views from anywhere I travelled before. Room is bright & spacious, so is the bathroom with a very nice bathtub. They also provide the microwave so that I can have a cup of tea in my room under cold weather, which most of the B&Bs don't provide.
Mike the owner is very helpful, on the tourist must-sees on the island and nice restaurants recommendation, however few of them were closed for the season.
Not only would recommend Villa Galante but also Taormina during winter, it's much quieter, room rates are low, stunning Mt. Etna, enjoy every minute of our stay! If I'd go back to Sicily again, I'd definately go back to Taormina and stay at Villa Galente!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaBabaRocks111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

During our 5 day stay at B&B Villa Galante we felt very privileged. The villa has three rooms to let, all decorated with style. We booked the Sea terrace room for 75 euro per night, which is a reasonable price for Taormina. The bathroom was gorgeous, with plenty of hot water.

The Villa is situated in a residential area above the city centre, a brisk walk uphill, about 20 minutes from the bus station in Taormina and 10 minutes from Umberto Corso, city centre. Allthough this provides a wonderful view, if you don´t care for walking, you´re in trouble. The roads are small and you´ll have to be careful for traffic coming through the one way streets. It´s quiet though, and we (my daughter and I) didn´t feel unsafe, not even walking after 23.00 hrs.

Don´t expect a continental spread for breakfast. You´ll have the possibility to make coffee and tea in your room and the owners will get you a fresh croissant (with or without a deliceous Sicilian filling) from a pasticceria in the village. It´s enough though to fill you till lunchtime.

The room was cleaned every morning and the coffee was refilled to make yourself some fresh coffee the next morning. We also found a bottle of water in the fridge and some scones. One afternoon we were surprised to find the beds unmade, no fresh towels and no sign of any cleaning in the rooming. Next day, after returning from our excursion we found a letter with an apology from the owner, explaining the maid had fallen sick and due to circumstances they didn´t have the change to clean the room. We found a fruit basket and some cheese. We instantly forgave the owner for the mishap.

We had a lovely time in Villa Galante and werre very sad we had so little time. We will go back!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Fawkes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.0 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Giulia
Bed & Breakfast Giulia
#27 of 114 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Britannia B&B
Villa Britannia B&B
#14 of 114 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Fontana Vecchia
B&B Fontana Vecchia
#16 of 114 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Galante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Galante

Property: Villa Galante
Address: Via F. Atenasio, 69, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Galante is located approx 220 meters above the sea and overlooks the sea toward the mainland. It is approx. 800 meters. from the center of the Taormina. All rooms have the following: In Suite Baths; Air Conditioning/Heating; Refrigerator; Hair Dryer; Microwave; Electric espresso pots; Table and chairs. Two of our rooms have the following: Outside terraces; Sea Views. Check In is after 1300hrs. Check Out is 1100hrs. We accept Cash, Visa, Mastercard and Bancomat. Information about our rooms. All rooms have the following: Two rooms are doubles Sea View room will sleep 3/4 In suite baths Air Conditioning/Heating Refrigerator Hair Dryer Microwave Table and chairs Two of our rooms have the following: Outside terraces Sea Views Check In/Check Out Check in is after 1300hrs. Check Out is 1100hrs Methods of Payment. We accept Cash, Visa, Mastercard and Bancomat. Seasonal Rates Low Season:Any time except for High Season Minimum stay 2 Days. High Season: 15 July thru 15 Sept. Minimum stay 4 days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Galante Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing