We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful house”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed in this amazing B&B for 3 nights and loved it.
The owners are incredibly helpful and welcoming. Our large room was clean and comfortable - with an amazing view of Mt Etna.
The breakfast is fabulous, with different dishes each morning served on the lovely terrace.
The location is great for visiting Mt Etna and Taormina.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    24
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
68
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed for three nights in this Bed & Breakfast and we loved every minute of it. The owners were very friendly and trying to make you feel at home. Breakfast is well taken care of and ensures you don't need anything for the rest of the day. Clean rooms and stunning views on mount Etna from your balcony or roof top terrace. The villa is beautifully decorated, with a lot of attention to detail. Although the walk to the beach is 15 minutes, we did not care as it offers some good peace and quietness during the night. By car about 10 minutes away from lovely Taormina.

Rating of the swimming is not applicable as there was not one, restaurant is rated on breakfast only as this was an B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WouterAmstelveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This house was a great choice! Well located 5min walk from beach, large and neat rooms, wonderful view of the Etna from the terrace, memorable breakfast...and Salvatore & wife: a lovely couple always ready to help, taking care of every detail...they made our week unforgettable.
Great value for money, very happy with the discovery!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had a lovely 6 night stay at the Villa Chiarenza. We were made to feel warm and welcome. As many reviews have said, the house is the family ancestrial home and is furnished in an antique style, but having raised 6 daughters of her own, the Signora was relaxed about everything, although I'm sure she appreciates well behaved children. Our room (a triple to include our 6 year old daughter) was light and spacious with a small fridge and balcony overlooking Etna. The double bed was 6 ft wide, and the single bed (a day bed) was full size. Storage space for clothes and bathroom items was good. The Signora doesn't speak English, but communication was surprisingly good as she makes the effort to repeat herself, and she was very helpful with directions, good places to visit, and the best good places to park in Taormina. Breakfast included a variety of freshly prepared dishes every day, such as marmalade omelette, tomato and mozarella on toast, and marble cake, as well as the more usual bread, cheese, ham and sweet croissants. The cups for tea, coffee and hot chocolate were absolutely enormous! We mostly ate indoors, as it was a little cold outside, but we did manage to eat out on the lovely terrace in the garden twice. Parking is secure, as other reviewers have mentioned. The only slight downside is that the local restaurants are a 15 minute walk away at the beach, but it's a straight forward walk and the Signora can recommend good places to eat. The location is very convenient for the Autostrada, and yet still a peaceful haven. Would definitely recommend.

Tip - if the directions from the booking agent are generic and tell you to follow the brown signs, then be aware that the Villa is tucked away and there aren't any brown signs to follow! We were circling the town for ages! However, the location of the Villa Chiarenza is available on Google Maps, and you can email the Villa (in Italian - use a translation site like Google translate) for directions.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This was a truly charming bed and breakfast that we stayed in for two nights. We were on the top floor with a private balcony overlooking Etna. The house is historical and felt a little like a trip back in time. The owners were sweet and attentive, and the breakfast in the garden was outstanding. The hotel is set just off the toll road and works well for travelers that want to be near Taormina but want to save some money by staying outside the city. It's about a 40 minute drive from Catania airport and a great place to feel emersed in Sicily.

Room Tip: The room that we stayed in had 4 single beds and one double bed, plenty of room for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Particular-harbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Easy to find, very close to the motorway exit at Giardini Naxos, so close you are on the small road parallel to the motorway toll ticket offices. No problem with parking its in the garden area. Our room at the top was very spacious, with a good bed and balcony looking towards mount Etna at sunset. She is very helpful with ideas, directions and maps, Taormini is a quick 5 mins on the motorway & you park in one of the 2/3 large parking houses. Breakfast was great & plentiful, not just Italian sweet things ! Its 15 mins walk down to the sea at Giardini Naxos for a swim or a drink at Tysandros bar, via Tysandros 76, with his great service and snacks !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wasp2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This was a lovely place to stay for 3 days while hiking up Etna and generally exploring the wine country and quaint towns in the region. Need to have your own transportation, as this place is somewhat remote (although very quickly located off the interstate). Parking in inside their gates, which is wonderful! Rooms were spacious and lovely. We bought provisions at the local grocery and tended to eat most meals on our terrace or in our large rooms. Breakfasts were Wonderful!! Much, much better than just coffee and a sweet roll. The owners are charming people and seem to want to make your stay very nice. We completely recommend this beautiful spot! Small refrig in the room was helpful to keep waters, sodas, and beers cold!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara722003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Sirina
Hotel Villa Sirina
#30 of 87 in Taormina
315 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
47 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#26 of 87 in Taormina
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bel Soggiorno Hotel
Bel Soggiorno Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
415 reviews
2.1 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#15 of 87 in Taormina
512 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 87 in Taormina
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes

Property: Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes
Address: Contrada Bruderi 27/29, 98030, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in a typical Sicilian Baroque style, this 18th-century villa has completely been restored, with the greatest care and attention being paid to the finest details. The villa has a spacious garden (2000 square metres), embellished with a large Caltagirone vase collection with several cacti-plants, which the hostess takes care of. There are corners in the shade of pines, eucalypti and citrus-groves in which you can enjoy a relaxing moment and dedicate yourself to reading your favourite books. Furnished with antiques, the villa, formerly the Domenicians' summer residence, is now an elegant and spacious place to spend a relaxing Mediterranean break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chiarenza Maison d`Hotes Hotel Taormina
Villa Chiarenza Maison D'Hotes Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing