We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes
Ranked #45 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Very nice and spacious villa, makes you feel home. Large and very clean room, amazing view to Etna volcano.
Outstaning breakfast with personal touch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

We absolutely LOVED the Villa Chiarenza and its charming hosts Agata and Salvatore. We thought the breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the garden were amazing, the room was everything we needed for peace, view, and a good night's sleep, and we loved hearing all about the history of the villa. It is 5 minutes (by car) to the beach and all the restaurants along the Lungomare of Giardini Naxos, and ten minutes drive to the cable car up to Taormina, so location is excellent. When we said good bye after three nights there, we felt like we were saying goodbye to dear friends.

Room Tip: The second floor room with the large terrace has fabulous views of Mount Etna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dedenla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed in this amazing B&B for 3 nights and loved it.
The owners are incredibly helpful and welcoming. Our large room was clean and comfortable - with an amazing view of Mt Etna.
The breakfast is fabulous, with different dishes each morning served on the lovely terrace.
The location is great for visiting Mt Etna and Taormina.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed for three nights in this Bed & Breakfast and we loved every minute of it. The owners were very friendly and trying to make you feel at home. Breakfast is well taken care of and ensures you don't need anything for the rest of the day. Clean rooms and stunning views on mount Etna from your balcony or roof top terrace. The villa is beautifully decorated, with a lot of attention to detail. Although the walk to the beach is 15 minutes, we did not care as it offers some good peace and quietness during the night. By car about 10 minutes away from lovely Taormina.

Rating of the swimming is not applicable as there was not one, restaurant is rated on breakfast only as this was an B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WouterAmstelveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This house was a great choice! Well located 5min walk from beach, large and neat rooms, wonderful view of the Etna from the terrace, memorable breakfast...and Salvatore & wife: a lovely couple always ready to help, taking care of every detail...they made our week unforgettable.
Great value for money, very happy with the discovery!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had a lovely 6 night stay at the Villa Chiarenza. We were made to feel warm and welcome. As many reviews have said, the house is the family ancestrial home and is furnished in an antique style, but having raised 6 daughters of her own, the Signora was relaxed about everything, although I'm sure she appreciates well behaved children. Our room (a triple to include our 6 year old daughter) was light and spacious with a small fridge and balcony overlooking Etna. The double bed was 6 ft wide, and the single bed (a day bed) was full size. Storage space for clothes and bathroom items was good. The Signora doesn't speak English, but communication was surprisingly good as she makes the effort to repeat herself, and she was very helpful with directions, good places to visit, and the best good places to park in Taormina. Breakfast included a variety of freshly prepared dishes every day, such as marmalade omelette, tomato and mozarella on toast, and marble cake, as well as the more usual bread, cheese, ham and sweet croissants. The cups for tea, coffee and hot chocolate were absolutely enormous! We mostly ate indoors, as it was a little cold outside, but we did manage to eat out on the lovely terrace in the garden twice. Parking is secure, as other reviewers have mentioned. The only slight downside is that the local restaurants are a 15 minute walk away at the beach, but it's a straight forward walk and the Signora can recommend good places to eat. The location is very convenient for the Autostrada, and yet still a peaceful haven. Would definitely recommend.

Tip - if the directions from the booking agent are generic and tell you to follow the brown signs, then be aware that the Villa is tucked away and there aren't any brown signs to follow! We were circling the town for ages! However, the location of the Villa Chiarenza is available on Google Maps, and you can email the Villa (in Italian - use a translation site like Google translate) for directions.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This was a truly charming bed and breakfast that we stayed in for two nights. We were on the top floor with a private balcony overlooking Etna. The house is historical and felt a little like a trip back in time. The owners were sweet and attentive, and the breakfast in the garden was outstanding. The hotel is set just off the toll road and works well for travelers that want to be near Taormina but want to save some money by staying outside the city. It's about a 40 minute drive from Catania airport and a great place to feel emersed in Sicily.

Room Tip: The room that we stayed in had 4 single beds and one double bed, plenty of room for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Particular-harbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
2.4 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#18 of 87 in Taormina
545 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#14 of 87 in Taormina
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#26 of 87 in Taormina
704 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Sirina
Hotel Villa Sirina
#33 of 87 in Taormina
328 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Chiara
Hotel Villa Chiara
#59 of 87 in Taormina
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes

Address: Contrada Bruderi 27/29, 98030, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range: £97 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in a typical Sicilian Baroque style, this 18th-century villa has completely been restored, with the greatest care and attention being paid to the finest details. The villa has a spacious garden (2000 square metres), embellished with a large Caltagirone vase collection with several cacti-plants, which the hostess takes care of. There are corners in the shade of pines, eucalypti and citrus-groves in which you can enjoy a relaxing moment and dedicate yourself to reading your favourite books. Furnished with antiques, the villa, formerly the Domenicians' summer residence, is now an elegant and spacious place to spend a relaxing Mediterranean break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Chiarenza Maison d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chiarenza Maison d`Hotes Hotel Taormina
Villa Chiarenza Maison D'Hotes Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing