We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Tuscan Dream Come True"”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Cynthia80...
Somers, Connecticut
1 review
“A Tuscan Dream Come True"”
Reviewed 2 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We can't even begin to put into words how truly wonderful our stay at Giusi's & Dario's dream cottage in Tuscany was! Upon our first glimpses of the Villa, it proved to be more than we even imagined it to be. We had spent weeks, and countless hours searching for the perfect Tuscan Villa, which we would call "home" for one glorious week. When we found this Villa, we knew it was "the one"! The photos simply do not do it justice. (even thought they are simply gorgeous!)
Giusi' & Dario's Villa is immaculate, perfectly equipped, is beautifully ladscaped, has a lovely terrace with sweeping, breathtaking views, and even has a gorgeous swimming pool that was enjoyed by all!
Giusi and Dario are the most wonderful people, very warm and welcoming, but never intrusive in any way.
Rupert and Donatella are wonderful to work with, and make the entire process of renting a villa in Tuscany a pleasure.
We were delighted to be able to enjoy an incredibly delicious home cooked meal prepared for us by Giusi, which was the absolute best that we had in Tuscany!!
This Villa is aptly named "A Dream Cottage in Tuscany", for this is truly what we felt it was a glorious drem...a dream come true!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The glorious breathtaking views!
Liked least: The matresses are a bit too firm, but we adjusted to them in a couple of days.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakklein
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“We loved our stay at Giusi & Dario's”
Reviewed 12 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We rented this villa for one week in late June-early July, 2012, and we had a lovely, lovely visit. The house is perfectly furnished and attended, with loving details in every room. The main kitchen has everything we needed for a few nights of dinners and other meals, and the bedrooms were perfect for our family as well.

The landscaping is gorgeous, and the location of the house is perfect (10km outside of Cortona), as long as you don't mind some driving to/from the house to town. The house is down a rock driveway about 1 km from the main road, and is extraordinarily quiet.

It was very hot during our stay, and the air conditioning in the house (units in the main living room and 2 bedrooms) made it easy to deal with the heat, even at night. (We were charged 50 Euro for our irregular use of the AC, which seemed high, but I certainly wasn't going to argue about it.) The heat caused a great number of bees and wasps to visit the swimming pool, so we actually had to avoid the pool during the hottest parts of the day. I think this is relatively unusual, but we are not a family that likes to mess with wasps...

We met Giusi -- she doesn't speak much English, but we were able to communicate about the important parts of the house, including the wi-fi, which is pretty good. I don't know what we should have done to get cooking classes arranged, but this seems like something we should have done, as there is a professional kitchen in the lower part of the house.

All in all, a great place! My only real criticism would be that the mattresses really do need to be replaced. They were causing several of us hip pain by the end of the week...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the quiet.
Liked least: The bedding needs upgrading.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Reviewed 18 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed 6 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RamblingS...
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Un Sogno Toscano”
Reviewed 9 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Guisi and Dario's house is the dream Tuscan rental. It is tucked into a hillside on the idyllic farm of the owners where in the distance the hill of Cortona and the lights of the valley are visible. The open terrace is positioned perfectly for dramatic sunsets and candlelight dinners. A lovely trail behind the house leads to a spectacular view of Lake Trasimeno. We found Donatella (Guisi's sister) and her husband Rupert who manage the property to be warm and accomodating. The directions to the house were perfect and Guisi met us and showed us the house and made sure we were settled into our perfect week. I had asked that the pool be open even though it was a bit early. It was open and gorgeous and I used it every day. We have never rented a house with such a well-equipped kitchen. The bedrooms were comfortable with gorgeous old linens. The large open kitchen and living area were welcoming. There are so many special things about this house, but having Guisi come and cook for us and teach us how to make some of her amazing specialities was at the top of the list. The dinner was spectacular from appetizers during sunset to the final tiramisu, fruit and baci chocolates! One night Guisi arranged a taxi driver from the local village of Montinare to drive us to and from Cortona for a wine tasting dinner so we did not have to drive. This is a special place with special people. A true Tuscan dream with a charming Italian family. We can't wait to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vila Park California
Reviewed 22 February 2012 for a stay in May 2006

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed 22 January 2012 for a stay in November 2008
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing