We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
21
3
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
3
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Il Palazzo was just perfect for our 2 week holiday in Tuscany - the facilities in the appartment, the swimming pool set in the peaceful garden, the bicycles that were available to borrow to ride the local lanes and field tracks, the wide selection of foods available for breakfast, the owner's family's super restaurant in Cortona and the helpfulness and friendliness of all the staff - all combined to give us a wonderful holiday. All the staff went out of their way to do everything they could to make our holiday enjoyable.

Il Palazzo is situated on the edge of Fratta-Santa-Caterina, a quiet rural village approx. 10 minute drive west of Cortona. This location gave us the chance to visit many other places in Tuscany - Florence, Siena, Assisi, Montepulciano, Bagni Vignoli, etc - all about 1 hour away by car or train. We found Camuchia station to be an easy 5 minute drive away and with plenty of free parking. Cortona itself is a beautiful town by day and night - restaurants, shops, historic buildings, the museum, churches and very steep roads.

Less than 1km from Il Palazzo, there is a delightful small shopping centre in the village which enabled us to buy everyhing we needed when we wanted to prepare our own meals in the appartment's well equipped kitchen.

We would certainly be very happy to stay at Il Palazzo again when visiting Tuscany.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have good access directly from the outside - great for eating in the open air.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The reception at the farm house was great. Simona spoke good English and explained to us everything we needed to know in the area. The apartments were very clean and well equipped. We arrived with our 5 older children & Simona gave us another apartment for the older kids on the same floor which was just great. The grounds around the building are nice and green also the pool is very clean and large. Each morning there was a nice breakfast in the small dining room. We had a wonderful time and highly recommend the place. (Hot in the summer days but there is air conditioning)

Room Tip: You should have a car with a GPS for touring in the lovely country side.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sas108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Three friends and I spent two weeks at Il Palazzo last October, using it as a base to explore the surrounding area. We loved the country setting and the farmhouse itself was just gorgeous and very comfortable. We had a two-bedroom, two-bathroom suite with a small balcony off one of the bedrooms. There was a well-equipped kitchen where we opted to prepare our own breakfast - very relaxing. The family who own the villa were so friendly and very kind to us, answering our many questions and providing much assistance. We had two dinners at the villa and they were just lovely. The family also owns a restaurant in Cortona where we had dinner twice - excellent. I would recommend renting a car given the location of the property (about a 10-minute drive from Cortona). Taxis, for both short and longer trips, are available but are few in number. Our entire experience was very positive and I would recommend Il Palazzo to any traveller. We've already recommended it to a number of friends. I really hope we get to see Simona, Gianni, and Stefania again some day.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We enjoyed our week at Il Pallazzo very much. The Tuscan palace house is lovely and well kept with high cleanliness standard. the garden with the pool clean and well exposed and secluded. Thanks Simona for the lovely meal that you arranged for all the guests.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurentVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I had the pleasure of staying here last week with my husband, 3 children and mother. The minute we drove up we all just said "Awwwww!" Even the kids started taking photos and exploring the lovely grounds and building. The apartments are spacious and stocked with everything you need. We arranged ahead of time for Simona to prepare a light meal for us the evening we arrived. It was delicious and so convenient to relax with local Italian wine and food in our own apartment! Simona is celiac and was able to prepare everything GLUTEN FREE for me! She even stocked the pantry with the most amazing Gluten Free treats and bread we can't get here in the states. The hospitality everyone showed us was unexpected and absolutely fantastic! The town of Cortona is absolutely gorgeous (watch "Under the Tuscan Sun" to see it for yourself.) and a quick 10-15 minute drive. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccanouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews