We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for gluten-free, nice atmosphere, great food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Bucaccia

La Bucaccia
Ranked #2 of 99 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
478 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Excellent for gluten-free, nice atmosphere, great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We ate here twice on our trip. The first time the place we planned on was closed and we came in without a reservation. Were lucky to get a table because the place was packed. The second time we had a reservation and a much better table. Not a big place, and fills up after 8 p.m. Very nice amuse bouche with their own salumi and cheese. My husband had gluten-free pasta the first time and I had chicken-liver crostini. I had the Florentine steak which was the best we had on our extended Tuscany trip. These are just the highlights. Another dish I had the second night was the Pici with crumb sauce - excellent. This was one of the best restaurants we went to in Tuscany, especially the food. We would have gone again but they weren't open for lunch our last day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank huntejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,349
    599
    147
    57
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“La Bucaccia -- Second to None”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Hugging the Tuscan Hills near Arezzo is the little town of Cortona, and nestled in a building down the tiny medieval street, Via Ghibellina 17, to the left of the 13th century Palazzo Comunale in Piazza della Repubblica, is the RISTORANTE LA BUCACCIA with its Cucina Tipica Locale.

Stepping into the attractively inviting ambient restaurant, the wafting aromas from the kitchen tantalize your taste buds and draw you into the Epicurean experience of a lifetime. from the extensive menu and impressive wine list, you have delightfully delicious choices, followed by a wish you lived nearby to enable you to return for more… and more.

In addition to the ambience and outstanding menu, you will also be greeted by the gracious owners Romano Magi and wife Agostina who instantly make you feel like family. During our visit November 6, 2013, the benevolent owners offered all their lunch guests complementary prosecco and olio novello tastings, mozzarella which Romano “manufactured” in the dining room for our enjoyment and assorted homemade sausages, breads, and crackers. A novel way to taste the olio novello was by placing in a small dish oil pressed from green olives and oil pressed from black olives. First, you savored the green olives oil, then the black olives oil, and finally the marriage of the two -- delightful.

As we were leaving, when the Romano and Agostina heard us comment about the wonderful way to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary, they asked us to return to our table in the dining room. Within seconds, they turned on revolving “starlights” accompanied by anniversary music and presented us with another round of prosecco and a freshly baked sweet treat embellished with a candle. This we shared with the other lunch guests. Romano also took several photos of us, some of which were creatively taken through a partially filled wine glass. To top off the totally perfect culinary experience, they gave us a 2007 vintage bottle of Tuscan wine to continue our anniversary celebration after we returned home.

From the meticulously neat kitchen and restrooms to the artfully decorated dining room, this many generations family-owned restaurant is truly a credit to those who began this Michelin-rated restaurant years ago and continued today. When you are in Tuscany, go to La Bucaccia; you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hughesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Was excited to eat here - would not return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I was excited about eating my birthday dinner at one of the Top 100 restaurants worldwide per Newsweek. When we arrived, we did not feel welcome as it took several minutes for the female host (short dark hair) to pay attention to us even though we were the only ones standing at the entrance. The restaurant had a very quaint old-world décor which we enjoyed -- -until the restaurant filled and we were so cramped it was uncomfortable to sit at our table. Too many tables are in the main dining area and I feel bad for the couple that got the table right by the door. The food was good and the wine too. The server (long dark hair) was very pleasant. The male host was a bit over the top in terms of antics and loud behavior in such a small place. He did take pictures of people which they seemed to enjoy. Overall, we were disappointed. We had the feeling that it was our privilege to be there -- not their privilege to have us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SimplyPleased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
214 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Didn't Feel Welcomed...The Food Was NOT That Good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our family of four, including 2 young children ate here in September and simply put: we felt unwelcomed. That, and the food was not that good. I ordered the Pici pasta and it was good - no doubt - but I didn't find it as extraordinary as the many people on TA who raved about the dish did. I also ordered their "three servings of pork" (I'm mis-stating the name, but I don't care to find out the correct name). Here's the deal: IT'S COLD PORK MEAT! I had a hard, dry, chewy, COLD shoulder of pork...ugh.
But what bothered me was it really seemed, from the moment we arrived, that the staff did not want us, with our two little children, to disturb the atmosphere. The restaurant is small - with only ~a dozen tables. So our toddler fussing, or our baby crying, was seemingly unacceptable as it might've disturbed other diners. Sorry, but when we travel, we have to eat to, and we like to try places highly rated by TA.
Bottom line: this place may be good for couples, or adults-only, but certainly not for families...and I simply did NOT find the food that appealing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, obnoxious host”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

La Bucaccia had been recommended both on Trip Advisor and by regular visitors to Cortona, so we made a reservation via email and received a confirmation from Chef Agostina. When we arrived on time at the restaurant, the host, who in some reviews had been referred to as a "character" castigated us for missing our reservation, insisted that he'd never heard of us and that as a small restaurant our large group would be a big problem. Much of this conversation took place in Italian, and I did my best to explain back in Italian that we had a reservation, we had asked for and confirmed two tables (for easier service than 1 large one) and apologized over and over for any misunderstanding. Not a good start! Once we were seated all seemed fine, but when our food was presented the host proceeded with more over-the-top behavior, grinding pepper into our laps and carrying on with the kind of buffoonery that perhaps charms some visitors but which we found completely off-putting. When the dining room filled he continued a bit with his singing and loud joking, and then disappeared for awhile - we thought perhaps to take a breather and because not everyone was delighted with his antics. We actually wondered if he were drunk! Chef A. appeared in his place, was charming and quiet, and her food was very good...but his behavior made this a never-go-back choice for us. We asked our taxi driver and our hotel concierge about it later, and both said he was known for this, so it wasn't just our group failing to appreciate his approach. After hearing their comments I wondered if perhaps his whole schtick about missing our reservation was just part of the game, but in any case - there are better places to eat, without the clowning, in Cortona.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bucaccia also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to La Bucaccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing