We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiramasu to remember” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Bucaccia

La Bucaccia
Ranked #2 of 99 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$38
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tiramasu to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We found this on TAdvisor and thank goodness we did. Our lunch was faultless, fun and sublime service. A very atmospheric location matched by great atmosphere by the host. Thank you

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dagmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,349
    599
    147
    57
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The real Tuscan deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We went in on a wim and found a gem. Amazing local food, lots of freebies like traditional soup, homemade free salamis and prosciutto. wine recommendation were simply spot on and so reasonable!! Be prepared for a host who is a lot more of a showman than your traditional British counterpart. We were offered free grappa. Just splendid.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 786rabi786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
“2 nights in a row for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband and I visited La Bucaccia for dinner on March 21, 2014 and sat in the bar area at the fireplace table. We had such a wonderful dinner that we made a reservation for the following evening which was a Saturday night. When we arrived for our 7:30 p.m. reservation we had the whole restaurant to ourselves and Agostina and Romano were so gracious to let us take pictures with them. We also had the best table in their dining area. The food and the service is perfection and we feel that it is one of the 5 best restaurants in the world. Agostina is extremely helpful with your food and wine selections and we tried something different each night which made it a new experience with every bite. I would give this restaurant, their food and staff the highest recommendation and will recommend it to everyone visiting Cortona. Thanks again for making our vacation in Cortona so very special. The Bixler's

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolBixler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Real Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Went to La Bucaccia with a last second reservation (which you probably will need one) and so didn't have the best table, but it was still worth it. I can see why some people would think the owners are a little overbearing, but that would be a person preference thing. I like that they take an interest in making sure you are enjoying yourself and maybe trying to strike a conversation, while some might just want to be left alone. Their wine list is great, but may I recommend a local wine, Leuta, when you are there. They make several varietals so you can get a Merlot, Sangiovese, Cabernet, whatever. Anyway, the food is great and really fresh. I had Picci that had fresh tomatoes in a light sauce with sausage and just the right amount of spiciness I asked for. Been almost 6 months since I was there but still remember it like yesterday.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Renewed tuscan tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

La Bucaccia is well known for his extremely good chef Agostina as well as for the charming host Romano. The style of the food is traditional tuscan but with a touch of creativity and it is of perfect balance and taste. High attention is put in the selection of high quality ingredients in order to deliver very delightful dishes paired with a good wines selection.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bucaccia also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to La Bucaccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing