We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in the heart of Cortona”
Review of Casa Chilenne B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Chilenne B&B
Ranked #6 of 43 Cortona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I spent almost a week at Casa Chilenne last May. We used it as a base for our exploration of northern Umbria, during our 3 weeks in Italy. Despite the long flights of stairs (there is a chair lift if you want) we absolutely loved this B&B. First, Jeanette really makes you feel at home -- like you were her long-lost cousin who dropped into her world. She is full of great tips on where to go and what to do, without ever being too pushy. Her breakfasts are great -- eggs, breakfast meats, fresh breads and scrumptious pastries, fruit, yogurt, cereals, and really great capucchino. We had the very top floor room, which meant we had our own little world. The bathroom was one of the biggest bathrooms we have ever had in Italy. The lighting was excellent, the ventilation was good (a window and a fan), the fixtures and water pressure were modern, clean and strong. Plus we had storage space, which is always hard to find in bathrooms. The bed was basic, but comfortable. We had a tiny balcony, which we could dry clothes on and look out over the rooftops. The room was incredibly clean (tile floors help with that) and provided everything we needed for a several day stay.

Wehn you step out the door of Casa Chilenne, you are in the middle of everything in Cortona. Although the town can get touristy during the day, at night it is magical. Things slow down, the pace and the people seem to relax, and the views over the Umbrian plain are absolutely breathtaking. We took two day trips to other towns and the roads up to Cortona and throughout the plain are easy to follow and relatively well-maintained. The heart of Cortona is such a central location for so many sites while being full of treasures itself -- and relatively inexpensive versus other nearby hill towns. I highly recommend the archaeological museum and the Medici fortress which also houses very interesting multi-media exhibits on the history and culture of the area. We hiked up to the fortress one morning and ended up spending most of the day there (along with a side trip to the Church of Santa Marguerita.

I just love Cortona and Casa Chilenne made it extra special.

Room Tip: The top floor is a LONG climb but you have complete privacy. We peeked in the other rooms and the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

Where to start? Gorgeous B & B in the main street of Cortona.A warm welcome from Jeanette, Lucia, Carlotta and Daisy. Beautiful, Spacious room (Il Nido- Top Floor) with lovely balcony and views over the rooftops of Cortona with a HUGE bathroom, so for people that dont like the smaller european bathrooms, this will blow you away.Lovely terraced lounge/ Kitchen area for guests with magazine,s dvds, books and games to keep you entertained.Scrummy breakfast with fresh pastries and Yogurt- BUT you can also order waffles or a cooked breakfast too!! Nothing was too much trouble. Jeanette who wasnt here when i left but had told me on arriving she would be away, rang me to say goodbye and offer a safe trip. Thank you to Lucia who looked after me wonderfully.Do not hesitate to stay here. Lets hope Jeanette opens B and B's althrough out Italy!! Great views and really nice just to walk around the town. Lovely walks too in the winding roads around Cortona and up to Torreone. Only slightly sour note was the exceptionally rude and unpleasant woman in the Despar/Molesini store.An older lady who is one of the owners as I later found out and 'wonderfully welcoming" like that to all and sundry. However that is life........Thank you Jeanette and Lucia for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: I would say any room here would be fabulous...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mste161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is a top notch B&B. We arrived late in the evening after many delays flying from the USA, taking the train from Firenze and making our way from Camucia after the busses stopped running. After getting our luggage and registration taken care of Luciano and Jeanette went out of their way to give us some food and a glass of wine to stave off our hunger (many thanks!)

Casa Chilenne is centrally located on the main street in town. The town is small enough that it's close to everything. If you'll be taking public transportation the square the busses leave from is a very short walk. The tobaccoria is close as well and easy to buy bus and train tickets.

Jeanette is a fantastic cook. Each morning there are fresh local pastries, a homemade fruit torte or breakfast cake (lemon or otherwise), rolls, cheeses, yogurt, and cut meats presented in a mini buffet. Jeanette would then cook to order just about anything we wanted. I highly recommend the waffles. Eggs are prepared your way. Bottled fruit juice and perfectly prepared espresso drinks round out the fare.

The building was renovated as a B&B so it has all you really need. The rooms each have an attached bathroom with modern features. There's plenty of hot water and everything was clean. I think we even got wake up calls! We stayed 5 nights and sleep very well.

On the top floor there's a common area with table, chairs, couch and a minibar. Glass doors open on to an exterior patio overlooking the street and roof tops. We were encouraged to use the common area as long as it was prior to 10pm since there is one room on the same floor.

If you scroll through the photos people have posted you'll get a good idea of the establishment. No real need for me to add more.

Many more thanks to Jeanette for going over bus and train routes with us each morning! The Italian transportation system is a bit cryptic for those who aren't used to it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank interactive3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We arrived in Cortona by car and found Casa Chilenne easily. I went to the door and Jeanette was very welcoming and walked back to the car with me to explain the parking to my husband - then helped with the luggage. The luggage was deposited in our room and we were offered coffee and cake in the breakfast room - then we were shown to our room. It was a lovely room with quality furnishings and decoration - the bathroom was of an excellent standard - Jeanette had thought of everything for your comfort and ease in the planning of these rooms. Everywhere was spotless. I am not a dog/pet lover but felt the pooches were not intrusive in any way. The roof terrace with much reading material was much appreciated as a place to unwind for a while. Casa C is in a very central location and everything is in walking distance - Jeanette is an exceptional woman - I looked out the window in the morning and saw her leading a walking tour of the town - later she was in the Museo Diocesano gallery fielding art questions and then one afternoon she was about to give a cookery demonstration/lesson to two other guests - a woman of many parts. Do not hesitate to stay here - Jeanette really cares about your stay with her. We had an enjoyable dinner at Locanda al Pozzo Antico and Paola gave us a gift of some lovely cantucci to take away. We also ate at La Bucaccia which we really enjoyed - very lively and full of atmosphere.Thank you Jeanette.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 210,906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I recently returned from my3rd visit to Cortona and my 2nd stay at Casa Chilenne. Each room has a name and we recently stay in "il nido" this is a fabulous room with an incredible bathroom. The room is on the top floor and adjacent to a shared room with kitchen and terrace over looking via Nationale (the main street). The shared area is great for relaxing and visiting with friends. Jeanette serves a magnificant breakfast, eggs, bacon, roasted tomatoes, fresh bread and rolls, cheese and meat tray along with pastries and other home cooked baked goods. Juice, water, coffee, capuciano and tea are all available. jeanette is always around to chat and give you tips on what to see and where to have dinner. Jeanette has two adorable dogs - toy poodles - Carlotta and Daisy, theywill greet you daily. Casa Chilenne is newly renovated and it is a tall narrow buidling with a chair lift to help with luggage. I will continue to stay at Casa Chilenne whenever I return to Cortona!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We loved our stay at Casa Chilenne. Jeanette was really helpful. She cooked us English breakfast which we hadn't had for a month! The room was in great condition. It was our first time to visit Cortona. We'd love to go back again and stay at Casa Chilenne!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CockerBeachSavB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My Mom and and have been so lucky to return to Cortona for a 2nd time. Jeanette and Casa Chilenne were the reason for our return. This is the perfect place to base yourself to explore beautiful Tuscany!! Our home at Casa Chillenne was a wonderful way to start and end each day. The delicious breakfast was a perfect start to each morning and the beautiful terrace made the perfect setting each night. Jeanette and her staff could not be more helpful and accommodating. Maybe a 3rd time??

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOLAgirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#5 of 23 in Cortona
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#4 of 23 in Cortona
416 reviews
2.4 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#14 of 23 in Cortona
410 reviews
6.2 mi away
Casa Bellavista B&B
Casa Bellavista B&B
#1 of 43 in Cortona
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Corte di Ambra B&B
La Corte di Ambra B&B
#4 of 43 in Cortona
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Chilenne B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Chilenne B&B

Address: Via Nazionale 65, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range: £83 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Chilenne B&B is located in a newly restored historic building. We offer 5 rooms with private bath, air conditioning, mini bar, Satellite TV, safes, telephone , hair dryers, free WiFi and LAN cable connection to ADSL internet service. Buffet Breakfast is served daily in our private onsite breakfast room- maid service is provided daily. Our rooms are located on 3 floors and we have fit our stairs with 4 chairlifts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Casa Chilenne B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Chilenne Bed And Breakfast
Casa Chilenne Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing