We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem”
Review of Casa Chilenne B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cortona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Chilenne B&B
Ranked #6 of 42 Cortona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A True Gem”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I booked our (too short) stay based on Trip Advisor reviews and the location of the B&B. Our only disappointment is that we did not stay longer. Jeanette was a superb host and made the best breakfast (home made waffles with whipped cream and fresh strawberries) we had on our 12 day trip. Our triple room was excellent. A good size, exceptionally clean, great beds, excellent ensuite with a great shower and very nicely decorated. There were toiletries/extras you usually only get at a good hotel. The location is wonderful - hop out the front door and you are on the great shopping street leading to the main city square. It is a wonderful place, hosted with care and kindness by Jeanette and her husband. All in all, just superb.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESJEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
140
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We only stayed here at Casa Chilenne for 2 nights and all the good reviews weren't wrong. When we arrived, Jeannete was a great hostess and offered us beverages and was very helpful and recommended a few things to do in Cortona and gave us a map.
There are 5 different rooms and we stayed on the 2nd floor of the rooms which was quite spacious. the room had a safe, air conditioner, TV, full bathtub which we hand't seen so far in either Rome or Florence and a mini fridge. So far this is the best B&B yet on our trip. On the top floor there was a balcony that you could use and had a sitting area with a small kitchen and couches and a tv and books to read.
The breakfast was amazing! There was a selection of yogurt, breads and croissants, and some kind of homemade dessert and then you could get other stuff upon requests.
The 1st morning we had homemade waffles with fresh strawberries and then the 2nd morning I had pancakes and my boyfriend had bacon and eggs, all this served with cappuccinos and orange juice.
I can't say enough good things about this B&B and the hospitality and Cortona itself. Definitely a different experience than the hustle and bustle of the big cities. My boyfriend was also impressed that they had ESPN and he was ale to watch abit of the NHL playoffs, even if it was at 1 am. If I ever return to Cortona, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Jeanette is the most amazing hostess in Cortona ! We arrived in the middle of the day and she treated us to her fresh apple cake and a cappuccino ! And breakfast included fresh eggs which you don't usually find at a b&b. Each time we come to this area of Italy we stay at Casa Chilenne !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TransformedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My husband and I travel and lot, and Casa Chilenne is WAY up on our list of favorite hotel stays ever. The rooms are large and comfortable and spotlessly clean and prettily decorated; hot water is plentiful and almost instant in the shower; bathrooms are well equipped with big towels, lots of shampoo and lotion; the stairs are steep but are equipped with a chair lift (which was great for us, as we traveled with my sister who has trouble negotiating stairs). There is a well-stocked mini-fridge in each room and a lounge upstairs with loads of books, games, another fridge, microwave, etc. And that's not even the good stuff! The best part of this hotel is Jeanette. She is a lovely, warm and inviting person who could easily be a professional pastry chef. She puts out an amazing breakfast buffet, provides cooked eggs, bacon and/or waffles on request, and makes her own pastry (do NOT miss the pear and chocolate tart) at least once a day. Her husband helps with luggage, too! And the dogs... Ah, they're adorable and I seriously considered smuggling Daisy into my luggage. :-) The location could not be more convenient, either. Cortona is gorgeous (isn't everything in that part of Italy?). Stay at Casa Chilenne. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marisa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

A very late review, we stayed for our wedding anniversary in August and were lucky enough to enjoy the top floor and balcony area. Jeanette was incredibly helpful organizing taxis and recommending places to eat. This B&B is beautifully restored, with a chair lift if the steep steps inside are a little too much for you to manage. There is wonderful home baking and the very special poodle welcome all of which help make this a memorable stay. Not forgetting the gelato shop on your doorstep. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Every time we travel to Cortona, we stay with Jeanette at Casa Chilenne ! When we arrive, Jeanette greets us with a slice of her homemade apple cake and a tea or coffee. We feel so well loved ! Her breakfasts are fabulous and her hospitality is over the top.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank artbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

this review is long overdue and I have to make sure that this place gets the proper credit it deserves! a 5-star indeed...casa chilenne was by far the best accomodation we had during our 2-week long trip in europe for half the price..owner, Jeannette, took good care of us..well-fed with an awesome breakfast spread or if we are off early to catch a train we find a bag of goodies ready to go by our door..she also made arrangement for us for a regular cabbie to pick us up on our first day and arrange all other days for pick-up and drop off to the train station on our side trips outside of cortona...kudos too to mr. enzo! our train was late once and another time we missed our stop - did not hear any complaints...that is greatly appreciated when your lost in a foreign land :) ...about the house, what else can i say? everything was superb! there is an electric rail they use to send your luggage up the steep stairs (so you don't have to worry about carrying that)...we were given the Le gazze room and it was a big room..It was well equipped with the things you would expect in a room - a cabinet, in room safe, tv with cable channels and wi-fi access..that bathrooms are super clean and well-kep with a nice shower and new heating system...made to order breakfast and coffee was a treat..she was also nice enough to give us great tips on restaurants and a walking tour of the town...it was just simply an awesome experience...and it was a great decision for me to make this my home base while touring other italian towns..i love the town itself too..it is a quiet and friendly town..coming from rome, i thought everything was cheap when i came here especially the food and beverages (coffee) was half the price and with much better quality..if i have a chance to tour again, i will definitely stay here...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jello_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 24 in Cortona
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#7 of 24 in Cortona
367 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
718 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Chilenne B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Chilenne B&B

Property: Casa Chilenne B&B
Address: Via Nazionale 65, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Chilenne B&B is located in a newly restored historic building. We offer 5 rooms with private bath, air conditioning, mini bar, Satellite TV, safes, telephone , hair dryers, free WiFi and LAN cable connection to ADSL internet service. Buffet Breakfast is served daily in our private onsite breakfast room- maid service is provided daily. Our rooms are located on 3 floors and we have fit our stairs with 4 chairlifts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Chilenne Bed And Breakfast
Casa Chilenne Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing