We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent family oriented restaurant”

Trattoria La Grotta
Ranked #10 of 99 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oxford, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent family oriented restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

The food is very good and the prices are very reasonable. I ate there on a Sunday afternoon with 6 of my Italian relatives. It was like going out when I was a kid(a long time ago).We were late and the staff bent over backwards for us. The pici (a thick local spaghetti) with duck sauce is their specialty and is a must.Don't miss this if in Cortona.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shogun93278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    269
    61
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent two hour lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We actually had lunch here twice during our stay in corona. The courtyard is beautiful, but inside is cozy too. We had the house wine, antipasti, and primi and were very full, for a very reasonable price. The gelato is fabulous. Also, the best bruschetta polmodoro we had anywhere. Devine, and not touristy despite being just off the main square.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trishandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We ate at this restaurant twice during our week in Cortona. It had been recommended to us by the owner of the cottage we were staying in, so we tried it on the first night of our holiday, and we weren't disappointed. The restaurant has a pleasant outside (courtyard) dining area, but as it was a little cold we asked to be seated inside - the staff were very accommodating despite there being only a few available tables. The menu was extensive enough to be interesting, with many local specialities - everything we tried was excellent. One word of advice - don't be frightened to ask if you can share meals (each course is a meal in itself), and the staff are clearly used to it, as it seems to be what the locals do! They don't speak much English, but enough to make your dining experience relaxed, and to give some guidance on the menu and wine list, which is also excellent, and great value.

Had such a good experience, we decided to go back, at the expense of other, better rated restaurants, and we have no regrets about that decision. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A culinary treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

The restaurant is located on a petite piazza, just off a larger one. Eating outside, if weather permits, would be the nicest option, inside the restaurant feels very busy when full, as it is tiny. Staff are attentive and happy to explain dishes best they can. All food was very tasteful and well prepared and the prices are very reasonable - so good value! And what says a lot, a lot of Italians there too, so they must approve of the authentic dishes too :-) Worth the visit, for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YvoMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Lorenzo in Bibbiano
Level Contributor
216 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very Reliable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Over the years we have eaten at La Grotta many times simply because the food has never disappointed. One limited feature is the external seating area, limited and lacks any atmosphere. Inside, the restaurant is well appointed, the service is very good, the menu typical Tuscan and an adequate wine list. That said, the inexpensive house wine is very good for the price charged. The restaurant is very central and very popular with tourists and so one might hear more English spoken than Italian. That said, I would have no hesitation in recommending La Grotta for an evening meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ContadinoDiVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria La Grotta also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Trattoria La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing