We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & quiet - a balm to the soul”
Review of Novole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Novole
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Ours was a week-long "family" holiday. Three older adults and two younger adults. We were in the "convent" section of this agri-turismo and so had plenty of space to spread ourselves out. Four bedrooms, a lounge with enormous fireplace (lovely to sit by on the cooler, rainy evenings), two bathrooms, kitchen with gas stove & dishwasher and a dining area. The building is an ancient structure, completely renovated but still satisfyingly "rustic" with a really "feel-good" ambiance.

Outside on a very private terrace, under an old Linden tree, we ate wonderful local food, the table dappled with May sunshine. Tea and coffee tasted really fine in the clean, fresh air - drinking it while looking over the green valley. At night the stars were the way stars are meant to be... like diamonds on black velvet. The darkness was intense and the silence so profound.

Within easy driving distance, there are numerous historical sites, pretty villages, bountiful markets guaranteed to make a glutton of even a saint, restaurants, ice-cream etc. Ten minutes by car takes one to a smallish but very adequate chain supermarket and also to a food "emporium" specialising in delicatessen meats, cheeses, pastas, local treats, wines and everything else too. Keeping the fridge stocked was the least of our problems!! Walking around the farm and on the local roads was great to try and work off some of the excesses at the table.

With great reluctance we departed at the end of our week, wishing we could have stayed much, much longer. We said good-bye to Lucio, our host, and his family. We also said goodbye to the farm dogs who had been our companions much of the time, friendly but exceedingly well-behaved. And we said goodbye to the peace and quiet which is so hard to find nowadays, promising to return as soon as possible.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank MariaV042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2012

We spent a wonderfull week in the very romantic old convent. an old stonebuilding that was really tastefully and lovely restored to be a most confortable place to stay. It was soooooo relaxing there in the midst of beatifull green nature, the olive trees. it is perfect for walks through the countryside that are also suitable for quite little children. We spent almost our whole week up there on the hill, relaxing and enjoying the nature. our daughter still is in love with Pepito one of the many dogs. lucio (the landlord) and his family are super nice and relaxed and manufacture the best olive oil i tasted so far.

we had very lovely evenings on the terrace barbecueing the bisteco florentina with an amazing view watching the sun set on the horizone.

...and after five days living happily without work/internet-access i found out they even have wifi up there, which you really don' want to use up there, but still is very practicaljust in case...

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Zimno K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

we spent a full week at Novole, two families with two young children and it was just marvelous. It was an Indian summer all week long, we made countryside walks to hidden rural trattorias, or spent hours reading in the hammock, now and then looking up to absorb the panoramic valley views. we stayed at the centuries old farmhouse, which has two huge open fire places, where we cosily cuddled up at fresh autumn evenings and prepared our long dinners. Lucio and Claudia did a fantastic job, and succeeded in creating a homely feel-good atmosphere. this week has undoubtedly been the best agriturismo visit in Italy for us. it ended with an exuberant dinner prepared by our hosts, homemade wines and olive oils, an unforgettable experience. we could have easliy stayed a couple of weeks more...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yzerbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Seldom we stayed in such a placid an tranquil place like the haunting Convento di Novole. Sited on the gorgeous hillsides of the Val di Chiana, we had our choice to savour the exquisite privateness in this unique and delightful spot or to visit its surrounding villages and towns like Cortona, Arezzo, Perugia, Montepulciano, Pienza, Siena, Orvieto, Firenze etc. with their manifold art treasures. Most unforgettable are the lovely evenings spended in the spacious kitchen, cooking with the delectable virgin olive oil cultivated by our supremely hospitable host Lucio Sansone, as well as at the fireside in the built of natural stone living room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralfbormann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

It's been wonderful days staying at Convento di Novole. Surrounded by the deep beauty of mountain nature. I could feel fresh air all the time and enjoy the silence. Beautiful sunrise and sunset, against the olive trees were amazing.
The owner Lucio, and his family, friendly dogs and horse are remain in my heart.
I'm looking forward to come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nana036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Staying at Convento di Novole was the best we could have done. The owner produces amazing olive oil and we felt like being in paradise while sitting at the terrasse surrounded by rosmarin bushes and tymian. The dogs were cute and they seemed to appreciate the silence there as we did, as the very rare cars coming to Novole did not interest them a lot. As said the olive oil is amazingly delicious (take 3 litres home with you and you enjoy toscanian feeling for the rest of the year!) The very big walls kept the heat outside and we enjoyed cool air inside, weh it was too hot. Every city of the region can be reached within an hour or so and is worth the trip. Cortona (the nearest village) is beautiful and good for eating.
Just go there, spend some time there and reload your body with new energy that only silence, peacefull area, stressless atmosphere, beautiful garden and amazingly stunning landscape can give you!
Make sure, you have some space left in the car when travelling to the toskany, so that you can take home wine, oil and food!
Absolutelly worth the journey...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connyfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed there 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. BUT this is not the place for everyone. The "PRO" is the setting. Beautiful, quiet, spacious, and relaxing. Lucio was out, but "Anna" was gracious.. It has a full kitchen, refrigerator, with freezer.
The "CON". Hard to to find.The driveway is very rough, and far from town. Few amenities. Very few electrical outlets, No washer or drier. No very well kept (clean). LImited heating. You had to sit outside to access Wi-FI. The bed is like a rock. The doors do not lock, or even stay closed well.

There were 3 dogs and two cats, which we loved, but of course it is not for everyone.

It is a super place if you truly understand what you are getting.

Room Tip: We rented the convent, which was large, very spacious and added to the romance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
2.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
676 reviews
9.4 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
95 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#3 of 23 in Cortona
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Agriturismo Villa Cuiano
Agriturismo Villa Cuiano
#1 of 2 in Mercatale
18 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#5 of 23 in Cortona
320 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#14 of 23 in Cortona
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novole

Address: Case Sparse Montanare 93, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Cortona
Price Range: £69 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novole is in the middle of the Tuscan countryside and dates back to 1500 and is near the old Etruscan town of Cortona. It is a former Convent that we have restored with three nice apartments (Convent-Chapel-Cottage), respecting the original style and atmosphere of the buildings. Novole is on the border between Toscana and Umbria, located about 1 and 1/2 hour from Florence, 1 hour from Siena, Perugia and Assisi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Novole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing