We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet & Tranquil” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Toscana La Mucchia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Toscana La Mucchia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ocean, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet & Tranquil”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here with our two teenage daughters this past July. Although La Mucchia had a nice location to do some day trips and Cortona was a great city, this was not a great place for teenagers. The house itself is very nicely decorated, however there are no screens on the windows (which we have come to find out is very common in most of Europe) so there were quite a lot of bugs in our apartment. This did not fare well with me or my teenage girls. Also, the apartment was a bit dank and very dark. The girls wanted the windows closed in order to keep out the bugs so we had to use the AC. The AC is not in any way similar to AC in the US, so it really did not dry out or cool the apartment very much. Also, upon our arrival there were ants all over the small kitchen area (sink, counter, etc.) and this turned me off quite a bit. They had left ant spray for us, which just made the living room smell even worse. In the end, the owners did take care of the ant situation and we were grateful for that. On another note, the beds, which I guess many really enjoy, were terrible to us. They were so hard that they did not even move when you jumped on them. If that is what you like, then you will love it. The pool was stained and similar to someone's 'back yard' pool from years ago. There were also a lot of ants crawling around the pool area so it was not a lot of fun to walk around with bare feet.
The area itself was nice, but there really is not a lot to do with teens. You can shop, eat, walk around.......or drive a decent distance to do something else. Overall we (the teenagers and I) were not happy with our stay or the area. However my husband loved it all......... and would like to return one day!
Lastly, the owners were very nice and accommodating and did all that they could to make our stay a nice one - and that was appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mucchia C, Owner at Villa Toscana La Mucchia, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I must say that you are the first of 152 reviewers that gave us a "poor" vote, all 152 reviews are Excellent, but lets review your review to see what was your problem?

As you mentioned in your review your teen aged daughters were not satisfied with the possible activities which maybe you didn't try to find out about.
If they were not interested in knowing Italy, its history and its Art, maybe it was not the right place to bring them to, but this is not our responsibility.

You said in your review that the owners tried or solved every problem that your brought to them.
So we think that your vote "poor" was not justified at all,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
85
81
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Dover, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights in Suite #5 October 2013 .. The suite and views are amazing..We loved our stay at the great location.. We visited 2 great Tuscany towns..Cortona and Siena. The suite is as seen in pictures on website.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vantracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Beatiful, well maintained building with spacious, comfortable apartments. The place radiates charm and tranquility. It's centrally located to visit many medieval hill towns in Tuscany and Umbria.
Uri and Zeev are wonderful hosts, friendly and knowledgeable about the region. They offer plenty of practical information, and excellent recommendations for local restaurants and places to visit.
I can't think of a better place to spend a vacation in Tuscany.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Beautiful Tuscany house near Crotona
We stayed at La Mucchia Casa Vacanza this last summer - august 2013
It is a large Tuscany stone house with authentic furniture and a worm Italian interior design.
The house is located 7 min from the amazing Tuscan old city of Crotona. Just in the middle of a large sun seed flowers field.
It was a perfect one week vacation for us and the kids (4-7).
Every day we went for another trip around Tuscany or the wonderful Umbria area.
Every destination was located no more than 30 min to 1 hour drive away.
Multipulciano, Assisi, Perugia, Lago trasimano, Pienza, Firenze etc.
Lots of restaurants 5 to 10 min drive away
The owners, Uri & Zeev where very kind and helpful for any need.
The garden and pool area in the property is well maintained and very clean.
We highly recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamir W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We visited La Muccia during the 20 to the 25 Aug-2013
The hospitality of Uri&Zeev was extraordinary.
We enjoyed a quiet stay at the beautiful,wonderful location.
Recommended location for best vacation in Toscany.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shmuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is the place to be.
Come here to experience Tuscany, the place is so beautiful that you feel like you're in a movie.
Uri and Zeev gave us a warm welcome and filled us with explanations on the region.
Every place they said it was excellent than the other.
Place highly conserved even though there were more people do not really feel them.
The interior of the rooms pleasant.
Some people may interfere lack of lighting, but get used to it pretty quickly.
The pool provides a slight dip needs.
If you are looking for senior Tuscany, come here.

Room Tip: For families with children should take sharp with one floor or two. Seek to keep the peace there, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yoel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mucchia C, Owner at Villa Toscana La Mucchia, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
We are pleased to read your review, it is wonderful that you spent a good time with us, we thank you very much and hope seeing you in the future again. with the occasion we send you Shana Tova !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We spent 10 wonderful vacation days at La Mucchia. We are a family of five - two adults and three children.
Uri and Zeev are outstanding hosts who went to great length to keep us satisfied and provided plenty of precious advice, on a daily basis, of where to go and what to do, including some very original ideas (especially how to entertain the kids).
The place is beautiful and very well maintained. It is full of flowers and lawns and surrounded by corn and sunflower fields.
It is conveniently located near supermarkets, gas stations, restaurants and even a 24-hour laundromat. Also, it is relatively close to several sites in Tuscany.
The suite we stayed in is comfortable, spacious (a large living room plus a fully equipped kitchen), two large bedrooms with two bathrooms and toilets.
Everything is in great condition, as new. There are air conditioners in every room.

The swimming pool is nice and clean. The children spent a lot of time there and enjoyed it very much.

In short, we would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wizard41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mucchia C, Owner at Villa Toscana La Mucchia, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
In each review we read, it's feels for us as you live your experience once again through your writing, which excite us very much, we thank you for supporting our vacation aparthotel and hoping to see you in the future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
3.1 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
3.4 mi away
Locanda i Grifi
Locanda i Grifi
#9 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Santa Margherita
Villa Santa Margherita
#13 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Toscana La Mucchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Toscana La Mucchia

Property: Villa Toscana La Mucchia
Address: Loc. Mucchia 26, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa La Mucchia is positioned near Cortona in the heart of Tuscany, the town that became famous after the book and the movie “Under the Tuscan sun” by Frances Mayes. The Tuscany authentic style vacation house, originally built in 1760 is placed at the foot of the town of Cortona, which is an excellent spot for short day trips, because of the short distance to most of the cities around, such as: Montepulciano, Assisi, Florence, Siena, Perugia, the Lake of Trasimeno and Castiglione del lago, Pienza (Unesco heritage town) and many others. Within less then hour drive you can reach most of them. The holidays farmhouse, which was converted to suites hotel, is currently divided into nine luxurious individual apartments, in authentic Tuscan style, bounded by lawns, gardens, olive grove and other seasonal crops. The property includes parking, a children's play ground, splendid swimming pool surrounded by nature and views, sun terraces with views of Cortona city of Art. Our Art gallery with back office is open each days for our guests, to support with tips, itineraries, maps, information, reservations, office needs ,The whole farmhouse is covered by fast satellite Wi.Fi, Sat. TV flat screen with hundreds of movies, DVD, air-conditions, all included in our prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Villa Toscana La Mucchia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing