We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tuscan Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Margherita Holiday Home
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We spent two marvelous weeks at Margherita holiday home. Every day was a charm. Our gracious hosts Beatrice & Bernardo struck the perfect balance of consummate hosts and guides. Our villa was spacious clean and complete with all necessary amenities. Our veranda had a beautiful view of Crotona and the Tuscan countryside which was idyllic no matter what time of the day or night The pristine grounds include an olive grove, swimming pool a couple of friendly donkeys, a pony and a pen with ducks, chickens and a resident rooster. The location is ideal for trips to surrounding hilltop towns and villages. It is a great place to relax and enjoy the best of Tuscany

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 804IanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

We loved the evening vistas and the cozy atmosphere. Our hosts were friendly, fun and very helpful. Cortona is a short drive away, and the weekly market nearby is absolutely huge. Ask Beatrice when it is, because unfortunately we couldn't take it in as it was on the day we were leaving. Shop at the Co op nearby to stock up on supplies if you need. There's a great selection even if you want to pick up a hot meal from the deli counter. It's a great place, I only wish we had more time. We'll return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trainsplanesandauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We spent 2 wonderful weeks this summer in Margherita holiday home.Beatrice and Bernando are very warm friendly hosts and their property is beautiful.The views across to Cortona are so picturesque and the area by the swimming pool is surrounded by olive trees and is the perfect place to sit and relax..It is an ideal place for a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings near to interesting and attractive medieval villages.We loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABarrett_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We spent three nights at Margherita Holiday Home in early July 2012 and wish we could have stayed longer. The accommodation is of an exceptionally high standard and we would recommend it to anyone who is looking for an authentic Tuscan experience. Having stayed in other Agriturismo accommodation in Tuscany, this would have to be the best we have come across. Margherita Holiday Home is nestled on a hillside with stunning views towards Cortona and the pool and BBQ area are located to make the most advantage of the vista. The owners Beatrice and Bernardo were fantastic hosts and made suggestions as to the best places to eat locally and visit. If you're considering a trip to Cortona and are looking for top quality accommodation set in a stunning location then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash88-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We had a wonderful week in Cortona in June 2011.
Man, wife and three sons. It was very warm so the swimming pool was frequently used.
We rented the Casa Sole, with an extra bed.
Everything was excellent. The apartment was decorated in old style and beautiful. Even two bath rooms, very convenient for five persons.
Maybe the best part was barbecuing in the evenings overlooking the pool and the ancient city of Cortona. Be sure to buy your "bistecca Fiorentina" at the butcher's in Camucia, forget the super market. Much more fun! And try the pasta "pici", thicker "spaghetti", yum!
Cortona, what can you say? Such a beautiful town with small piazzas and narrow alleys.
At Lago Trasimeno we saw snakes fishing in the water, a non-venomous snake known as "Dice Snake".
We even took a longer trip to Montepulciano, a town where you walk upwards, and upwards, and...
So, the Margherita Holiday Home can be recommended by us strongly. The hosts Beatrice and Bernardo are serviceminded and friendly. Their daughter Margherita is master of performing "la bomba" in the pool. And the donkeys are quiet!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Casa Nido is the smallest of three accommodations managed by a very friendly and helpful couple near the hill-perched town of Cortona. The accommodation (located near a windy road) is very well-equipped but does not have any air con (old building). We spent a great week there in July, enjoying an amazing view of Cortona and its surroundings from the pool. The facilities (bbq, table tennis table) and their owners (always ready to provide recommendations) added to this truly memorable experience. Strongly recommended but can get very hot during the summer!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jr49ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We stayed in this hôtel few days in June 2010. The owners a really sympathic and we had a real pleasure to discuss with them.

The place is comfortable, well maintained, quiet and we had a lot of pleasure in the pool with the childrens (the view from the pool is amazing!).

The village of Cortona located a few minutes from this hôtel (by car) is charming and we had good meals there. We have made a day trip to Firenze : it was OK but it's better to stay longer in Firenze and rent an hôtel in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtrepanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.9 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
680 reviews
7.5 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
95 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#3 of 23 in Cortona
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sabrina
Hotel Sabrina
#17 of 23 in Cortona
116 reviews
9 mi away
Agriturismo Villa Cuiano
Agriturismo Villa Cuiano
#1 of 3 in Mercatale
18 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#5 of 23 in Cortona
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margherita Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margherita Holiday Home

Address: Nucleo Cegliolo 25, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Cortona
Price Range: £62 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the quite tuscan country side among olive trees you will find margherita holiday home. The location, up on a hill, is really extraordinary: on one side there is a view of cortona and in front you face the beautiful val di chiana; you can take the pleasure for trekking, walking from the numerous olive trees up to the mountain through the chestnut wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Margherita Holiday Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing