We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tuscan Dream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Margherita Holiday Home
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“A Tuscan Dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Our stay at The Margherita Holiday Home was the perfect Tuscan destination. Beatrice and Bernardo (the owners) were so gracious and accommodating during our stay. The location is close to the Cortona villages, but far out enough were you have a breathtaking view of the countryside. Our little home was charming, clean and cozy and provided every accommodation we needed for our stay. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, I still rave about the pastries! :)
Thank you so much for your kindness and for making our stay a memorable part of our trip! We will be back!
Shannon and Kiernan

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have always dreamed of going to Tuscany and spending a week in a villa over looking beautiful views and lush greenery. We were not disappointed with our choice. Margherita Holiday Home was the perfect home away from home. We were welcomed by Beatrice and Bernardo who were wonderful hosts. They provided us a warm welcome and made us feel at home. Their English was great and we had wonderful conversations. The villa was clean, comfortable and had magnificent views of Cortona. We took cooking lessons from Beatrice and Bernardo. We learned to make delicious hand made pasta, pizza and faccasio. Their homemade olive oil is a must!
We will definitely go back! Beatrice and Bernardo, thanks for making our trip very special! Cindy And Michel USA

Room Tip: We stayed in the one bedroom villa and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CnM1122840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We spent two marvelous weeks at Margherita holiday home. Every day was a charm. Our gracious hosts Beatrice & Bernardo struck the perfect balance of consummate hosts and guides. Our villa was spacious clean and complete with all necessary amenities. Our veranda had a beautiful view of Crotona and the Tuscan countryside which was idyllic no matter what time of the day or night The pristine grounds include an olive grove, swimming pool a couple of friendly donkeys, a pony and a pen with ducks, chickens and a resident rooster. The location is ideal for trips to surrounding hilltop towns and villages. It is a great place to relax and enjoy the best of Tuscany

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 804IanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We loved the evening vistas and the cozy atmosphere. Our hosts were friendly, fun and very helpful. Cortona is a short drive away, and the weekly market nearby is absolutely huge. Ask Beatrice when it is, because unfortunately we couldn't take it in as it was on the day we were leaving. Shop at the Co op nearby to stock up on supplies if you need. There's a great selection even if you want to pick up a hot meal from the deli counter. It's a great place, I only wish we had more time. We'll return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trainsplanesandauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We spent 2 wonderful weeks this summer in Margherita holiday home.Beatrice and Bernando are very warm friendly hosts and their property is beautiful.The views across to Cortona are so picturesque and the area by the swimming pool is surrounded by olive trees and is the perfect place to sit and relax..It is an ideal place for a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings near to interesting and attractive medieval villages.We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABarrett_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We spent three nights at Margherita Holiday Home in early July 2012 and wish we could have stayed longer. The accommodation is of an exceptionally high standard and we would recommend it to anyone who is looking for an authentic Tuscan experience. Having stayed in other Agriturismo accommodation in Tuscany, this would have to be the best we have come across. Margherita Holiday Home is nestled on a hillside with stunning views towards Cortona and the pool and BBQ area are located to make the most advantage of the vista. The owners Beatrice and Bernardo were fantastic hosts and made suggestions as to the best places to eat locally and visit. If you're considering a trip to Cortona and are looking for top quality accommodation set in a stunning location then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash88-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We had a wonderful week in Cortona in June 2011.
Man, wife and three sons. It was very warm so the swimming pool was frequently used.
We rented the Casa Sole, with an extra bed.
Everything was excellent. The apartment was decorated in old style and beautiful. Even two bath rooms, very convenient for five persons.
Maybe the best part was barbecuing in the evenings overlooking the pool and the ancient city of Cortona. Be sure to buy your "bistecca Fiorentina" at the butcher's in Camucia, forget the super market. Much more fun! And try the pasta "pici", thicker "spaghetti", yum!
Cortona, what can you say? Such a beautiful town with small piazzas and narrow alleys.
At Lago Trasimeno we saw snakes fishing in the water, a non-venomous snake known as "Dice Snake".
We even took a longer trip to Montepulciano, a town where you walk upwards, and upwards, and...
So, the Margherita Holiday Home can be recommended by us strongly. The hosts Beatrice and Bernardo are serviceminded and friendly. Their daughter Margherita is master of performing "la bomba" in the pool. And the donkeys are quiet!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
5.0 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais Borgo San Pietro
Relais Borgo San Pietro
#14 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
7.5 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
9.4 mi away
Il Giardino di Romi
Il Giardino di Romi
#1 of 1 in Mercatale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margherita Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margherita Holiday Home

Property: Margherita Holiday Home
Address: Nucleo Cegliolo 25, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the quite tuscan country side among olive trees you will find margherita holiday home. The location, up on a hill, is really extraordinary: on one side there is a view of cortona and in front you face the beautiful val di chiana; you can take the pleasure for trekking, walking from the numerous olive trees up to the mountain through the chestnut wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Margherita Holiday Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing