We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and cons”
Review of Casa Betania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Betania
Ranked #39 of 43 Cortona B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pros and cons”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Casa Betania is a great value in an expensive tourist spot. The view from the terrace is wonderful, and the location is close to the center of the city. That said, we endured several *very* hot nights, and a fan would have been HUGELY appreciated. There's no air circulation and its pretty impossible to sleep when its 95+ degrees. We left our windows open and found ourselves gnawed relentlessly by bugs and have the welts to prove it. So its a toss up; do you pay more for A/C and buglessness or go cheap and get a good view but barely any sleep?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gks9022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    14
    20
    18
    26
See reviews for
13
28
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This place is a good choice if you want cheap. Beyond that, it is nothing special. The rooms are cold (both in temperature and charm), the staff was a little difficult, and the rooms are a bit bare.

For the price, however, I'd stay here again. The place was clean, the rooms were adequate, and the community terrace was beautiful.

Not wonderful, but not terrible. Overall, a forgettable place that will suffice to save money.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0VEB1RDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casabetania, Direttore at Casa Betania, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Customer,
Thanks so much for the positive comments.
We regret that some things have not completely satisfied you.
We will try in the future, thanks to your comments, to improve more and more and to offer our customers a pleasant memory of stay at Casa Betania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I feel bad because we had very high hopes for this budget accommodation. The outer appearance of the B&B and the location are excellent – just a short walk to the center of Cortona, and the staff was nice and very helpful. However, I am unable to recommend Casa Betania for the following reasons: the lobby smelled (strong cigarette smell?); the bathroom in our room was not clean and the ceiling was covered in black mold (see picture); although the hotel was almost empty, a family with very small children was put in the room next to us and they may as well have been staying in our room as the walls were extremely thin (we literally could have carried on a conversation with them without raising our voices!). Upon check-out the credit card machine in the office was rejecting ALL of our credit cards (they suggested it was our cards that were the issue) and we were forced to walk into town and get money from an ATM to pay our bill - this was at the mid-way point of our trip and we had no issues with our cards anywhere else during the trip. Cortona is a wonderful town – spend a little more and stay at a nicer place (inside the wall?), it will be worth it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortlandMom52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casabetania, Direttore at Casa Betania, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
We are very sorry not beeing able to fullfill the hopes of this kind guest.
We understand that the main issues were related to other guests behaviours.
We strongly reccomend our dear guests to avoid smoking in both common areas as well as in the rooms.
Unfortunately, sometimes there are customers who do not follow our suggestions.
In any case, this happens rarely, and, indeed, most of our customers thank us for finding a healthy and peaceful site.
We also understand that the customer has encountered problems using credit cards. We can confirm that all major credit cards are accepted. Of course we cannot guarantee that the telephone connections necessary to make the transactions are running at all times. Everyone, sooner or later, we experienced connection difficulties.
Indeed we hope that the customer can forgive these little problems and still come back and visit us.
As also testified by many independent guides and most of our customers, value for money we offer is genuinely very good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cortona hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
charleston, sc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Please bear in my mind that this hotel is a former convent and, thus, lacks luxury; however, it proved to be an excellent choice for myself and my two friends. The staff does not speak a lot of English, but they did understand enough to help us rent a car and get cab service, They were warm and attempted to help us with anything we requested of them. Our room was spacious and clean. The view from the terrace was breathtaking!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nparadice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casabetania, Direttore at Casa Betania, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments.
We will do even better in the future to better accommodate our kind guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I was very impressed with the size of my room at this monestary. I had a queen and single bed PLUS a couch. I also had my own private washroom, Just outside my door was a lovely terrace which provided an incredible view from this hilltop town. A bus travels fom the train station to the town frequently. Price per room was approx. 40 euro per night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette623154995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casabetania, Direttore at Casa Betania, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Customer,
Thanks so much for the positive comments.
The satisfaction of our customers drives us to do better and better while offering simple things will always try to improve ourselves and leave good memories of living in Casa Betania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Chose Casa Betania in lieu of more expensive hotels in Cortona. About a 10 minute walk from the city center, its a leisurely stroll through a Cortona neighborhood. While still being part of a convent it has really great modern and contemporary decor, and the rooms are decorated a young and inviting way. The host was fantastic, even giving us unused train tickets back. For less than 40 euro a night, this place is great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelChicaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

This is a nice B&B. The location was great, but a little hard to find at first time. Very close to the city. My room had an incredible view. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lomimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nuovo Centrale
Hotel Nuovo Centrale
#21 of 24 in Cortona
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Santa Margherita
Villa Santa Margherita
#13 of 24 in Cortona
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oasi Neumann
Hotel Oasi Neumann
#17 of 24 in Cortona
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rugapiana Vacanze
Rugapiana Vacanze
#17 of 43 in Cortona
221 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday House Aurora
Holiday House Aurora
#38 of 43 in Cortona
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Betania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Betania

Property: Casa Betania
Address: Via Gino Severini 50, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bethany House is surrounded by the restful green of the Tuscan hills, the shade of majestic trees that surround the entrance and hug the huge garden that is located behind the building. Bethany House can accommodate either groups, families and individuals. Everyone will feel comfortable making friends and fellowship in the common areas available to them. In the two upper floors are the bedrooms, all with a breathtaking view of the landscape below. The rooms can be single, double, triple or more beds, and with or without bathroom. Some rooms are also located on the floor overlooking the garden. The rooms are particularly suitable and equipped for prayer groups, boy scouts, trips parish, school and all those who seek tranquility and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Casa Betania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Betania Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing