We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa di Piazzano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa di Piazzano
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2007

I read about the Villa in the book, Great Sleeps Italy, and was impressed by its history. The villa itself is gorgeous. We did not have a car so we asked, and they arranged, for a taxi to meet us at the train station. Everyone was extremely professional, and warm. We had a 3-course dinner there every night except Tues. (they're closed), and some very good wines. We had a jr. suite which was elegantly furnished, and very comfortable. My husband, son and I took a cooking class with the owner, Adriana, which was a lot of fun (and delicious). We made fresh pasta with mushrooms, pork loin with prunes, and panna cotta. They arranged for a driver to take us through the countryside, stopping to tour a vineyard (with wine tasting), the San Antimo Abbey, and various other sites. They have a cozy, intimate bar where you can have a drink and conversation with other guests before dinner. Villa di Piazzano is luxurious, elegant, comfortable. We would most definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The luxuriousness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TexasMusicmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    60
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
113
406
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2007

Ancient hunting manor of the 1500s restored carefully and with taste, located in a beautiful landscape. Very kind staff. Excellent service. Good restaurant and excellent breakfast. This is a place for a wonderful and relaxing holiday.

  • Liked — The beauty and genuineness of the villla and the pretty surroundings
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Assistant-Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2007

Our decision to try this hotel was based on Karen Brown's guide book for Italy, but we booked directly with the property.

We spent a week at the Villa di Piazzano (VdP) to explore southern Tuscany and northern Umbria. The hotel was ideally situated for this plan. The setting, in the countryside southeast of Cortona, was a lovely respite after a day of sightseeing. Our room was a separate stone cottage in the garden near the large swimming pool and below the main house.

Breakfasts and dinners (optional) in the VdP's dining room were always delicious and beautifully served. The maitre d', Massimo, made excellent wine recommendations.

The friendly staff at the front desk were knowledgeable about sightseeing and local shopping, and most helpful. For instance, upon our arrival, they recognized immediately that my wife's injured ankle needed medical attention and arranged for a doctor to call the next morning. One of the owners was always available to assist and visit with guests, giving the impression of welcoming us into their home.

Our only regret was not taking more time to relax and enjoy the tranquil setting of the VdP ... perhaps next time.

  • Liked — Setting, service, and food.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travcomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2007

We have just got back from a week at Villa Di Piazzano, which was part of our honeymoon. We had an absolutely wonderful time and it was a near-perfect start to our married life together!

Myself and my wife have been very privaledged to stay at some wonderful hotels all over the world. However we were both immensely impressed with Villa Di Piazzano and would unreservedly recomend it to anyone.

I cannot really think of any substantial negatives to the hotel- yes as previous reviews have said complimentary water would have been nice and the TV channels were variable, but the long list of positives more than outweigh these very, very minor critisisms. The positives were:

- The villa itself in absoltely fantastic and has obviously been very lovingly restored. The attention to detail of the furniture and interior decoration is astounding and we found ourselves wandering around a lot of the time, admiring the quality of the renovation and the excellent interior decoration
- The location is great, literally on the border between Umbria and Tuscany. Cortona is the nearest town which is 7 minutes drive, which is very pretty and has some great bars and restuarants
- The staff were unfalteriningly polite and effcient which is a very rare thing in hotels these days
- The resturant was very good with a good menu, a wide choice of wines and was reasonably priced
- The breakfast was probably the best we have come across with a huge selction of food
- Our room was fantastic- very large and airy, beautifally decorated and with a huge bed. We had a junior suite for which we paid Eur330 per night, which I consider very good value.

The hotel organised a couple of activities for us which I can more than recommend. Firsly we had a cookery lesson with one of the owners in the hotel kitchens which was an wonderful experience- it was fantastic being with a native Italian in a professional kitchen, using the freshest ingredients to make our own lunch. Pasta making was a real highlight!

The hotel also arranged a local gudie for us to take us wine tasting in a local town. He was an excellent guide, the town he took us to as probably our favourite place of the whole trip and I can wholeheartedly recommend him.

One last piece of advice. Don't try and go to Siena on Wednesday as it is market day and you will struggle to find somewhere to park.

  • Liked — The builidng and interior decoration
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Alexia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2007

We returned from Villa di Piazzano a few weeks ago. The pool is set in a stunning location surrounded by the Tuscan hills. The breakfast is delicious with FRESH FRUIT salad every morning. They had different selections of cereals such as Special K and fruit n' fibre, great selection of yoghurt and plenty of croissants and even prosciutto ham - Yum!

We were in a junior suite and had a huge king size canopy bed with two windows overlooking the garden. The bathroom was great and also had a great view. We chose this location mainly for the restaurant since we wanted to just relax rather than having to drive around each night searching for a place to eat. It seems that most places in this area are just b&b and the restaurants in Cortona mostly have indoor dining rooms which is a bit stifling in the summer so were glad to have found a place where we could dine on a terrace in the gardens. I calculated we paid around Euro 35 per person, excluding the wine, which to us did not seem expensive but rather good value for money. On the Tuesday we had a cooking lesson and saw the kitchen and also how they prepare the food and we realized how much preparation goes into their cuisine. They produce fesh pasta on a daily basis and bake their own bread. This was really a pleasant ending to our vacation in Italy and we certainly will be coming back. Cheers to the Wimpole family!

  • Liked — Stunning location
  • Disliked — The food was so good I gained 3 lbs.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena_Alexia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2007

We know Cortona well, and were going just for two nights for a family birthday, but were pleasantly surprised by the standard of Villa di Piazzano. My husband and I booked the double de luxe (£372) and our children were in adjoining rooms £271. Both had bathrooms with excellent products (soap from olive oil), comfortable beds, lovely views and good minibars. The turn-down service in the evening ensured the beds were always tidy - a plus with children.

On the minus side, staff delivered a sweet to each pillow (naff, and bad for children) and there was no basket of fruit or complimentary water. The reading lights were so small and low-wattage as to make reading impossible, though the air conditioning worked well (a bit noisy, though). The TV stations not satisfactory: we, too, couldn't get the advertised BBC, and we should have got Sky films for the price we felt.

The pool is lovely, beautifully positioned and maintained. I can well believe a previous visiotr who disliked the cottage nearby - it looked small and is too close to the pool for peace. The main rooms are extremely nice, and breakfast on the terrace lovely - but no muesli, and no fresh orange juice. So: lovely setting, nice staff, comfortable rooms, but needs a bit more attention to make it enitrely worth the price.

  • Liked — comfortable beds & lovely views
  • Disliked — poor breakfast, poor reading lights
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ladylazarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2007

We stayed for five nights at Villa di Piazzano in early September and returned home with mixed feelings. Yes, it's a in a stunning location, and it's a lovely building which is well maintained. Nice pool, although it's one of those annoying ones that you can walk along the entire length. We paid 250 euros a night for a deluxe room and were in fact upgraded to a junior suite; the room was huge, nicely furnished, but rather lacking in luxury. No fruit basket, no free mineral water (which you would certainly get in a British hotel at that price) although nice toiletries. The TV reception was lousy and you couldn't get the BBC World Service (a minor point, I know, but they claimed you could get it, so it was annoying.)

The breakfasts were a big disappointment - too many sweet things, no muesli, no fresh fruit, poor selection of bread. Very good room service - our rooms were cleaned in a flash - but our sheets weren't changed in the five days we were there - again, at that price, I would have expected it.

We had dinner in the hotel one night and it was pleasant but very expensive - far better food at a fraction of the price is on offer in Cortona and Camucia.

I wouldn't want to put anyone off staying here, and I can understand why so many people rave about it, but I don't think we'll go back. There is better value to be had elsewhere.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Claretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
2.9 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.7 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
4.4 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
4.0 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa di Piazzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Piazzano

Property: Villa di Piazzano
Address: Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Piazzano 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical manor house offering old wold charm and modern world comforts including: a fine restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, private parking, beautiful gardens, great walking and biking trails and a cooking school with its own monastic vegetable garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa di Piazzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Piazzano Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing