We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One place to experience before you die!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa di Piazzano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa di Piazzano
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One place to experience before you die!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The villa is simply marvellous. it is quiet, sophisticated but not pretentious. The staff are all, without exception, helpful and friendly, and the rooms and the grounds just wonderful. Beds are comfortable too.

As part of the Mystery group who took over the Villa at the end of May, I think i can fairly say that all of us were pretty knocked out by the place.

I can't wait to go back there for a long weekend and quite simply not move from it!

A resident dog would make it even more perfect!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DL_ALB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    60
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
114
407
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

A beautiful setting that seems to be 100 miles from everything, but a taxi ride into Cortona is just 12-15 euro. The Piazzano is immaculately tended to inside and out and the staff is very accommodating and well suited for clientele that prefer an experience that is 5-star and still uniquely Italian. If you want a quiet place to read or write or think or sleep or go for a run of a few miles in a beautiful and peaceful setting, this is for you. If you are looking for music and parties and hotel nightlife, this is not your place. Perfect destination for a romantic stop of a few days on a larger tour of the country. Highly recommend, and it is worth the price.

Room Tip: This might seem a little strange, but the attic room was my favorite. It is a little smaller with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trent_Mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

The Villa is a wonderful economical home base to enjoy and explore southern Tuscany. It was the second Villa we stayed at in Tuscany and it far surpassed the first in all respects. The grounds and rooms are perfect for a relaxing and gracious stay. The restoration of the historic (even by Italian standards) hunting lodge is superb. Unfortunately the weather was not compatible with enjoying the beautiful pool. The rooms are large, bright and super clean. The staff are exceptionally accomodating and friendly. The cooking class was well worth it with Gabriella.

Day excursions from the Villa to other attractions in the area were very easy. One of the best bargains was Giovanni, a guide who was an exceptional asset to discovering the best of Tuscany and a gregarious font of knowledge far beyond any travel guide book.

The Villa has our unqualified recommedation and we hope to be able to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CD_Reet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

The hotel is in such a great location in Cortona. You are greeted by a row of huge Cyprus trees that really sets the great mood of the place. The service is wonderful, the rooms are well-appointed and comfortable, the pool is beautiful and serene. We absolutely loved dinner at the restaurant - fantastic food (in addition to the nice breakfasts included) and our wine tasting with the owner in the hotel's own wine cellar was terrific. Day trips to Montepulciano, Montelcino and other nearby wine-lover towns were short drives away. Would absolutely come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DS7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basalt, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is a fantastic hotel close by to Cortona and the beauty of Umbria and Tuscany. The staff is outstanding and unbelievably helpful and competent. The Wimpoles have created the perfect setting and the rooms are large and wonderfully decorated with all the amenities you would expect from a world class hotel.
The setting is terrific as well and the food and food service is wonderful. I would give this hotel an A+ for everything that they do.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are large and very, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We just spent the most wonderful week at Villa di Piazzano. We brought our 7 month old baby to Italy and couldn't have picked a more perfect place to stay with her. The entire staff was receptive to having a baby and went out of their way to make sure that we had everything we needed to make all of our stays as relaxing as possible.

The staff was incredibly helpful in working with us each day to plan our day trips. With their help we were able to have daily Italian adventure.

We highly recommend staying at Villa di Piazzano with our without a baby!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Two years ago we organized our marriage at this fabulous location, and on our return for a weekend stay-over this year, we were welcomed again by the super-friendly staff. Together with my wife and our 10-months old daughter we had a relaxing stay and a superb service. The chef surprised us again with great tuscan food. We will come back again...thanks for the hospitality Alessandra.

Room Tip: The 'Casina delle Rose' is a romantic personalized room, located next to the swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fre-Katleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa Marsili - Chateaux et Hotel Collection
1.1 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
4.8 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
4.2 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa di Piazzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Piazzano

Property: Villa di Piazzano
Address: Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Piazzano 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical manor house offering old wold charm and modern world comforts including: a fine restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, private parking, beautiful gardens, great walking and biking trails and a cooking school with its own monastic vegetable garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa di Piazzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Piazzano Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing