We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Villa di Piazzano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa di Piazzano
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We chose to stay here based on tripadvisor recommendations and were not disappointed! We were given a personal tour of the main public areas and others by the charming owner-such history! A wonderful setting, terrifically attentive staff and excellent rooms, ours a superior could not be faulted. The hidden gem is the restaurant which produced wonderful food even for a hotel of this quality. Stay here! We will again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

This was our 5th stay at the Villa! The beautiful grounds, warm and helpful staff, well-appointed rooms, delicious meals, and ideal location make this hotel a perfect spot. If you want to experience Italy at it's best, this is a real find. We have recommended this hotel to numerous family and friends and all have been delighted. What sets this hotel apart is their personal approach and real desire to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We are looking forward to our next visit. Bob & Donna Delonti, California, USA

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddelonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This hotel is fantastic and is greatly situated, perfect for trips to Cortona, Pienza, Montepulciano etc. our room was very large and nice and products in the bathroom were of good quality. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. The only real minus was the terrible service at the restaurant. We had to ask twice to order and waited close to 45 minutes just to place our order! They have a system where only one out of two waitresses can take orders unfortunately. We ate in Montalcino the second of our two nights. The food was very nice but could not compensate for the extremely slow service. However, even with this we would strongly recommend the hotel.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank LoveStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_di_Piazzano, Proprietario at Villa di Piazzano, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which is very helpful for us when trying to understand our guests’ needs and improve our services. I understand your concern and would like to address it by explaining a little of what happened on the night you dined with us. The time lapse between the moment you sat down and the moment your food arrived was neither due to the waiting staff, who are both excellent workers and very professional, nor was it caused by the kitchen staff, who on that particular evening were working extra hard to make sure the dishes came out as quickly as possible. To some extent the type of cuisine we offer is “slow food”. Our dishes are cooked in an express manner which means that there is no precooking and this does cause a little bit of a wait. But again this was not the main issue.

Fortunately or unfortunately, it was a beautiful summer evening and our outdoor panoramic terrace is very alluring in these instances. It just so happened that everybody decided to come down and sit on the dining terrace at once, irrespective of the time they had booked a table. With the type of cuisine we offer, this definitely placed us in a difficult situation with little potential for remedy at the time. Only a certain amount of dishes can be prepared contemporarily and on that night we far surpassed that level. We are working on ways to avoid this same situation in the future, but nonetheless you suffered the consequences and for this I apologize. Had you reported your dissatisfaction with the Reception at the time, we could have done something more for you than just offering my apology on Trip Advisor, which has little value in trying to amend a situation in hindsight.

Nonetheless, I’m glad you pointed this out as it gave us an opportunity to explain to you what had happened and also understand that we have to become a little more rigid with our seating times, in order to offer a better level of service to everybody.

I’m glad to hear everything else was to your liking and sincerely hope you will come and visit us again.

Kind regards,

Alessandra Wimpole
Owner-Manager
Villa di Piazzano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I arranged this holiday less than a week in advance to get away from the dreadful rain in England and picked this hotel based on previous reviews and wasn't disappointed in any way. Beautiful setting, lovely pool and well maintained grounds that were wonderful for a rest. Well located for Cortona and also no more than an hour from Arrezo, Perugia, Lake Trasimeno, Siena and Montepulciano so this was a great place to use as a base for days out. Breakfast was excellent and dinner on the terrace a real treat with a choice of set menu or a la carte. Over the 7 days we were there there was no shortage of choice for each of the 4 courses. In the last few years I have stayed in some of the top 5 star hotels in Europe but Villa di Piazzano provided better service, and comparable food. Totally fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed in this Hotel whilst hosting our daughter's wedding in nearby Villa Passerini. The Hotel is beautifully restored with lovely views, attractive grounds and well situated for touring the surrounding splendour of the Tuscan countryside.
The staff, and especially the front desk receptionists, were kind, considerate, polite and very helpful. They are probably the best we have encountered in our many holidays throughout Europe, and they did it all with a smile!

Room Tip: Good offers on Junior Suites for the over 60s
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The Villa di Piazzano is a slice of heaven. the rooms are so comfortable, the staff is top notch the food is superb and the setting is breathtaking. This is a perfect place to stay when visiting Tuscany. It is easy to get around and the staff will have great suggestions of places to go, tours to take, vineyards to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We recently stayed with our three children (ages 14, 12, 9) for 4 nights at Villa di Piazzano - we loved our visit. It was by far everyone's favorite part of our visit to Italy. The hotel is just beautiful. The rooms are very comfortable with all the modern conveniences though the building is very old it has been beautifully restored. The staff were all friendly and professional. Our kids loved the pool and the cooking class we took with Gabriella. I loved sitting on the terrace at sunset - it was far too beautiful to be able to describe in words. We hope to be able to visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMHarrison101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
833 reviews
1.1 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
668 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
94 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#5 of 24 in Cortona
416 reviews
4.9 mi away
Relais Villa Baldelli
Relais Villa Baldelli
#9 of 24 in Cortona
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa di Piazzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Piazzano

Address: Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: £181 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Piazzano 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical manor house offering old wold charm and modern world comforts including: a fine restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, private parking, beautiful gardens, great walking and biking trails and a cooking school with its own monastic vegetable garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa di Piazzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Piazzano Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing