We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zen in Italy”
Review of Villa di Piazzano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa di Piazzano
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Aartselaar
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Zen in Italy”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We had booked a week in the hotel before we would go further to te Toscany coast. We have been several years in Toscany and it's always a treat. This year we did go more south and we arrived at the villa di Piazzano. The welcome was friendly and accurate. We had a wonderfull room in the annex building. Every comfort is available. Breakfast is good but the cooking skills of Gabriella for dinner are excellent. You have a choise in very good wines for a fair price. Also the staff are very kind and friendly.
You van visit different places in a range of 50 km, Montepulciano, Gubbio, Perugia, Assisi, Cortona and Orvieto are some possibilities.
We also did the Avignonesi wine tour, wich was very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms under the roof in the main building are very warm in the summer. We had a room in the annex bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    65
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
127
438
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This Villa was above and beyond anything we could have imagined. While it is quite pricey it is money well spent. The rooms are spacious, clean and very classic in style. We loved that they were quiet limited and so there were not too many guests at once. The breakfast buffet was extensive and well presented. The grounds are so well kept and very Tuscan in style. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The villa is about 10minutes away from the main town of Cortona but in a great and quiet spot - if you have a car it is no problem at all. We would stay here again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: The junior suites are gorgeous but come at a price - if you have the money though it's well wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

We chose to stay here based on tripadvisor recommendations and were not disappointed! We were given a personal tour of the main public areas and others by the charming owner-such history! A wonderful setting, terrifically attentive staff and excellent rooms, ours a superior could not be faulted. The hidden gem is the restaurant which produced wonderful food even for a hotel of this quality. Stay here! We will again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This was our 5th stay at the Villa! The beautiful grounds, warm and helpful staff, well-appointed rooms, delicious meals, and ideal location make this hotel a perfect spot. If you want to experience Italy at it's best, this is a real find. We have recommended this hotel to numerous family and friends and all have been delighted. What sets this hotel apart is their personal approach and real desire to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We are looking forward to our next visit. Bob & Donna Delonti, California, USA

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddelonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic and is greatly situated, perfect for trips to Cortona, Pienza, Montepulciano etc. our room was very large and nice and products in the bathroom were of good quality. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. The only real minus was the terrible service at the restaurant. We had to ask twice to order and waited close to 45 minutes just to place our order! They have a system where only one out of two waitresses can take orders unfortunately. We ate in Montalcino the second of our two nights. The food was very nice but could not compensate for the extremely slow service. However, even with this we would strongly recommend the hotel.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LoveStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_di_Piazzano, Proprietario at Villa di Piazzano, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which is very helpful for us when trying to understand our guests’ needs and improve our services. I understand your concern and would like to address it by explaining a little of what happened on the night you dined with us. The time lapse between the moment you sat down and the moment your food arrived was neither due to the waiting staff, who are both excellent workers and very professional, nor was it caused by the kitchen staff, who on that particular evening were working extra hard to make sure the dishes came out as quickly as possible. To some extent the type of cuisine we offer is “slow food”. Our dishes are cooked in an express manner which means that there is no precooking and this does cause a little bit of a wait. But again this was not the main issue.

Fortunately or unfortunately, it was a beautiful summer evening and our outdoor panoramic terrace is very alluring in these instances. It just so happened that everybody decided to come down and sit on the dining terrace at once, irrespective of the time they had booked a table. With the type of cuisine we offer, this definitely placed us in a difficult situation with little potential for remedy at the time. Only a certain amount of dishes can be prepared contemporarily and on that night we far surpassed that level. We are working on ways to avoid this same situation in the future, but nonetheless you suffered the consequences and for this I apologize. Had you reported your dissatisfaction with the Reception at the time, we could have done something more for you than just offering my apology on Trip Advisor, which has little value in trying to amend a situation in hindsight.

Nonetheless, I’m glad you pointed this out as it gave us an opportunity to explain to you what had happened and also understand that we have to become a little more rigid with our seating times, in order to offer a better level of service to everybody.

I’m glad to hear everything else was to your liking and sincerely hope you will come and visit us again.

Kind regards,

Alessandra Wimpole
Owner-Manager
Villa di Piazzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I arranged this holiday less than a week in advance to get away from the dreadful rain in England and picked this hotel based on previous reviews and wasn't disappointed in any way. Beautiful setting, lovely pool and well maintained grounds that were wonderful for a rest. Well located for Cortona and also no more than an hour from Arrezo, Perugia, Lake Trasimeno, Siena and Montepulciano so this was a great place to use as a base for days out. Breakfast was excellent and dinner on the terrace a real treat with a choice of set menu or a la carte. Over the 7 days we were there there was no shortage of choice for each of the 4 courses. In the last few years I have stayed in some of the top 5 star hotels in Europe but Villa di Piazzano provided better service, and comparable food. Totally fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed in this Hotel whilst hosting our daughter's wedding in nearby Villa Passerini. The Hotel is beautifully restored with lovely views, attractive grounds and well situated for touring the surrounding splendour of the Tuscan countryside.
The staff, and especially the front desk receptionists, were kind, considerate, polite and very helpful. They are probably the best we have encountered in our many holidays throughout Europe, and they did it all with a smile!

Room Tip: Good offers on Junior Suites for the over 60s
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
1.1 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
3.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
788 reviews
4.8 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
83 reviews
4.2 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
367 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa di Piazzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Piazzano

Property: Villa di Piazzano
Address: Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Piazzano 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical manor house offering old wold charm and modern world comforts including: a fine restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, private parking, beautiful gardens, great walking and biking trails and a cooking school with its own monastic vegetable garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa di Piazzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Piazzano Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing