We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Hotel in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa di Piazzano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa di Piazzano
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Elegant Hotel in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

The Villa di Piazzano converted Tuscan villa in the countryside about 10-15 minutes drive from Cortona. The setting amongst the fields and with a view of Cortona and surrounding hills is very beautiful. The grounds and gardens are very attractive and pleasant to explore.

A particular highlight for me was the swimming pool which is large for the size of hotel and still usable in late September and a great place to chill out if you want to take a day off from exploring Tuscany. We stayed around all day and whilst the restaurant does not serve lunch the hotel will put together platters of cold meats, cheese and salad for lunch on the terrace on request.

Our room was spacious and very comfortable with a suitably oldie worldy feel. The restaurant serves very good evening meals although the ambience in the dining room felt a bit formal and stifling for me. That may be different in the summer when you can eat on the terrace. The breakfast was one of the best we had in Tuscany with a variety of croissants and cakes. Very much recommended!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DannyBoySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    60
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
113
406
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here September 25th-29th. We loved this place. Our first impression of the villa as we drove up to it, was fantastic, and it held up to this standard throughout our stay. It's set just outside of Cortona, and was about a 10 minute drive to the walled city. In my opinion, you need a car if you stay here. Parking was easy both at the villa and at the town.

It's an excellent place from which to explore parts of Tuscany. Siena was 1 hour, Florence was 1 1/2 hours, San Gimignano (our favorite!) was 1 1/2 hours, Montepulciano was about 45 minutes, and I think Castellina was about 1 hour or so. The drive to each of these locations was phenomenal.

The staff were wonderful. They offered to make us dinner reservations each night, although we only took advantage of this once since we made our own reservations for the other nights. We didn't eat dinner at the villa, so I can't comment on it. The breakfast was very good though...eggs, pancetta, cereal, yogurt, cheese and more.

Our room was beautiful and the beds were comfortable. We had a view out the back of the villa, but it we loved it. It's true that there aren't any screens for the windows and so mosquitos and flies get in, but in my opinion, screens would ruin the beauty. I attached a photograph of the view from our room.

The housekeeping and desk staff staff were great. Our room was always cleaned, beds turned down at night, and they were very friendly. The staff were helpful in getting us wine glasses and a corkscrew to enjoy the wine we brought back from a vineyard, as well as an iron when we requested it.

When we returned home, we realized that a favorite sweatshirt had been left behind. We emailed the villa and they had it and have offered to mail it back to us. This again showed us their desire to provide excellent service.

Overall, we loved this villa and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. I hope we make it back there again some day!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boston_Tim1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

A wonderful oasis in the Tuscan countryside, which proved to be even better than our expectations. The property has been professionally and classically brought to 21st century standards and exhibits class without pretence. The staff and owners are not only amiable but helpful to any needs or questions you may have. The breakfasts were the best of all of the locations we stayed in Italy, and the evening meal service is fresh, innovative and well served. We suggest taking advantage of the half-day cooking school which is a fun learning experience with a most enthusiastic chef. Everything was exceptionally clean and well presented and the setting in the countryside was most relaxing. A high recommendation from us.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlottejoe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oisterwijk, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We have spent 7 days in this beautiful hotel. We had a nice room (well sized) wit a good bathroom (walk-in shower). The hotel is surrounded by a beautiful garden and a nice swimming pool where it is just lovely to cool off! Breakfast and dinner were served outside on a charming terrace with a very nice view on the tuscan hills and Cortona. During dinner it was even more romantic to look at Cortona with all these lights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They really made you feel at home. We enjoyed a 4 courses meal every night. The food was very fine. Breakfast was a buffet with a large choice of all sorts of things. Having dinner on the terrace was our most favourite moment of the day! The environment is very beautiful. You can visit very easily cities like Asisi, Perugia and Siena. And within 10 minutes you are in Cortona which is a lovely city as well. We can highly recommend this hotel to everybody. Marjolijn and Willem-Jan from Holland.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marjolijnlommen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
179 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed two nights and would have stayed a third but the resort was booked. For the third night we moved to Relais La Corte dei Papi nearly. I think the resort has 20 rooms.

Location: Outside of the Town of Cortona. It is a 10 minute drive into the resort from the main street through farm land and a narrow tree lined road. A GPS is handy to find the resort. The property is beautiful and very well maintained. This location is an excellent base to tour the area and the Town of Cortona. A great place to relax as well*****

Service: Excellent. The owner is on site during the day and part of the evening. ****

Room: Wonderful furniture and nice size bedroom. We had a small cottage near the pool. Very clean bathroom **** 1/2

Food: We ate all our dinners in the hotel restaurant. Dinner was served outside under the stars. The Food was excellent. We met the chef who clearly takes pride in what she prepares. Restaurant prices were reasonable for a hotel. Good wine list fairly priced for a hotel. **** The breakfast was more than adequate. ***1/2

Things to do: There is a nice pool on the complex. Most guests were from the United States.

Wifi: free worked in the main part of the resort. Needed password sometimes difficult to log on.

Summary: We enjoyed our stay. A family who clearly takes great pride in their property operates the resort.

Room Tip: Choose the small cottage by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We spent 4 days in this beautiful hotel. Our room was absolutely stunning. The pool was delightful. The breakfast was yummy. We had dinner here 3 nights & enjoyed gourmet food. The owners are very friendly & helpful. Would highly recommend to all .
Kathy & Jim from St. Louis, Mo. USA

Room Tip: 2nd floor room overlooking the garden was exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a few days as part of our Honeymoon and absolutely fell in love with this hotel. The location is stunning, just outside Cortona, being delightfully peaceful whilst enjoying beautiful Tuscan panoramas and a lovely view of Cortona in the distance. The grounds are a delight and feature a good sized, sheltered swimming pool with plenty of fresh towels for guests. Meanwhile the property itself (a sympathetically a restored historic villa) offers guests spotlessly clean, delightfully decorated and good sized bedrooms with great views. We managed to secure a last minute offer giving us a deluxe room (La Columbaia) for the price of a standard room, this was a large double en-suite room complete with an attic annex and some great views, just perfect! We ate at the hotel one evening and the food was some of the best we had whilst we were in Italy, it was also surprisingly reasonable. You do have to make a restaurant reservation though as it is popular and books up quickly but the hotel staff arranged this for us in their usual friendly and helpful manner. Overall it is impossible to fault this fantastic hotel, we genuinely didn't want to leave, in fact we wish we were still there lounging by the pool in the Tuscan sun!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Look_Left
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
2.9 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.7 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
4.4 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
4.0 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa di Piazzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Piazzano

Property: Villa di Piazzano
Address: Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Piazzano 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical manor house offering old wold charm and modern world comforts including: a fine restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, private parking, beautiful gardens, great walking and biking trails and a cooking school with its own monastic vegetable garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa di Piazzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Piazzano Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing