We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece of paradise...”
Review of Villa di Piazzano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa di Piazzano
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

From the drive up the long cypress lines driveway to the 16th century villa and beautiful gardens...perfection!
15 minutes from Cortona- well worth being a tiny bit out of town. Lovely swimming pool and property! Only call out would be the food. It's certainly matter of taste but we found the food served at dinner to be very bland and under seasoned. Breakfast was however wonderful! I can't recommend this Villa more if you are searching for a really restful, beautiful getaway that is wonderfully situated!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mansole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our stay in the Villa di Piazzano was a relaxing and enjoyable couple of days. We were happy to be told they had upgraded our room on arrival. Services
are professionally executed and the hotel runs like a dream. The building itself is beautiful
and has been very well renovated by the present owners. Setting is stunning. The atmosphere, especially in the evenings has a very personal feel. If you run into the charming owners during your stay they are happy to share their journey of renovation and the history of the old hunting lodge with you. They are usually around somewhere. For this reason you almost feel like you are guests staying with friends. All staff are extremely helpful. The chief
is very talented and you are certain to enjoy an outstanding meal if a little overpriced when you dine there. We enjoyed our stay there very much and would not hesitate to return. The only reason I have not given five stars is because I feel it is a touch expensive. Maybe I am being unfair and this is a fair price for excellence.

Room Tip: I have no idea as to a good room but we were overlooking the car park and entrance and this was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gl0baltravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We just returned from a fabulous 5 day stay at the Villa. It was our 25th wedding anniversary & my 50th birthday- what a wonderful way to celebrate. The Villa is beautiful with stunning grounds & view. It is a short drive to the town of Cortona and a good home base for exploring the Tuscany region. The staff was professional, friendly, and always attentive. We enjoyed our cooking lesson with Gabriella, wine tasting with Veronica, and were well taken care of by the reception & dining staff. The food was out of this world and breakfast selections were great. We cannot say enough about the Villa di Piazzano and are afriad to tell our friends as we want to keep this gem to ourselves. We cannot wait to return!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cherie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Top notch facilities and setting. Classy and professional staff. I benefited from the passion of Gabriella in her cooking lesson, la joie de vivre of Veronica in her wine apreciation class and the banter with the witty Alisa at the table. Loved it! The only downside of VdP is that it is 13,415km from my home. Otherwise, I'd be a more frequent guest. Grazia Alessandra.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is by far the most beautiful place I've ever stayed. The grounds are like something out of a movie. The staff was very friendly and always ready to assist. The rooms beautiful and the most comfortable beds you'll ever sleep in. The food was delicious beyond description. The chef always came out to check on her guests and discuss the menu. They have bicycles available, I highly recommend taking them for a spin.. and don't forget your camera, there are some great views. I will never forget this place. It was the eat, breathe, sleep portion of our trip. The constant mating sounds of turtle doves, the symphony of singing birds, and the flickering fireflies. The smell of jasmine, gardenias and honeysuckle will forever transport me back to Villa di Piazzano!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriciaWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

To begin its like a fairy tale; a secluded beautiful old villa restored to modern conveniences, real water pressure, internet, a sensational chef with exceptional food choices, all in the beauty of a story book setting. To arrive in Cortona is a beautiful drive from Florence for example and as you arrive at the road leading to the Villa, you see magical tall Eucalyptus trees forming a road to the hotel. There you see what only you might imagine from an Italian romantic movie, Villa di Piazzano. The hotel staff is warm and friendly, speaking perfect English as well the owner meets and greets you welcoming you and offering all the services, concierge for example, assistance for rent a cars, tours, guides, dining reservations and suggestions, maps and printing any destination you may want to drive to.

And from here there are over 25 great towns and old historical sites to see, from Pineza, Montepulciano, Speloto and so many more. Each has beautiful sites,many churches, forts, walled cities and great food. Lunch and dinner there are terrific and of course dining at the Villa is amazing, The Chef as well offers cooking classes with a lunch; I have to say and agree with others who were with us in a class, it is a true fun highlight for all, teens as well.

The Villa features twice daily maid service with turn down, the beds are very comfortable, the swimming pool large and refreshing, and luggage is delivered and picked up promptly. Now of course no Italian Villa would be complete without an incredible breakfast buffet and they feature all one can imagine. If you want a special omelet, its done, along with a choice of maybe 7 or more breads, jams, juices, fruits, cereal, and so much more. Great cappuccino, expresso and American coffee and teas. A bar is fully stocked, the cocktail hour fun with house appetizers.

We stayed just 4 nights and loved every moment. Its a true treat to be their guest

Room Tip: Have a travel agent assist you and request a great room there are no bad rooms, some a little large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homerun183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for a week during our wedding and our guests and I had a wonderful experience. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Language is not a problem, as I don't speak Italian (yet). Breakfast buffet is great with quite a bit of choice - the staff are on hand to replenish if items run out. We had dinner at the hotel too and that was a very extensive menu. The pool is nice and big but quite cold despite the sunshine as it is not tiled. Some friends stayed in the new wing and this is very nice with modern furniture and fittings. We stayed in the Limonaia and it is perfect for a long stay with a sofa, 2 sinks, four poster bed etc. There is also enough storage space and a little fridge to keep your drinks. Some of us had problems with the Sky TV though.

Room Tip: New wing has recently refurbished rooms. Limonaia Suite is large and airy with plenty of storage spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
821 reviews
1.1 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
658 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
7.7 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
94 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#5 of 24 in Cortona
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa di Piazzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Piazzano

Address: Loc. Piazzano 7, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cortona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: £138 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Piazzano 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical manor house offering old wold charm and modern world comforts including: a fine restaurant, bar, pool, gift shop, private parking, beautiful gardens, great walking and biking trails and a cooking school with its own monastic vegetable garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa di Piazzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Piazzano Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing